Email
    Print
    Analysis & Opinion
    Citi risk measurement scheme warrants closer look
    Europe should avoid eating its seed corn
    Related Topics
    Financials ยป
    Wed Nov 9, 2011 5:20am EST
    (The following statement was released by the rating agency)

Nov 09-

OVERVIEW

-- We are reviewing our Banking Industry Country Risk Assessments after having published our updated methodology.

-- We are revising our BICRA on Jamaica to group '9' from group '10'.

-- We are also maintaining our economic risk score of '10' and assigning an industry risk score of '7'.

BICRA ACTION

On Nov. 9, 2011, Standard & Poor's Ratings Services revised its Banking Industry Country Risk Assessment (BICRA) on Jamaica to group '9' from group '10'. It has also maintained the economic risk score of '10'. In addition, it has assigned an industry risk score of '7'.

RATIONALE

We have reviewed the banking sector of Jamaica (B-/Stable/C) under our updated BICRA methodology. The BICRA groups summarize our view of the risks that a bank operating within a particular country and banking industry faces relative to those in other banking industries. They range from group '1' (the lowest risk) to group '10' (the highest risk). Other countries in BICRA group '9' are Paraguay, Venezuela, and Ukraine.

Our economic risk score of '10' for Jamaica reflects our "extremely high risk" assessment of the country's "economic resilience," "extremely high risk" of "economic imbalances," and a "very high risk" assessment of "credit risk in the economy," as our criteria define those terms.

Jamaican banks face the challenge of operating in cyclical industries such as tourism, bauxite mining, construction, and manufacturing, all of which have been bruised by the economic slowdown. In addition, we believe the country's heavy debt and debt-service costs pressure its economic prospects.

FINANCIALS

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There you go again with how many dis an dat...an utter irrelevance.

In the country you live in it's the norm for newspapers to declare for or against political candidates...yet it's "impossible" for Stewart? Rubbish.

If he did declare ...who's gonna bother him? ...nuhbaddy...im name Mr Big

Openness is better than media manipulation imho...twisting stories, selective reporting, presenting obvious press releases as "news", regularly printing negative items on individuals you're in dispute with like the fellow Issa, undermining or maligning individuals you don't favor...all while maintaining a veneer of impartiality...
      In a professional organization those tactics are fine for editorial & opinion pages & cartoonists...but it's unethical to contaminate the news pages with that rubbish.... yet yuh lap dat up lika puppy without a whimper.

Then again I would not expect you to know any better.

Social Contrak required...All Hands on Deck..

The ongly way to progress

Tell me the paper that declare themself a republican or democratic paper.

They state political ideology but not party. The fact is they all sell themself as free and fair and balance. The Observer and the Gleaner is no different.

The readers can decided for themselves. Why would Stewart marginalise his paper like that? You think he is not interested in attracting readers from both sides.

The demography of people buying paper in Jamaica is very small and to marginalise yourself like that is plain suicide as it prove with the Daily news, The Sunday Herald and others who fail to attract readers from all divide.

Tell me the paper that declare themself a republican or democratic paper.

They state political ideology but not party. The fact is they all sell themself as free and fair and balance. The Observer and the Gleaner is no different.

The readers can decided for themselves. Why would Stewart marginalise his paper like that? You think he is not interested in attracting readers from both sides.

The demography of people buying paper in Jamaica is very small and to marginalise yourself like that is plain suicide as it prove with the Daily news, The Sunday Herald and others who fail to attract readers from all divide.
            Republican or Democrat paper? That's not the issue fellow...it's about endorsing candidates..that's what I said

Since you are ignorant of this update yuhself...an mek sure yuh nuh come back wid nuh foolfool tangential red herring

http://fivethirtyeight.blogs.nytimes...y-and-outcome/

Juss gwaan lap up the media manipulation lika lemming

Every paper endorse candidate. That is not what you said

"Stewart would have my respect if he just declared his interest in supporting the JLP with his newspaper...instead of manipulating the "news" with that JLP objective as it does routinely. "

Is the JLP now a candidate?????

By the way an election is not even called yet even if the observer wanted to endorse a candidate.

Now can you explain the above statement to me. Again if Stewart want to sell newspaper in Jamaica he would be an idiot to suggest his paper is a JLP endorsed paper.

Machine a run overtime.

In the country you live in it's the norm for newspapers to declare for or against political candidates...yet it's "impossible" for Stewart? Rubbish.
                  This is the definitive statement on the matter fellow.

Mi know yuh ah come wid yuh red herring..especially afta yuh statement dat newspaper ongly talk bout dem ideology.... now yuh claim dat
                  Every paper endorse candidate.
                  ...yuh fi mek up yuh mind..yuh cyaan ave it two way yuteman

Now back to basics...Stewart would have my respect if he openly declared his interest in seeing the JLP in power...nothing wrang wid dat

What's wrong is manipulating the so-called "news" on the sly to suit his personal and often petty agenda

Good for him that people like you uphold such folly unquestioningly

You get caught in your trap. Your argument is one of folly. Every paper have their bias but to claim that they should endorse JLP when they are in the business of selling to people is to kill themselves. You have the option of not reading.

The readers normall decide for themselves I know most Jamaicans can decide.

You can deny all you want but my argument stands as papers usually endorse candidates. I am not complaining about either the Gleaner, Observer or the Herald, I read them all and try to see their viewpoint.
                    Last edited by Assasin; November 13, 2011, 03:28 PM.

You get caught in your trap

You wouldn't know a trap if it bax yuh inna yuh face... neither do you know when your attempt at a point...is pointless

Your argument is one of folly. Every paper have their bias but to claim that they should endorse JLP when they are in the business of selling to people is to kill themselves. You have the option of not reading.
                      I never said what they should do...I said how Stewart would get some respect from me. What is disrespectful is the tawdry media manipulation that you lap up without question daily.

The readers normall decide for themselves I know most Jamaicans can decide.

You can deny all you want but my argument stands as papers usually endorse candidates. I am not complaining about either the Gleaner, Observer or the Herald, I read them all and try to see their viewpoint.
                      It is irrelevant what you complain or don't complain about. I didn't post about your opinion...I posted about mine.

Now you say "papers usually endorse candidates". You previously said they only discuss their ideology. Further, you claimed or implied that if Stewart declared for a candidate or party...let's say His Holiness..he would be sinking his paper...rubbish

Your argument is bankrupt, contradictory & irrelevant....but what else is new?

Par for the course

you don't have to have my opinion. Same way in the relm of things people don't care about yours. Why should the observer ever consider your idea which would see the banckrupt and losing maybe a half of their clients?????

How smart and modern is that?

Objectivity is out the window. I think I need to give up reading the papers until election is over...The articles are so biased and one sided...Also includes twists of words demonstrating clear agendas......

by any means necessary.. kill di communism movement..

did you campaign when Butch and PNP was friend ?

lol !.. fix yuh slip.. tyad fi tell yuh..

yuh nuh hear seh Butch tek wheh him GF ?

when a man nuh like summady yuh fi leff dem mek dem vex..

When people toe get runovah.. walk wide..