My Concern with the Auditor General

• My Concern with the Auditor General

Why is it that every report that the Auditor General comes out with gets disputed? Are they not following normal protocol. Every report is followed by claims and counter claims and additional documents being provided to clarify controversial points. I'm an Auditor and this is not normal in the audit field. Before any report is written, findings are discussed with management, giving them a chance to dispute or provide additional documents. Findings are usually fact, not opinions so they should be clear without disputes. Facts are not something you can go back and change so I don't see why Management doesn't get sufficient time to address concerns before they are made public. While I like the work that the AG is doing, they should do a better job in clearing and discussing their findings before making them public. This will avoid the public brawl and back and forth as to what is accurate.

Hear ..Hear. Another point is any document requested by the AG and the OCG MUST be provided in a timely manner.

Can the Auditor in his/her report, citing certain inaccuracies and irregularities, make recommendations for people to be FIRED?

"timely manner" A Jamaica you talking bout yuh nuh.