T.D , H.l.Xile & Historian !!!!!!!

• T.D , H.l.Xile & Historian !!!!!!!

DIS IS DI WICKEDEST SKA TUNE IN MY ESTIMATION , YUH KNOW HOW LONG MI A LOOK FI IT.

ROLAND,TOMMY & DON D.

NIMBLE FOOT SKA !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkHfh9uPakg

GENIUS ! IMPROVISATION !
    Last edited by Sir X; November 18, 2011, 10:13 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I'll have to listen to it on mi "sound system"....netbook no do it justice...

I am wondering if Nimble Foot refers to the Shuffle". Nice find as it brings up other shots I have not heard in awhile.

There is a poster on the Cafe across the street who is the son of a Skatalite member, I will have to check him on the Skatalites Project.

Enjoyable Recording!

X: This is an enjoyable, musically creative recording by the Skatalites!

By the way, I still listen to that excellent live performance you posted many months ago: “Take 5” by the NY Ska Jazz Ensemble. That remains one of my favorite YouTube music videos to this day . ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KEXmPAnkKXw )

But back to this thread. Your post of this hard-to-find Skatalites recording again shows that, as far as “real” music is concerned, Jamaica’s most fruitful period was, without question, the ska era. And by “real” music, of course, I’m referring to the full utilization of the elements of melody, harmony and rhythm that long ago disappeared from Jamaican popular music.

This “Coffee and Cigarettes” soundtrack recording is really a big band-type stuff utilizing the ska genre, with an arrangement which displays the musical creativity in both melody and harmony (above the usual tight ska rhythm) that Don Drummond, Tommy McCook and company are famous for.

I enjoyed this track, and thanks for posting it!

Agree Historian , nice mix of vintage SKA /JAZZ/Big Band on that DVD soundtrack , Check the movie.My take on reggae music ,is when we forgot the horns , it meant a slow death in the creativity department.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.