State the "best alternative" then oh learned one...Priory debating team tek money stacks box yuh up...
Long time mi a talk bout these aggressive people in Ochi
Oh...yuh google it...noice!!
Let's see...the recent US$120m++ Falmouth port development Jamaica is in debt for...benefiting mostly the dolphin people, inbond merchants a a few local trinket sellers...ah wonda how wi cudda use dat more betta??
Stand by..dis is ah hard one..LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You nuh see the guy only a chat because him have a mouth. This port was in partnership with the cruiseline and as long as they continue to come there it will pay for itself in short order.
As you ask him what is the alternative? A di same guy who a say government decision to sell Air J to the Trini was a bad one, same guy who said Barlett shouldn't make no deal with foriegn airline even though it proved profitable. All him support a building more rooms and bout people will come once you have rooms.
Sometimes we too smart for our own good.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
There are hundreds of superior options for investing US$120m+ fellow...other than building a facility for people to visit and spend $90/day IF they exit their floating prison ...most of which goes to connected elites or is exported to purchase imported goods for resale at a markup, service the huge loans or provide sewage disposal for the trinket buyers.
Nuh more skool fi yuh...gwaan yuh waysTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You nuh see the guy only a chat because him have a mouth. This port was in partnership with the cruiseline and as long as they continue to come there it will pay for itself in short order.
When it comes to analysis your absence of understanding results in the presence of nonsense.
As you ask him what is the alternative? A di same guy who a say government decision to sell Air J to the Trini was a bad one, same guy who said Barlett shouldn't make no deal with foriegn airline even though it proved profitable. All him support a building more rooms and bout people will come once you have rooms.
As to Mr Ed...I know any mild criticism hurts you deeply...hush ..so..
Gwaan Bartlett!!
Sometimes we too smart for our own good.
But being dumb is a disasterTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
No need for name calling and getting so personal...unnu deal with the discussions... I was enjoying it...see yu get 'backative' to.
There are obviously different models for tourism development...some benefit a few and some benefit many. There's no doubt that the all-inclusives fit in first and also seem like the cruiselines as well.
Is there no middle ground? Why shouldn't Jamaica as a country get more direct benefits? Why must local populations be sidelined and not a part of the process? Certainly there must be more than just having cooks, wait-staff and garbage collectors. The resources of Jamaica are for Jamaicans but they have not been able to benefit form those who make the most from it - the tourism pudding, let's say.
If taxi drivers and craft vendors feel they won't make money - they'll harass - not supporting that but that's what happens when people get disenfranchised and have to eke out a living. You think they could build a dolphin facility or a all-inclusive or a free zone? All they are getting is crumbs.
For tourism to help deliver prosperity and stabilize communities effectively, specific action must be taken by three main constituencies: host communities, host governments, and foreign stakeholders.
Host communities should work to leverage their competitive advantage,
improve service delivery, and protect their environment and culture. Host governments should establish supportive strategies, introduce and implement necessary regulations, remove bottlenecks, and adopt internationally recognized tourism standards. Foreign stakeholders could prioritize tourism as a viable economic force, direct investment to this sector, and facilitate knowledge and technological transfers.
Insensitive tourist developments can displace people and destroy traditional livelihoods, leaving many with no alternative but to take up low-paying and
exploitative jobs in the tourist sector.
http://www.responsibletravel.org/res...ng%20World.pdf
THE MAN ASK "WHAT IS YOUR BEST ALTERNATIVE"
I was grown in Portland and saw how cruise tourism can benefit a community as the economy from Boston to Annotto Bay benefitted in may ways from JUTA drivers who only worked 2 days per week, to various attractions which are now closed or in run down state because of the lack of visitors, the different cultural groups and entertainers who were employed, the local bars, resturants, craftmen and vendor(at that time is was all made in Jamaica). Port Antonio was abuzz then so I won't listen to your educated crap. Not to mention that Portland had on average the most Jamaican worker in the cruise ship industry at that time.
There are downside to crusie. What are the alternative? Just answer one question.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.