Long time mi a talk bout these aggressive people in Ochi

"If taxi drivers and craft vendors feel they won't make money - they'll harass - "

There is always a middle ground. The taxi driver and craft vendor "feel" and they don't think the tourist also "feel"? The fact is they must be trained and learn how to deal with tourist and service client. Most people will tell you they go to the market to spend or would take a tour but when they feel rushed they will head back unto the ship or in the hotel.

As my taxi brethren in Portland tell me, he is very comfortable because he is not a taxi driver, he provides customer service so he has more client than he can afford.

Yes there are downsides to everything but don't you think if Falmouth becomes the city it should it economy will benefit? Do you think all the visitors want to be be bussed to attraction? or want to stay on the ship??? Some want to go for a stroll and buy a beer in the local bar.

The 120 million invested is not a lost because as long as the cruiseline is in partnership with the government they will make back the money.

What is Don1 alternative????? can you tell?

What is the "best alternative" yapper?
      Ok Mr CruiseShipMan...

If I had US$120m to spend I would not build a facility for obese Middle Americans to purchase trinkets...

I would build say 10 technical institutes modeled on Israel's Technion University with business incubators for Jamaica's best and brightest- from anywhere - to express their creativity...creating 100s of millions of US$ in very short order...money and intellectual property value that stays in Jamaica...because it's powered by our brains...not imports

A tech version of: Leggo di Yutes

A Public/Private Local/Foreign partnership run enterprise...not a GOJ creature

Probably too simple a solution for you and your Compadres in Idiocy

You are victimized by low expectations

What about Jamaica's worst and most unproductive? C'mon yapper...you can do it...

The worst and unproductive?? They can go work on cruise ships...just like you did

Anyway this is boring...you're entitled to backward views

No worries

I agree with the training and I don't support harassment...and not only for tourists since it has become part and parcel of the Jamaican landscape..including traffic light vendors, roast yam sellers, fruit vendors, pepper shrimp etc. They push the items in your faces. We have become an unbearable overbearing people. I don't know how many of you recall when we had a courtesy month in Jamaica (November?)when we were reminded of the basics of saying thanks, please, etc. We have lost those basic 'mannas'.

I remember taking a shuttle service in Mobay sm years ago for the Air Jamaica Jazz and the driver of the minibus was amazing...he had a microphone, not too loud, welcoming passengers and giving a mini tour and also doing a little ad for his services. Touche.

I think there must be BALANCE in the development, and I think people must feel safe enough to go to local bar, take a pvt taxi if they want, etc. The thing is a FEW business people tie-up these deals BEFORE the ship ands and they are aided and abetted by the local administrators and possibly government officials.

Don1 is quite capable of articulating his own point of view.

gwaan with your pie in the sky dreams. You a the same one who state that our education system is poor so how do you employ those people?

I guess you also on the JEEP. Did you realise how big service industry is in countries such as the US, Canada, England, Isreal etc. They don't not only just invest huge in technology and China service industry has alway been big and encourage. I don't know if you realise how many big hotels they are building and how they went nonestop to host the Olympics game.

There is nothing that say you can't invest in Tourism and Technology at the same time, just in case you don't know. The more you talk the more you are setting up yourself and showing your dislike for tourism so it easier you quiet.

you have done a better job than I could here...I concur with your views of balanced, INCLUSIVE tourism development.. not the elite driven pyramid we have now

All the investment in tourism and whatever else should be subject to rigorous cost/benefit analysis...including assessing the opportunity cost of investments in other areas like education... to determine where and how we spend the public's money for the the best ROI

Instead what we have is people bleating about tourism because the BS that happens on the ground today is ALL they know...or their favorite tribe is promoting some policy or the other

Backward and Myopic if yuh aks mi

Just keeping it real...wid one broad Back said speed

gwaan with your pie in the sky dreams. You a the same one who state that our education system is poor so how do you employ those people?
                    Wherever we are that's where we must start... but it's important to start..yes? Whether it's with a pie in the sky or a yute on di corna

I guess you also on the JEEP. Did you realise how big service industry is in countries such as the US, Canada, England, Isreal etc. They don't not only just invest huge in technology and China service industry has alway been big and encourage. I don't know if you realise how many big hotels they are building and how they went nonestop to host the Olympics game.
                    JEEP? I dealt with that fooliniss already

The rest of this quote of yours is similarly immaterial
                    There is nothing that say you can't invest in Tourism and Technology at the same time, just in case you don't know. The more you talk the more you are setting up yourself and showing your dislike for tourism so it easier you quiet.
                    Dislike for tourism?? Hush... Gwaan Bartlett!!

Checkmate...Don2 exposed for the fraud he is...silly little man

Checkmate?? LoL ..yuh sound like BenDaffy now

Anyway dis boring suh...whateva yuh seh CruiseShipMan

He is not concerned with the poor and uneducated...he has been exposed...

the port is for the benefit of the "poor and uneducated" ...woiiee mi belly!!

Wi cudda use bout 10 more ah dat port den...taxi man an trinket seller wudda bade!!

Di politician an big bizniz peeple ave unnu sof LOL

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business2.html

Bogus url....not available.