Removing the GCT on electricity. Heard

• Removing the GCT on electricity. Heard

a discussion on NNN this morning with 3 financial analysts and one thing is certain. Ralston Hyman will argue that the earth is flat just to oppose anything Shaw does.

He started ringing off numbers to show that the GCT on ele. isn't working, only for the other 2 analysts to present arguments to shut him down. Now, I can imagine why so many of the masses is so misinformed. We need to have a face off between those seeking the PM office and the post of Min of Finance to flesh out this issue.

Stupid rhetoric, dont have to listen to NNN to make up my mind as it will not make my light bill any lighter but it is par for the course no, remember Jobs Jobs Jobs?

I didn't listen to hear if it would make anyone's light bill lighter ... I was more concerned about how such a move would impact the targets to be met as per the IMF agreement. Secondly, if that source of revenue is removed, how it will be replaced.

Yes the JLP promised jobs jobs jobs. Why didn't it materialize?

Badmind termites sapatage it? me nuh know tell me nuh?

Leave the man and his "informed sources" nuh.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Leave the man and his "informed sources" nuh.

... isn't that better than arguing from a point of ignorance?

That's your forte. Ignorance in the true Jamaican vernacular.

How it go "'im too hignorant!"

That's your forte. Ignorance in the true Jamaican vernacular.

... when someone constantly reach a conclusion and defend that conclusion without getting the facts .... then dispute the facts when it doesn't fit their original conclusion .... oh boy.

Not getting into any cass-cass with you today..go back Let to your politickin'. Let mi go shop online.

PNP urged to give specifics about its proposal to cut GCT on light bills

More answers are being sought from Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller about her proposal to cut the General Consumption Tax (GCT) from electricity bills.
                      During a People’s National Party (PNP) meeting on the weekend, Mrs. Simpson-Miller promised that if her party is elected it would cut the tax.
                      Brian Pengelley, the President of the Jamaica Manufacturer's Association (JMA) is requesting more information on whether the proposal will form part of tax reforms.
                      "It's a great message and I think it's one we all readily accept but we need to throw this whole thing into what we now call the tax reform. It’s welcome but (we need to know) if it's something that we would be taking as part of the overall tax reform, what’s the role of that, what are the implications, so lets throw it in and see if it’s a runner," Mr. Penngelly said.
                      The JMA president’s view was supported by attorney-at-law and talk show host Ronald Mason, who thinks the public should get the chance to see details of Mrs. Simpson-Miller's proposal.
                      "We need to get the details and if the party doesn’t submit itself to inquiry then I don’t know where we’re going to get the details from. We hear those details are being worked on but we’d like to get a look at it especially in a society that owes as much as it does … when we give up revenue, we need to understand what impact that is going to have," said Mr. Mason, who was speaking on RJR’s daily current affairs discussion programme Beyond The Headlines Monday night [November 21].

Abject hypocritical talk:
                        "...when we give up revenue, we need to understand what impact that is going to have," said Mr. Mason.
                        Ask the JMA how much TAX they pay on earnings. Ask the Lawyers how many falsify their tax returns. Widen the tax net!

Abject hypocritical talk:
                          "...when we give up revenue, we need to understand what impact that is going to have," said Mr. Mason.
                          Ask the JMA how much TAX they pay on earnings. Ask the Lawyers how many falsify their tax returns. Widen the tax net!
                          .... but this was one means to catch some of the tax dodgers doing business.

Note, only 26% of householders pay this tax.

Businesses that pay GCT write it off when the file their tax return. So, if Karl is not paying any taxes as a businessman .... if he wants to offset the taxes he pays to JPS, he will have to get in the system and start filing.

Secondly, how is Mason being hypocritical? This tax was implemented as a means to increase revenues. If this source of revenue is shut off, where is the money going to be made up? I think thats what Mason was saying.

... isn't that better than arguing from a point of ignorance?
                            Not if ALL your "informed sources" referenced carry a line supporting JLP policy

That makes it idolatrous propaganda

Dats significantly above pathological mendacity though

Let mi go shop online.
                              If she name Jessica be careful... mi bredrin did ave one very bad experience