• Hay-Webster still in House

Hay-Webster still in House
    2011-11-15 17:56:46 | (0 Comments)

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

South Central St Catherine Member of Parliament, Sharon Hay Webster is still sitting in the House of Representatives despite a commitment from Prime Minister Andrew Holness that she would have resigned.

Hay Webster crossed the floor to join the government two weeks ago after sitting as an independent member since June when she resigned from the People’s National Party.

But Mr. Holness had told the Gleaner recently that he asked for Hay Webster’s resignation so that she could get her mandate as a JLP representative.

However, he had said Hay Webster was in the process of finishing up with administrative work, including matters relating to her Constituency Development Fund.

It is unclear when Hay Webster will resign as a member of parliament.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

We don't have a culture of resignation....everything in Jamaica is grey..at least in politics and business...

This w...woman has no decency about her.

We are missing a bigger point here I think...the JLP was insisting she resigned when she sat on the PNP side, now that she has crossed the aisle the JLP are not calling for her resignation anymore...funny how that happen eh

Didn't the PM say she is going to resign?

This w...woman has no decency about her.
            Really .... I recall you were standing up for her claiming you think her case is different. So because she no longer wears orange her case change now? No wonder she complain about the tribalistic and divisive politcs practices by the PNP.

When?

I have made promises too but never gave a time period in which this promise was to be delivered.

The PM have reasons now not to pressure her into stepping down as he may need her vote in parliament to pass a bill...ever thought of that?

When?

I have made promises too but never gave a time period in which this promise was to be delivered.

The PM have reasons now not to pressure her into stepping down as he may need her vote in parliament to pass a bill...ever thought of that?
                ... again ... she will resign as per the PM. Furthermore, she has renounced the citizenship which was a condition as per Shaw. She sat in the house for years and unuh never had a problem ... so why the fuss on your path all of a sudden?

she will resign when it is expedient?

Weren't you one of those who had your bingo bag all in a bunch that she should step down etc so why the delay now

she will resign when it is expedient?

Weren't you one of those who had your bingo bag all in a bunch that she should step down etc so why the delay now
                    ... yes and I still hold the view .... its just pathetic that I was the only one calling for her to step now all of a sudden unuh a change position.

Probably true but he case was different from the others. She was born overseas. I am no lawyer but I believe that a Jamaican born overseas to a Jamaican parent is a full Jamaican with all rights. If we want to ban them from the house then we need a new law to specially states that they don't have the right to sit in the house unless they revoke all foreign citizenship.

There you go again, Mendacious Lazie!

Time, that IS the current law. She is no more full Jakan than we who born deh.

The thing is she cant be forced out and will step when expedient, now dat she renounce.

You really take yourself serious Lazie? Did you eevn read what you just wrote? Why arent you still calling for her to hurry up and resign? Because it would be expedient for your party of choice to use her vote in parliament should it come that that.