Prodigal's single stirs controversy
CURTIS CAMPBELL, STAR Writer
Gospel Dancehall artiste Prodigal Son's recent single Love Me Like This, has been getting mixed reviews from the gospel arena. While some are comfortable with the song, others have condemned the lyrics, claiming it's sexually suggestive.
One religious radio station is already debating whether or not to play the song, however, the dancehall has embraced the song with religious zeal. Love Me Like This is played in many hardcore dancehall sessions and selectors say it is a calming song that relaxes patrons.
Some of the lines are:
"Yu alone cudda love mi like this yu alone cudda mek mi feel suh right. Yu alone cudda touch mi like that, feels like paradise. Mi memba di day wi met dat mi naah figet, remember the first touch, remember how mi sweat aaahh (seductive gasp) remember the rain a fall from mi eyes remember how it wet."
On the popular social media website Youtube.com, some of the viewers chastised the lyrics.
According to one viewer, Candyjamaican, the song did not direct her thoughts to Jesus. "Boyyyyy, I want to think about Jesus when listening to this, but I keep think about my husband. Not nice," she posted.
Another viewer, Trelaclar said; "No sah ... me hear da song ya an a look fi tink say a Kartel sing it. I don't care wa nobody waan say, me nah feel this as a gospel song. I love reggae/dancehall gospel, but this nah shot. God know".
There were some viewers too who felt that the song was awesome. In dancehall circles there are also some persons who have accepted the song. Popular disc-jock Kevin Genius of Musical Riot and Mackies sound systems, said that lovers can relate to the song easily.
"It has a Christian thing bout it because of the artiste who singing it and you know plenty Christians in the dancehall. But it also has that lovers thing that the people can relate to. So anyway you take it, the tune bad," he said.
The song has also been receiving frequent rotations during secular segments played by radio disc jocks.
criticisms
Despite the criticisms, Prodigal Son has no issues with the song and says that when he recorded it he wanted it to have a crossover appeal. He said that his only surprise so far is as it relates to the speed at which the song became popular.
"As a gospel artiste, you have to find a way to reach the masses. I have always tried to have a couple songs which I think will crossover into the dancehall and proclaim Christ. I am a student of the dancehall and I know that despite the fact that dancehall, people like the slack songs, they also have a deep appreciation for gospel. I have seen selectors pull out Sanchez' Amazing Grace in a hardcore session and the place tun ova. You would think is church," he said.
The artiste pointed out that he is at a place in his Christian ministry now, where he is firmly rooted and can confidently sing a song like Love Me Like This.
The artiste says he is now planning to shoot a video for the single, and this, he promises, will be something very special.
CURTIS CAMPBELL, STAR Writer
Gospel Dancehall artiste Prodigal Son's recent single Love Me Like This, has been getting mixed reviews from the gospel arena. While some are comfortable with the song, others have condemned the lyrics, claiming it's sexually suggestive.
One religious radio station is already debating whether or not to play the song, however, the dancehall has embraced the song with religious zeal. Love Me Like This is played in many hardcore dancehall sessions and selectors say it is a calming song that relaxes patrons.
Some of the lines are:
"Yu alone cudda love mi like this yu alone cudda mek mi feel suh right. Yu alone cudda touch mi like that, feels like paradise. Mi memba di day wi met dat mi naah figet, remember the first touch, remember how mi sweat aaahh (seductive gasp) remember the rain a fall from mi eyes remember how it wet."
On the popular social media website Youtube.com, some of the viewers chastised the lyrics.
According to one viewer, Candyjamaican, the song did not direct her thoughts to Jesus. "Boyyyyy, I want to think about Jesus when listening to this, but I keep think about my husband. Not nice," she posted.
Another viewer, Trelaclar said; "No sah ... me hear da song ya an a look fi tink say a Kartel sing it. I don't care wa nobody waan say, me nah feel this as a gospel song. I love reggae/dancehall gospel, but this nah shot. God know".
There were some viewers too who felt that the song was awesome. In dancehall circles there are also some persons who have accepted the song. Popular disc-jock Kevin Genius of Musical Riot and Mackies sound systems, said that lovers can relate to the song easily.
"It has a Christian thing bout it because of the artiste who singing it and you know plenty Christians in the dancehall. But it also has that lovers thing that the people can relate to. So anyway you take it, the tune bad," he said.
The song has also been receiving frequent rotations during secular segments played by radio disc jocks.
criticisms
Despite the criticisms, Prodigal Son has no issues with the song and says that when he recorded it he wanted it to have a crossover appeal. He said that his only surprise so far is as it relates to the speed at which the song became popular.
"As a gospel artiste, you have to find a way to reach the masses. I have always tried to have a couple songs which I think will crossover into the dancehall and proclaim Christ. I am a student of the dancehall and I know that despite the fact that dancehall, people like the slack songs, they also have a deep appreciation for gospel. I have seen selectors pull out Sanchez' Amazing Grace in a hardcore session and the place tun ova. You would think is church," he said.
The artiste pointed out that he is at a place in his Christian ministry now, where he is firmly rooted and can confidently sing a song like Love Me Like This.
The artiste says he is now planning to shoot a video for the single, and this, he promises, will be something very special.