• 'Barry Heptones' dies in hospital

'Barry Heptones' dies in hospital
    Saturday, November 26, 2011

BARRINGTON Llewellyn, founding member of the group Heptones is dead. He was 63.
    According to Earl Morgan — founder of the trio — Llewellyn began complaining of not feeling well and was rushed to the University Hospital in St Andrew on Tuesday. He passed away at 3:15 a.m. the day after. No cause was given for his death.
    LLEWELLYN...is lead vocalist on Book of Rules. Pic courtesy of dancehallent.blogspot.com
    1/2
    The funeral is scheduled for Jamaica Association for Vintage Artistes and Affiliates (JAVAA) headquarters at 5-7 Hagley Park Road, Kingston 10 on Sunday, December 4.
    Llewellyn, who would have celebrated his birthday on Christmas, is best remembered as the lead vocals in the 1973 hit song Book of Rules for Island. The song is based on an American poem called A Bag of Tools by RL Sharpe.
    Morgan has fond memories of the group's humble beginnings.
    "I'm the group's founder and owner of the name Heptones. The first person that joined me was Barry (Llewellyn)," Morgan recalled. "Glen Adams was a member before Leroy Sibbles, but he never stayed for long. He went and joined the Hippie Boys. Leroy — who was in another group with a female artiste — asked to join."
    Morgan said he attended Kingston Senior School with Llewellyn as well as other music stalwarts including Marcia Griffiths, Carl Dawkins and Derrick Morgan.
    "Barry was a lively person who loved to party. He was a girl's man and very popular among them," Morgan continued.
    Percussionist Bongo Herman remembers Llewellyn as a good person.
    "The big tune that Barry (Llewellyn) do — Book of Rules — a me play the percussion. We all came from outta Trench Town weh dem used to call Ghost Town. He is a good yute and I have a lot of respect for him, a matter of fact, the whole group," Herman said.
    Singer Ken Boothe was at a lost for words. However, he said Llewellyn had made a notable contribution to the music. He expressed condolences to his family and love ones.
    Started in 1965 in Kingston, Jamaican rocksteady and reggae trio got their name from Morgan, who saw it on a discarded bottle. The group produced a number of hit songs throughout the 1960s and 1970s which included: Fattie Fattie (1966); I've Got a Feeling (1966); Get In the Groove (1967); Equal Rights (1968); Ain't Nobody Else (1968); Party Time (1966); Pretty Looks (1969); Our Day Will Come (1972); Mistry Babylon (1977); and, Sufferers' Time (1978).
    Leroy Sibbles left the trio in 1979 and migrated to Canada where he began a solo career. Sibbles was replaced with Naggo Morris and group continued to make music producing their last album — Rainbow Valley — in 2007.
    Llewellyn is survived by his wife, Monica, and several children.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz1eqdl6zR0

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

BOOK OF RULES

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z9h2...eature=related

Fatty
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLSV2-GqE5g

Started in 1965 in Kingston, Jamaican rocksteady and reggae trio got their name from Morgan, who saw it on a discarded bottle. The group produced a number of hit songs throughout the 1960s and 1970s which included: Fattie Fattie (1966); I've Got a Feeling (1966); Get In the Groove (1967); Equal Rights (1968); Ain't Nobody Else (1968); Party Time (1966); Pretty Looks (1969); Our Day Will Come (1972); Mistry Babylon (1977); and, Sufferers' Time (1978).
    Leroy Sibbles left the trio in 1979 and migrated to Canada where he began a solo career. Sibbles was replaced with Naggo Morris and group continued to make music producing their last album — Rainbow Valley — in 2007.
    Llewellyn is survived by his wife, Monica, and several children.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz1eqesGzlr

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A Great Contributor

RIP Barry Llewelyn!

X: Despite the fact that it’s a Saturday evening, a time when many forum members are engaged in other activities (Historian is as well, as I’m heading out in a short while from now), I’m honestly not surprised that there has been no response whatsoever to your post.

I could suggest reasons for this lack of immediate response, but why should I spoil this thread?

Incidentally, if I were to choose my all-time favorite reggae recording, I strongly suspect that it would be the Heptones’ “Book of Rules”! This is a classic from one of Jamaica’s most outstanding singing group, a group that’s right up there with the Blues Busters, the Paragons, the Techniques, the Uniques, and the many other highly relevant contributors to Jamaica’s once great musical culture.

Thanks once again for posting and so updating us on this really sad development, X.

Good music. We are loosing a generation of our musicians..they all seem to leaving us in their early 60's...

yes, it sometimes surprises me that our music originators were so young, but when you think about it, much of our music was born when some forumites were already born.

i guess some of them who are still alive may have wondered, as Historian has, where did we make that wrong turn?!?

Heptones are indeed a classic group. May we relive their music in some updated version if we can't appreciate the orignals themselves. And I am not talking about that "My Boy Lollipop" kinda effort. I hear some remakes of Miriam Makeba's songs which have given new life to that legendary songstress. If dem can't do a good version of the Heptones' chunes, den don't do any at all!

No doubt they were a classical group and their songs standout. It seems every week one of these orginators passing out.

RIP.

We are loosing a generation of talent.Damm scary if you ask me , when we look at whats left to carry the baton....Xerryfying.

Boss, I post my favorite Heptones song "World" across the Cafe, and others made their contribution.

Yep, I Read It

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                  Boss, I post my favorite Heptones song "World" across the Cafe, and others made their contribution.
                  Yep, TDowl, I read your post when I made a visit to the cafe yesterday and read Choko’s thread. I also clicked on your YouTube video link. The truth is that I enjoyed your selection, as I do almost all the time .

My personal favorite Heptones recording is, of course, “Book of Rules” (one of the greatest reggae compositions of all times, in my opinion), while my second favorite is their remake of the Bob Dylan classic, “I Shall Be Released.”

Incidentally (and I apologize for making a slight change in the focus of this thread now), Leroy Sibbles, is one of the most recorded bass players in Jamaican reggae music history. Most people are probably aware of his work as lead singer for the Heptones, but I’m not sure how many realize that he was also an in demand studio bass player during the 1970s and 1980s.