• The negative push factor in Jamaica's brain drain

The negative push factor in Jamaica's brain drain

Monday, November 14, 2011

JAMAICA has been experiencing 'Brain Drain' since the 1950s and a 'Brawn Drain' since the late 19th century.

The society was happy and relieved because migration was a vent for surplus labour. This release of unemployed labour has been a direct consequence of the failure of the Jamaican economy to provide employment for all of its labour force. It also stemmed from the subsistence wages which many of the employed were forced to accept.

The 'Brawn Drain' was seen as beneficial for the economy, but the 'Brain Drain' was regarded as retarding economic development by depriving the economy of scarce skills.

In the 21st century, the critical determinant of economic success is the quantity and quality of human resources. Jamaica, therefore, cannot afford to lose any of its skilled human resources, given the paltry state of the Jamaican economy. The idea to keep, train, and retain in productive activity the maximum amount of human resources must be a central plank of economic policy.

Jamaica has been training a sufficient quantity of skilled human resources but we have not been able to retain an adequate number of them.
    One reason for that is the migration of people in search of employment and/or higher remuneration. This is inevitable in a world with much richer countries in need of young, skilled workers, eg the United States. But we are failing to attract Jamaicans abroad to return home, and therefore, despite remittances, their contribution is lost to Jamaica.

Ironically, the vast majority of Jamaicans abroad want to return to their homeland. But when many of them attempt to do so they are either discouraged by their fellow Jamaicans, or are faced with the hardships of living here.

However, the real negative push factor they face is the vicious animosity of their fellow Jamaicans who subject returnees to many unpleasant acts, including robbery.

The facts are not in dispute. What, though, explains this antagonistic behaviour? First is jealousy, the most pandemic of human emotions spawned by resentment that Jamaicans who lived and worked abroad come back economically better off.

There is, too, an entrenched feeling that with more Jamaicans returning home, the more people will have to share scarce resources like land. This, of course, is arrant nonsense, because returnees enlarge the economic pie with their skills, experience, and capital.

Then there is the misguided view that once a Jamaican goes abroad to live and/or work, he or she is somehow no longer a "true" Jamaican. The departure is subconsciously viewed as an act of betrayal and the sojourn in foreign lands is assumed to contaminate them. They are derided in the same vein as the "Colon man" in the old folk song.

Ironically, the overseas Jamaicans and those who return home are among the most patriotic, hard-working, and law-abiding citizens. In many cases, they give back to this country beyond measure. Proof of that is in the stories of this year's nominees for the Observer Business Leader Award.

It is not asking too much, we believe, to welcome our fellow Jamaicans back home when they decide to return.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1e6UW88sH

This should make a good debate on the above topic.

waiting for the multitude of response......

You'll have a looong wait. It's a touchy subject for a lot of Jamaicans. Two sides to the story though since you have those who think that by virtue of having living abroad they are somehow blessed with all knowledge and have all the solutions for Jamaica.

Jamaica has a lot of bright people who sometimes don't have the tools to do the job that they would easily do - things that some of the diaspora folks take for granted. In fact, it's this inate genius that leads to the local creativity that we sometimes see in positive way but can also go on the other side as well. However, you do see some local resistance to overseas Jamaicans who are willing to contribute but not the same to foreign expatriates.....it's a deep rooted problem.

True indeed. A less qualified expat esp one from England is more valued than a returning Jamaican who is more qualified. I never could understand that mindset.
        One thing though Exile, the Jamaicans who have been domiciled in Jamaica have been given more than adequate opportunities(nearly 50 years for God's sake) to make something of the country, and they have been a dismal failure, in my opinion. The returning residents do indeed know more(not a typo), and probably have better ideas to solve our problems.

The major problem is the high turnover rate of professional people - who either migrate, go into private businesses or remain unemployed (well some). So we are always re-learning, re-tooling, re-making the wheel. We lose institutional expertise and knowledge and we throw out the baby with the proverbial bathwater. This happens whenever a 'new' government comes into office - so we lose continuity in some very good programmes.

I don't share your sentiment that generally returning residents know more and have better ideas - maybe SOME do. There are a lot of idiotic people returning home too.

Maybe, it has to more with attitude rather than aptitude - on both sides. If both sides agree that they work for the common and NATIONAL good we'll see some progress.

It's not so much of a brain drain and you did hit on a key point in terms of continuity (we could look at the social reforms of the 70s).

To answer Reggaedoc's 50 year question, one has to look at Ja's policies and systems. The educational system tha Ja inherited and patched to some extend was designed to churn out bureacrats; people that will follow instructions to a tee. It wasn't desiged to accomodate innovative and creative minds .Notice from kindergarten, the nursery rhymes are given, then at the elementary level math. english et al are based on memory, hence the finish product is your typical bureacrat (a person who follows instructions well). These bureacrats have to be constantly being told what to do (even who to elect as leaders). To bolster my point; look at the Jakans that realy rose to INT'L fame; that even today's generation know of them (Garvey,Marley comes to ind) they existed outside ofthe system an fought it.

Another institution that would help in the absence of parents to instill a discipline and a sense of structure was the church. The church has retreated from its dominant role (due to attacks from within and without) in Ja's society. In a now secular time, there is nothing to replace the church and the role it once played (hence an increase in crimes among the youth) we can now use the above two arguments as pinnacles.

more to come, a little busy
            Last edited by Jawge; November 19, 2011, 01:42 PM.

Aaaah the minds of men! (Specific to the topic----Forget the rest of the world but think our Jamaicans - those at home and abroad).

Most England retiree come to retire, they don't take active part changing the system so they are not seen as "mashing up dollyhouse". Most other returning residents go back with the intention of playing other roles and it usually clash with established local elites.

That is true. They will clash and they should clash for obvious reasons. The people returning from the states are probably disappointed with the incompetence of the so-called elites, being regarded as elites despite their incompetence, and for the most part, plunging our country in a deeper hole. Of course the so-called elites are all to happy in their comfort zone, and don't want the apple cart disturbed This again, inspite of their incompetence. The returnees expose them, and we are all better off for that, since there is little checks and balances inherent in our system.

BTW even retirees deserve the right to a well organized system of government that offers safety and cleanliness.

Who are these elites?

Most of the retirees in Portland as long as they have security they ok. Them build some huge tank on their house to catch water. As long as they have a peaceful life and their families can come and enjoy themselves most keep out of political or even community event if they think it get too political or violent. They build their house close to the main road as they know if they build it inland they won't have roads.

When you return it won't be hard to find out. Try changing any system and you will see who start leading opposition to you, just because you are "foriegner" or "nuh live deh all your life".

I've gotten that from some quarters already but not all....it can sometimes work in your favour especially when it comes to Consultancy rates.....

I have a cousin who retired as a RN from England and lives in St Ann...and is part of an active group Friends of the St. Anns Bay Hospital and gives FREE service and time, works with NGOs and Doctors to improve the service and lives of Jamaicans. Quite a few of these people are unsung heroes in Ja.