• Baugh: Wi Noice!!

Positive!!

Jamaica ranks high on human development index
    Tuesday, November 22, 2011

JAMAICA is among 11 Caribbean Community (Caricom) states ranked as very high or high on the United Nations Development Programme’s (UNDP) Human Development Index (HDI) for 2011.

This was revealed by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Dr. Kenneth Baugh, as he addressed the opening ceremony for the 14th annual Conference of Presidents and Governors-General of Caricom yesterday.

He said that of the 14 Caribbean countries ranked, most were categorised as Upper Middle Income Developing countries by the World Bank, with per capita Gross National Income ranging between US$4,000 and $12,000 in 2010.
    Jamaica was ranked seventh among the Caribbean countries and 79th in the world, in terms of economic and social development.
    Dr Baugh noted however, that “while this classification reflects one measure of progress in relation to less advanced developing economies in Latin America, Asia, and Africa, it fails to take account of our peculiar vulnerabilities as small island developing states and disqualifies us from concessional financing and badly needed debt relief. Regrettably, we are victims of our own modest success”.
    The HDI is a comparative measure of life expectancy, literacy, education and standards of living for countries worldwide. It is a standard means of measuring well-being, especially child welfare. It is used to distinguish whether a country is developed, developing or under-developed, and also to measure the impact of economic policies on quality of life.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1eR4O21cn

Only 7th in the Caribbean and we 'noice'?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Such a Party Pooper

Sorry....ok we noice!!!! (How yu get de likkle ting dem? Emoticon?) Oh...

lol

.... when the 2009 HDI report had Jamaica in the bottom 3 in the Caribbean, ranking 100+ in the world .... what was the reaction again? I recall some predicting we're heading in Haiti's direction.

Now the latest report show that we've moved pass St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Dominican Republic to name a few. Agreed we not "noice" .... but we moving in the right direction.

Ok, point taken...3 yrs to move 3 places...maybe in another 9 years we'll be on top...if everyone else stay put.

... must be down to comrade comprehension .... 3 years ago we were ranked about 100 .... now we're ranked 79th. I know its the silly season so its expected.

You need help! You said we moved 3 places in the Caribbean in the last 3 years and we now ranked 7th. If I used the same rate (roughly) then maybe if we are lucky and nobody moves up or down (assumptions) we should move maybe 3 more places to to #4...are you following? 3 more yrs we pass 3 more Caribbean countries (who not moving) wait we reach #2, and so on.....of course it's more complicated than that but don't want to stress you out....

"You said we moved 3 places in the Caribbean in the last 3 years and we now ranked 7th."

Really? I said that? It is clear you jumped in the water without knowing how deep it is ... yet .... I need help? LOL .... if yuh say suh dude. As mi say .. silly season ...

Lazie, whatever you feel like...we are #7 in the Caribbean and we moving in the right direction. If you proud of that, more power to you. Silly season? For you maybe...mi not running no election hype...right now is Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's and Carnival Season for me....

.... when the 2009 HDI report had Jamaica in the bottom 3 in the Caribbean, ranking 100+ in the world .... what was the reaction again? I recall some predicting we're heading in Haiti's direction.

Now the latest report show that we've moved pass St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Dominican Republic to name a few. Agreed we not "noice" .... but we moving in the right direction.