• PM NY visit

Financial markets anxious for election - PM Holness

Prime Minister Andrew Holness has revealed that the local financial market is intensifying its call for the General Election to be held before the end of the year.
    Mr. Holness says he is also cognizant of growing anxiety in the private sector for the election to be over and done with.
    The Prime Minister, who is on a visit to New York, made the disclosure Thursday during an interview on the financial news channel, Bloomberg.
    During the interview Mr. Holness was asked if the country will be going to the polls before the end of December.
    “Is there going to be an election this year?” Mr. Holness was asked.
    “Why do you ask me that question? (laughs). That’s a tough question…the financial markets are saying you need to have an election this year. It’s not quite clear in the political market whether or not we should have an election now or later but certainly the financial markets in Jamaica, the financials markets are looking forward to an election because it is really a vote of confidence in government policy.”
    Mr. Holness said he was aware of the implications if there is a lengthy delay in calling the polls.
    “We took very careful note of the Standard and Poors’ review of Jamaica where there is a political risk of changing the government. I think people who are in business especially want to see continuity. They want to see the stability continue and so they would prefer to have an election earlier to resolve any uncertainty in the market,” Mr. Holness told Bloomberg TV in New York, Thursday.
    PM extends visit
    And Prime Minister Holness who was due to return to the island Friday, has extended his visit to New York.
    This follows several requests for Mr. Holness to meet with business leaders and potential investors.
    Mr. Holness, who is the guest of honour of the organization, American Friends of Jamaica, is now scheduled to return to Jamaica on Saturday.
    Senator Arthur Williams, the Minister with responsibility for Information, says the Prime Minister's trip has been very successful hence the decision to extend it by an additional day.

"Is there going to be an election this year?" Mr. Holness was asked.
    "Why do you ask me that question?(lauhgs). That is a tough question........" Mr. Holness said.....

Well Mr. Holness, it is not such a tough question as much as it is should be a moot question in a real democracy. No the BS Westminster farce we pretend. In a real democracy general elections would have a set period to be held, on a set day of a set month.
    His answer should have been, " I am glad you asked as this is one of the legacies of the idiot Brits among many others, which I will move to change in short order". That would be a real answer by a real leader/patriot.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
      "Is there going to be an election this year?" Mr. Holness was asked.
      "Why do you ask me that question?(lauhgs). That is a tough question........" Mr. Holness said.....

Well Mr. Holness, it is not such a tough question as much as it is should be a moot question in a real democracy. No the BS Westminster farce we pretend. In a real democracy general elections would have a set period to be held, on a set day of a set month.
      His answer should have been, " I am glad you asked as this is one of the legacies of the idiot Brits among many others, which I will move to change in short order". That would be a real answer by a real leader/patriot.
      Reggaedoc ... you are always in a militant mood. When yuh neighbors tell yuh morning ... dem stay far?

Lazie?!? A you dat Lazie?!? Who more militant dan you? Yes, you mi a talk inna di army fatigue!

Neighbors ?.. dem grizzly bear haffi live in di Wildarness.. wheh duh yuh ?

I doubt he is going to call elections anytime soon, and he has a year left on the JLP's term. Why would he call an election when the PNP is in election mode, since it would be to their benefit.

Yep. Forever militant. If you need feel good posts you should probably avoid mine.

So Canada, Australia, BDos, RSA, NZ, etc are not real democracies now?

America blind yuh?

him need fi change to TURKEYDOC..

We have had this discussion before, and my answer has not changed. It is still NO, they are not true democracies.

LOL. So American Electoral College is pure democracy?????

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        I doubt he is going to call elections anytime soon, and he has a year left on the JLP's term. Why would he call an election when the PNP is in election mode, since it would be to their benefit.
                        Elementary Mr Watson,

It's because in some polls the JLP appears to be ahead or at least even with the PNP...rapidly overturning a double digit PNP lead caused by One Liad's reckless endangerment of Jamaican interests in defence of the Abominable Shortman...In politricks that's called momentum...he would be abominably stupid not to ride that wave of national goodwill

When Babylon force dat nex year fi impose more austerity cuts in the public accounts AND perhaps when in 2012 the Dudus trial revelations of extreme JLP corruption hits the streets...all bets are off

The JLP may well be delaying formally agreeing to the IMF austerity package until after the soon to be called elections..once again the wolves will pull the wool over the poor people's eyes

Memba mi tole unnu

"The JLP may well be delaying formally agreeing to the IMF austerity package until after the soon to be called elections..once again the wolves will pull the wool over the poor people's eyes"

you are right on that. many in the public sector don't want to deal with any cut and going to fight. Also removing tax from some popular items may not be politically good although the GCT will be lower. it seems like Golding and Shaw wasn't on the same page either when to do these unpopular program.

The only good thing is the poll seems to show the people empathizing with the government somewhat due to the world economic crisis. Also most business people and investors want it over with. I feel he will can it at the JLP conference.

It is not only what you choose to mention which is probably correct...ALL of the post is

I post what I choose to agree on you with. The rest might be true but but poll change everyday and I have to wait and see what the US is doing. If I follow rumour and unconfirmed reports the US woulda have all the criminals in the JLP already.