Long time mi a talk bout these aggressive people in Ochi

Pull up..Please let me see a source. Word of mouth will not do it.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Pull up..Please let me see a source. Word of mouth will not do it.
      Provide your source. I am talking from experience. Worked in the industry for 7 years. Have you ever been in a crew area on a Cruise Ship before?

P.S. Norwegians only work on NCL how could they be a majority of the industry? Plus they are officers...are you telling me that there are more officers on a ship than other crew?

You won't shift and distract this time. Jamaicans DO NOT make a large % of workers in that industry!!! Period. Doesn't matter how many crew area on ships you have been on - why the irrelevancy, why personalize the discussion? I am not interested that you "worked in the industry for 7 years".
        Mi sey show me de study whe sey dat???

Carnival and Royal Caribbean certainly have a large number of Jamaicans on thier on-ship staff. Don't know the numbers but it is not one or two.

Islandman...we talking about the Cruise ship industry...not one line..PLUS not talking #s now...1 or 2, talking %ages.

For the worldwide industry I doubt Jamaicans are a significant percentage.

For Caribbean cruises I suspect the percentage is significant. Don't have hard numbers, but thats what I have seen and heard from others who work in the industry. I could be wrong.

Just spoke to an Expert in field who is still working in the industry at the Mgt level..this ws the response:

"It depends on which line, but compared to the Asian and Eastern European staff the Jamaican count is low".

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  Just spoke to an Expert in field who is still working in the industry at the Mgt level..this ws the response:

"It depends on which line, but compared to the Asian and Eastern European staff the Jamaican count is low".
                  Eastern European's are casino and wait staff...Jamaicans are room stewards, wait staff, cooks, dishwashers, garbage room men...you spoke to an expert in the field of breakdown of cruise line worker by nationality?

LOL... Whether cruise lines service Jamaica or not they will still employ Jamaicans. Those states of being... employment, nationality and port of call.. are completely unrelated...
                    You say the lines employ Eastern Europeans, Filipinos etc...yet I don't see many of those sub-types living in the Caribbean ..so your attempt at a point is a non sequitur.

Mass cruising has relatively minor economic benefits compared to other tourism investments and also imposes tremendous, hidden environmental costs...along with the tremendous debt to build and maintain facilities. In Jamaica the average spend of these trinket loving guests is less that $100/person

In other words it's a sub-optimal tourism investment and we should not be looking to spend much public money on that sector...merely to enrich inbond merchants and a few attraction owners.

Yuh lost...stick to "Chris" advocacy
                    Last edited by Don1; November 24, 2011, 08:25 AM.

Another mental midget....refer to the first post in this thread you moron...it is instructive...stick to wiping the white squall outta yuh hero mouth corner...

CruiseShipMan ..I wasn't responding to the 1st post so that again is an immaterial attempt at a point...anedda non sequitur dressed as a red herring.

You spoke of employment in response to my analysis of cruising as a relatively foolish course for Jamaica.... suh nuh try dem foolfool argument wid mi...ah dat dem teach yuh ah di place yuh guh ah skool yute? LOL

Anyway mi cyan si wid yuh...mi ear fram di shout seh di cruse ship bizniz offer certain benefits inna fi yuh bizniz

May the police Force eva be wid yuh

So if it is a foolish course for Jamaica would it not follow that it is a foolish course for other ports of destination? Less destinations would cause the industry to contract...if the industry contracts then there will be layoffs...only the East Europeans gonna get laid off? Mental flipping midgets...Hero white squall meet Don2...

Did you study economics? In fact...did you study anything?

There is more supply of ports than demand in that besotted industry..which is why prices and yields are low. My concern is Jamaica and not other destinations.

So if Jamaica withdraws ...there will be 10 more ports of call waiting with cap in hand for these lines to rape dem...so employment is NOT a function of a particular destination not being available

I never advocated that Jamaica should withdraw...but that public money should not be spent to any great degree...mek di peeple dem who benefit put up dem capital

Again stick to yuh Showa activity...dat market it look like yuh fully ovastan

How "Chris" dese days?? Mi ear seh di sentencing put off til nex year...ah choo?
                            Last edited by Don1; November 24, 2011, 09:12 AM.

This clown again? So Jamaica is unique? Cruise industry does not benefit Jamaica yet it benefits all the other ports of call? LSAT woulda have you a spin like gig...hero white squall awaits you mental midget...

You are so asinine it is stunning... it is not merely about the simplistic concept of "benefiting Jamaica"...it's about the opportunity cost of the cruise investment...google dat an upgrade yuhself... wen yuh ovastan dat concept try again

Dis come in like mi ah deal wid di priory debating team...whip dem.. LOL