Dancehall music on the verge of new breakthrough

• Dancehall music on the verge of new breakthrough

If KroniK's single Shake it climbs to the #1 spot on the Music World Radio Top 20 Chart this week as he hopes, it will be first dancehall song in the history of the chart to do so. It has held at #2 for the second straight week and with the help of his fans and Jamaicans at home and in the diaspora voting for it, the artist hopes that this is the week it will make history. He appeals to everyone to visit http://www.topchoons.com/vote.html and vote for Shake It. Lets go out and create more success for Jamaica and the artist. You get one vote per week so please keep voting if you have before and pass on the link and encourage others to vote

Man join the forum fi promote song. LOL

Nutten wrong wit dat! Man promote all kinda effery on yah....

I thought this forum was to encourage dialogue on music and culture. If unearthing new talent and trying to get our music in places its never been before is not acceptable then please let me know what is.

i think what Me is trying to say is maybe you can also participate in other discussions on the forum. right, Me?

Ok. No problem with that. We will find in life that we will never get positive actions from negative words. Nothing is started by tearing down anything but point taken.

So who is this KroniK fellow? Him have any big chune like Chi Ching Ching's 1 Knock?

looks like he's based in Miami... I looked at the video on youtube; some nice girls a roll dem bumpah etc. but the song did not grab me... having said that I looked at the list of competitors and youtubed some of them... Kronik in good company... i.e. nothing stellar IMO, so him wi get my vote jus fi being a yardie... he is Jamaican isn't he? Peter Brooks?

Fi real just heard it...is this the same Miami based Black Shadow who did the Buzz riddim? Don't think it is cause dis riddim weak...and di yute need some lyrics...send him down to me for 6 months and i bet i get him a hit chune...mek Ching write two sample slang fi him...

good to see him recover from the STING 2008 BOOOOOOOOOOO

GUH PAN THE STAGE BOUT "CUT CUT EVERYTHING CUT......"

people them just boooo him about a minute inna him performance

hahaha

nearly dead wid laugh

KroniK has never been on Sting. In fact he is to appear this year for the first time. No he is not based in Miami he is based in Jamaica. His song was the official theme song for the Under 17 Reggae Boyz World Cup Campaign. See the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7G8glAbrOs While I admit this song is not the most lyrical, its not supposed to be. Its a party song for just a dance vibe. Check out www.kronikmuzik.blogspot .com and check out some of his other work there and on youtube and see if you still have the same opinion.

Originally posted by Peter Brooks View Post
                        KroniK has never been on Sting. In fact he is to appear this year for the first time. No he is not based in Miami he is based in Jamaica. His song was the official theme song for the Under 17 Reggae Boyz World Cup Campaign. See the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7G8glAbrOs While I admit this song is not the most lyrical, its not supposed to be. Its a party song for just a dance vibe. Check out www.kronikmuzik.blogspot .com and check out some of his other work there and on youtube and see if you still have the same opinion.

no I was talking about CHING..................bricktop

btw I like the song

Ok It seems all the support for the song comes from outside Jamaica as it is getting a bit of rotation in Europe and some parts of the caribbean but since the local jocks dont want to play it people outside Jamaica are wondering about it. They are saying if nothing nah gwaan for it ah yard it cant a say anything. But you know the idiosyncrasies of local radio.

Originally posted by Peter Brooks View Post
                            Ok It seems all the support for the song comes from outside Jamaica as it is getting a bit of rotation in Europe and some parts of the caribbean but since the local jocks dont want to play it people outside Jamaica are wondering about it. They are saying if nothing nah gwaan for it ah yard it cant a say anything. But you know the idiosyncrasies of local radio.
                            in order to get a "buss"

you have to go to the different dance,clubs(club riddim)etc..... try to get them to play the songs and get him to perform live..... in order to build that "dancehall" following

also you have to build a network with the local radio jocks and entertainment shows(producers) on local tv( Er,onstage,intense etc..) hype tv etc...

its hard work...but if you are serious.....you have to make the sacrifices on the ground......to get the "Buss"

Trying that. Its a work in progress. Some shows lined up for the holiday season, the video getting good rotation on Hype and RE and a couple local cable stations,had interviews on radio in Canada, Miami Hitz 92 and RJR94, he did a few shows at UWI and was well recieved but we appreciate it takes time