Front-Page EDITORIAL - What will Dr Phillips do?

• Front-Page EDITORIAL - What will Dr Phillips do?

DR PETER Phillips is right. Jamaica faces an economic crisis about which the people should be told the truth. But merely alerting us to the Government's failings is not good enough for the shadow finance minister. That is like expecting to win by default.
    What Dr Phillips and the People's National Party (PNP) must do is level with the people about the limited options available, even if it is the PNP that wins the general election. In that event, Dr Phillips, as finance minister, will have a hard job.
    Should anyone doubt the narrow space within which Jamaica has to manoeuvre, they need only look at Greece and Italy. They, too, faced debt crises. Financial markets lost confidence in the ability of their leaders to implement difficult reforms. Having dithered for long, Greece and Italy flirted with bankruptcy.
    Jamaica's debt, at August, was $1.6 trillion, or 130 per cent of GDP - around 10 percentage points higher than Italy's, but 20 points lower than Greece's. There are, however, off-book obligations not properly captured in Jamaica's official debt numbers.
    In 2010-11 Jamaica's debt servicing of $230 billion, including amortisation, accounted for nearly 60 per cent of direct government spending, or over 70 per cent of all income. Indeed, the bit of over $80 billion left from taxes and grants could merely cover a third of the Government's wage bill. As administrations have done for decades, the Government borrowed to meet its basic expenses.
    Dithering at the people's expense
    This, as Greece and Italy discovered, was unsustainable. Jamaica dithers at the people's expense.
    The situation demands that the Government cut expenditure as well as reform its tax system to earn more. This may mean public-sector job losses and government employees will have to contribute to their pensions. People who previously escaped will have to pay taxes. Or, we might choose to default.
    We know the Government has fudged. What will Dr Phillips do?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead2.html

.. a question I've been hearing getting a little more louder lately. Last week Cliff Hughes asked if there can be a 2 hour debate on the economy, Dr. Phillips hung up the phone. I guess him gonna claim he got disconnected.

Whats is their position on tax reform, pension reform etc? How would they go about reducing the wage/gdp ratio? He is always available to knock the gov't on how they're 'mismanaging the economy, fine. Suh why can't he present his solutions? I saw a poll where he is regarded as the best opposition spokesperson .... why? Because he makes the most noise?

I keep telling you guys that never mind the shiny BMWs, Spanish hotels, macmansions, Jamaica is basically bankrupt. We produce little or nothing. Weddy Wednesdays, wet and wild Fridays, Saturdays by the pier etc don't earn foreign currency. We are like a dead man walking. Those are just feel-good distractions for the so-called elites or pseudoelites. The ordinary citizen is feeling the pressure already and the worst is yet to come.

Gwey, Reggaedoc! Wi have Sizzling Slots! What more wi need?!?

YAY!

Huh, hotels dont count now?

Bankrupt how yuh arrive deh suh, an wah lead yuh to come dat conclusion?
            Worst is yet to come, how suh? Is funny how is now ebrybody become experts inna financial managment an policies. Ah wondah weh yuh/unnuh did deh when nex party did indeh

We have agro produce, mineral produce, IT call centres, tourism, some light manufacturing, some services. As for illegal ganja!

Certainly nothing compared to our potential, but we certainly dont produce NOTHING!

Why do you bring up McMansions, Bimmers, etc? Who claims that to be any significant factor in output?

As for FX, we also have positive FDI and remittances.

We should set ourselves up for the low hanging fruit. IT work, expanded tourism and agriculture and specialized niche manufacturing. The only thing stopping that now is bad organization and tiresome bureaucracy.

The best thing going for us is a long suffering disposition and HUSTLE. Our people still by and large want to progress in life and just await expanded opportunity. Is not every country have dat!