Are gospel artistes really gospel artistes or wha...?

• Are gospel artistes really gospel artistes or wha...?

Prodigal's single stirs controversy

CURTIS CAMPBELL, STAR Writer

Gospel Dancehall artiste Prodigal Son's recent single Love Me Like This, has been getting mixed reviews from the gospel arena. While some are comfortable with the song, others have condemned the lyrics, claiming it's sexually suggestive.

One religious radio station is already debating whether or not to play the song, however, the dancehall has embraced the song with religious zeal. Love Me Like This is played in many hardcore dancehall sessions and selectors say it is a calming song that relaxes patrons.

Some of the lines are:

"Yu alone cudda love mi like this yu alone cudda mek mi feel suh right. Yu alone cudda touch mi like that, feels like paradise. Mi memba di day wi met dat mi naah figet, remember the first touch, remember how mi sweat aaahh (seductive gasp) remember the rain a fall from mi eyes remember how it wet."

On the popular social media website Youtube.com, some of the viewers chastised the lyrics.

According to one viewer, Candyjamaican, the song did not direct her thoughts to Jesus. "Boyyyyy, I want to think about Jesus when listening to this, but I keep think about my husband. Not nice," she posted.

Another viewer, Trelaclar said; "No sah ... me hear da song ya an a look fi tink say a Kartel sing it. I don't care wa nobody waan say, me nah feel this as a gospel song. I love reggae/dancehall gospel, but this nah shot. God know".

There were some viewers too who felt that the song was awesome. In dancehall circles there are also some persons who have accepted the song. Popular disc-jock Kevin Genius of Musical Riot and Mackies sound systems, said that lovers can relate to the song easily.

"It has a Christian thing bout it because of the artiste who singing it and you know plenty Christians in the dancehall. But it also has that lovers thing that the people can relate to. So anyway you take it, the tune bad," he said.

The song has also been receiving frequent rotations during secular segments played by radio disc jocks.

criticisms

Despite the criticisms, Prodigal Son has no issues with the song and says that when he recorded it he wanted it to have a crossover appeal. He said that his only surprise so far is as it relates to the speed at which the song became popular.

"As a gospel artiste, you have to find a way to reach the masses. I have always tried to have a couple songs which I think will crossover into the dancehall and proclaim Christ. I am a student of the dancehall and I know that despite the fact that dancehall, people like the slack songs, they also have a deep appreciation for gospel. I have seen selectors pull out Sanchez' Amazing Grace in a hardcore session and the place tun ova. You would think is church," he said.

The artiste pointed out that he is at a place in his Christian ministry now, where he is firmly rooted and can confidently sing a song like Love Me Like This.

The artiste says he is now planning to shoot a video for the single, and this, he promises, will be something very special.

"Yu alone cudda love mi like this yu alone cudda mek mi feel suh right. Yu alone cudda touch mi like that, feels like paradise. Mi memba di day wi met dat mi naah figet, remember the first touch, remember how mi sweat aaahh (seductive gasp) remember the rain a fall from mi eyes remember how it wet."
    Tell di truth - is God unnu tink bout when unu hear/read dese lyrics?!

"Make a joyful noise unto the lord, all ye lands. Serve the Lord with gladness, come before his presence with singing..." . Yu nevva learn dat in primary school?

And if Prodigal should put those words to music, I wonder how he would write it?

a so the religion thing going. I hear some songs like a Mary Mary song and wonder if a christian song.

There is one very romatic one which make me think about making some good love everytime mi hear it playing on the radio.

It is a different era now and sometimes it is hard to tell gospel muisc from the others.

No, It Is Not!

a so the religion thing going. I hear some songs like a Mary Mary song and wonder if a christian song.

There is one very romatic one which make me think about making some good love everytime mi hear it playing on the radio.

It is a different era now and sometimes it is hard to tell gospel muisc from the others.
            I get your point, but you are overstretching things quite a bit. Trust me, you are!

I can assure you that the sister group Mary Mary has never put out lines as suggestive as this (quoted by Mosiah): “Yu alone cudda love mi like this yu alone cudda mek mi feel suh right. Yu alone cudda touch mi like that, feels like paradise. Mi memba di day wi met dat mi naah figet, remember the first touch, remember how mi sweat aaahh (seductive gasp) remember the rain a fall from mi eyes remember how it wet.”

Not even contemporary gospel groundbreakers like Kirk Franklin, Fred Hammond, Israel Houghton, John P. Kee or any of the many others would have given us lines such as the ones quoted above by Prodigal Son.

You see, there has to be a difference in your life and in your message if you are going to take yourself seriously as a gospel artist. The problem for us, particularly in in the Caribbean, is that being a Christian does not mean a lot to many who claim to be. Add to this curious mixture the problem of inadequate education (which can impact lyric content) and we should be less than surprised at some of what passes for gospel in Jamaica (and not only Prodigal Son).

Make an ecstatic moan unto the Don all ye lasses, serve the Don with joyful pleasure. Come before, during and after his Donship with rapture… maybe?

Yu betta keep your day job...lol.

Do you guys really expect some type of musical purity from gospel artists? Unuh can't be serious.

So is that an E for effort...

Wha come afta E again?

Why are you laughing?!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        Do you guys really expect some type of musical purity from gospel artists? Unuh can't be serious.
                        But why not?

Haven’t the lyrics of gospel music reflected “musical purity,” to a great extent, for centuries? In fact, I might add, right up to this decade? I see absolutely no reason -- none at all! -- for the laughter!

Well...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                          Wha come afta E again?
                          As usual, there goes the thread breaker. Serious and potentially serious matters often end up in this way -- useless and irrelevant banter between longtime buddies which do nothing more than divert attention from the matter at hand.

Lisen to Ray Charles live on TCM now...dat is purity...

Does that me you give me an F? LOL

Sometimes Historian a little humour (among friends) is in order...

No intent to hijack the post... it is obvious from my initial reponse to Mo that I believe the lyrics are not even subtly suggestive sexually.

I happened to make my point in a manner that did not go down well with you... no offense meant but sometimes you will see the little humour (or attempt at it)... try it sometime, you might just enjoy it.