• 'I just want my house to be different'

'I just want my house to be different'
    published: Tuesday | February 13, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody xEM5i="true">

Robert Lalah, Assistant Editor - Features

Left: The towering house in Bushy Park, St. Catherine, attracts crowds everyday. Right: When the dome in the Indian section is completed, it will light up and spin. There is also a <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">prayer</SPAN> room in this area. - Photos by Robert Lalah

It's not uncommon for Alphonso Latchman to be sitting on the balcony of his home, looking at the mountains in the distance and be interrupted by the sound of screeching tires. It happens at least four times everyday when drivers traveling through Bushy Park in St. Catherine get their first glimpse of his massive home.

"I don't mind it. I just like when my house is different from everybody else house," he chuckled.

And different it is. You see, Mr. Latchman is a well-travelled fellow who's intent on making his home, which isn't finished yet, into a monument of sorts. Something like the shrines and castles he's seen on his many <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">trips</SPAN> across the globe.

He was born in <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> but spent 30 years living in and working 16-hour days in England.

"At first, I worked on the <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink3 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,3); style="POSITION: static; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,3); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,3); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20070213/news/news1.html#" target=_new><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! imp

RE: 'I just want my house to be different'

Why does this happen sometimes?

Why does what happen sometimes ?

I can't see the initial post.

Change yuh display settings to either desending or ascending.

Thanks

At first I thought Mosiah had grown his hair.. but then I read further.. don't think that is Mosiah.

Now, Now!!! That's a house!!!

One which Anna-Nicole Smith would've surely craved for.

But yikes!! So much opulence on display. I know Grove/Bushy Park and, unless the place has changed drastically, this edificewill likely seem out of place.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011