Portia, others to be questioned over Trafigura

• Portia, others to be questioned over Trafigura

JUSTICE Lennox Campbell this morning ruled that People’s National Party (PNP) President Portia Simpson Miller, other PNP figures, and a businessman, should be questioned in relation to the Trafigura scandal.

Lawyers for the five have been arguing that the court had no jurisdiction for the matter to continue and that the constitutional rights of the five would be breached if they were compelled to give evidence in the Dutch authorities’ investigation of the $31-million donation to the PNP by Trafigura.

Justice Campbell said in his ruling in the Supreme Court that there is "no absolute constitutional rights" and that constitutional rights have to be balanced.

He said it is within the public's rights for matters to be prosecuted.
    The Court of Appeal will this afternoon hear an application from lawyers for Simpson Miller; party chairman Robert Pickersgill; former minister of energy Phillip Paulwell; former information minister Colin Campbell; and businessman Norton Hinds challenging a ruling by Justice Campbell on Tuesday to allow the questioning to continue.

Related story:
    PNP takes Trafigura issue to Court of Appeal

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1dz5sz3U3

Suh Skeng D, it nuh obvious they're trying to hide something?

Dudus...One Liard...Bruce Gelding...Manatt

Appeal court grants stay of Trafigura hearing

Barbara Gayle, Staff Reporter

The Court of Appeal has granted a stay of the Trafigura hearing.

Attorneys representing members of the People’s National Party (PNP) this morning made submissions in chambers at the appeals court, while the hearing was in progress at the Supreme Court.

The lawyers for the PNP are seeking to challenge orders made by Justice Lennox Campbell who is presiding over the Trafigura case.

Justice Campbell has also refused an application by the attorneys for the PNP to have the Trafigura hearing held in Chambers, saying the matter should be heard in open court for transparency.

The lawyers have been insisting that the Trafigura hearing is politically motivated and should be stayed.

They are contending that their clients’ constitutional and fundamental rights have been violated.

The Dutch authorities are probing a bribery case against Dutch oil-trading company Trafigura Beheer, which made a donation of $31 million to the PNP in 2006.

They had sent questions to be answered by PNP President Portia Simpson Miller, Robert Pickersgill, Phillip Paulwell, Colin Campbell and Norton Hinds.

barbara.gayle@gleaner.com

stay of execution ?!

Exposing bribery is politically motivated? Police accept bribe and guh a prison. Football officals accept bribes and get suspended. PNP officials accept bribe and ppl waan elevate them to higher office?

+

you nuh understand what this is all about LAZIE

it is not the PNP under investigation.....it is the dutch company...for illegal political donations(illegal in Holland)

CORRECT MI IF MI WONG lol

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                +

you nuh understand what this is all about LAZIE

it is not the PNP under investigation.....it is the dutch company...for illegal political donations(illegal in Holland)

CORRECT MI IF MI WONG lol
                Trafigura is being investigated for bribing Jamaican Government Officials .... yes yuh can word it that way if yuh want.

@LAZIE

IS/WAS IT ILLEGAL IN JAMAICA?

wait deh........in a country where political donation is wrong......suppose u are a citizen...... for argument sake.......and u decide fi let off a 30 gran on one a u friend........who a run for MP(in Jamaica)

what you think your country ago charge/investigate you for?

mi sure bribery is gonna be one of the charge......since it is illegal

also run that against me who live in a country like Jamaica, where you can donate money to a party.....and me decide fi do the same as you ie donate 30 gran to the MP

what you think of your MP friend in this hypothetical situation(who get from me and u)?
                  Last edited by Skeng DX; November 17, 2011, 04:11 PM.

wait deh........in a country where political donation is wrong......suppose u are a citizen...... for argument sake.......and u decide fi let off a 30 gran on one a u friend........who a run for MP(in Jamaica)

what you think your country ago charge/investigate you for?

mi sure bribery is gonna be one of the charge......since it is illegal

also run that against me who live in a country like Jamaica, where you can donate money to a party.....and me decide fi do the same as you ie donate 30 gran to the MP

@LAZIE

what you think of your MP friend in this hypothetical situation(who get from me and u)?
                    political donation? Trafigura said it was payment for a transaction. Try fit a square peg in a round hole SkengD. The top brass of the PNP are bribe tekkers .... if not then it will be worse ... gwaan comfort yuhself bout political donation. If that was the case WHY THEY TRYING TO HIDE THE TRUTH?

WHAT IS THE TRUTH?

ON THE SURFACE IT LOOK LIKE A DONATION(taking into consideration it was election time etc..)

AND THE DUTCH COMPANY GET CATCH........AND THEN A SEH A transaction(becuz they knew they were not allowed to make DONATIONS)

if what you say is true....the JLP just as guilty.....look at some of the things them sell off and the price........it is not limited to one party

WHAT IS THE TRUTH?

ON THE SURFACE IT LOOK LIKE A DONATION(taking into consideration it was election time etc..)

AND THE DUTCH COMPANY GET CATCH........AND THEN A SEH A transaction(becuz they knew they were not allowed to make DONATIONS)

if what you say is true....the JLP just as guilty.....look at some of the things them sell off and the price........it is not limited to one party

LOL its comical ... on the surface? If after all this time you still have that naive stance .... then .... duh yuh thing. As expected .... yuh try flip it now and a bring in the JLP? Careful .. the dizziness will mek yuh drop.

HAHAHA ... on the surface.

LOL its comical ... on the surface? If after all this time you still have that naive stance .... then .... duh yuh thing. As expected .... yuh try flip it now and a bring in the JLP? Careful .. the dizziness will mek yuh drop.

HAHAHA ... on the surface.
                          NO...THE JLP GET 7 MILLION US $

AS A "DONATION"....AND THAT PERSON WHO GIVE IT........BUY THINGS WAY UNDER THE REAL VALUE FROM THE GOJ

WHY U NUH ACCUSE HIM A BRIBERY?

NO...THE JLP GET 7 MILLION US $

AS A "DONATION"....AND THAT PERSON WHO GIVE IT........BUY THINGS WAY UNDER THE REAL VALUE FROM THE GOJ

WHY U NUH ACCUSE HIM A BRIBERY?
                            I see yuh being a typical comrade throwing up smokescreens. Deal with the fact that your party leadership has accepted a bribe and instead of going to prison like the numerous police officers yuh would rather have them lead the country.

THEM CYAA GO PRISON..........THE ONLY THING THE DUTCH AUTHORITIES WANT THEM FAH...............IS TO GIVE EVIDENCE AGAINST...........THE COMPANY

I SEE U STILL NUH GET IT

THEY DID NOTHING ILLEGAL