• Unnu wretch unnu. Politicans before the court

Five parliamentarians hauled before court

Five parliamentarians connected with the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the Opposition Peoples National Party (PNP), were hauled before the Corporate Area Criminal Court on Friday morning.
    The Members of Parliament were summoned to court after they were accused of breaching the Parliamentary Integrity of Members Act.
    The MPs had failed to provide information on their assets as requested by the Integrity Commission.
    Those appearing before Senior Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey were South East St. Mary MP Tarn Peralto, Noel Arscott of South West Clarendon, MP for North West Clarendon Michael Stern, South East St. Catherine MP Colin Fagan and Anthony Hylton of Eastern St. Andrew.

Messrs Peralto, Arscott, Stern and Fagan all pleaded guilty and were each fined 10-thousand dollars. Mr Hylton, who pleaded not guilty is to stand trial on January 17, next year.

A warrant of disobedience was issued for the arrest of St. Catherine MP Natalie Neita Headley, after she failed to appear in court. However, the warrant has been stayed for November 24.
    Opposition leader of government business Derrick Kellier was also on the list.
    But his attorney told the court he had a personal difficulty and could not attend. He's scheduled to appear next week.

In the meantime, there is more trouble for the embattled head of the National Works Agency, NWA, Patrick Wong.
    Mr Wong was served with a summons on Monday to appear before the Half Way Tree Criminal Court next week, November 24. He's accused of failing to answer a lawful request of the Contractor General.
    This in relation to a project in St Catherine.

WAH..................

them nuh wah nuh bady see how much them worth?

IS ONE OF 2 THINGS...........them broke or have whole lot a money........them cant prove weh dem get it

Messrs Peralto, Arscott, Stern and Fagan all pleaded guilty and were each fined 10-thousand dollars (~120.00 in proper dallah.. ). I am sure they won't dweet it again!!

120.00??? Joke bizness..........

We need a serious overhaul of our standards of governance.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...and I calculated it on the high end...

I admire the act of hauling them to court. It gives the appearance of rule of law. The remedy could be beefed up though. I am sure the convicts left the court room smirkin....

Dat soun right, di fine is not di point but to show seh dem not beyond di law of di land. Good move, JDIP man next

lol.....di fine is the point of the law, if thats the case why charge and waste the taxpayers money.....i keep forgetting its jamaica where everything is all for a show.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...you have become soooo un-patriotic X..darn

......Them Fi At Least Charge Enough Fi Cover Expense......

Fees should at the minimum should cover the court's time. When Nicki Minaj was fined $20US for swearing in Jamaica, it showed the world that we were a joke.

hehe..u nuh ear ....di fine is not di point but to show seh dem not beyond di law of di land

I guess that means the law nuh worth squat or it worth $120 ..lol

Harold Brady pay him $500 yet? Him know what $500 look like?