Chiggas prep Fire Sale & Termites nyam Investor Confidence..

• Chiggas prep Fire Sale & Termites nyam Investor Confidence..

Portia warns investors
    Suggests PNP Government won’t honour divestment agreements
    BY INGRID BROWN Observer senior reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com

Friday, November 11, 2011

LEADER of the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) Portia Simpson Miller last night issued a stern warning to potential investors in the properties being divested by the Government, suggesting that her party would form the next administration and would not honour the sale agreements.

"I hear a long list that they intend to divest, but I am warning people who intend to buy them that the PNP will be returned to power soon, so be careful, because we will not be standing for it," she said at a mass meeting in Port Antonio square.

"As soon as the PNP returns to power we will be dealing with it," she warned.
    Simpson Miller said although the Government was denying that Dunn's River Falls was among a number of local attractions being divested, this does not seem true, since it has been rumoured since last year.
    "Since we never see smoke without fire, we asking you to be careful," she said.

On Wednesday, Senator Arthur Williams, the minister with responsibility for information, told journalists at the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing that the executive had approved two contracts for consultancy services to begin the divestment process for Kingston Container Terminal (KCT) and six local attractions which are managed by the Urban Development Corporation (UDC).
    The contract in relation to the KCT, he said, was valued at US$3.33 million and was awarded to PricewaterhouseCoopers .

The other contract, Williams said, has been awarded to Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited in the amount of $29.3 million for the privatisation of local attractions presently being run by UDC.
    "This concerns a number of local attractions that will be privatised... so that the UDC can get back to its core business, rather than seeking to run the entities themselves," he said.

Initially, Williams had said that the attractions included Reach Falls in Portland, Two Sisters Cave in St Catherine and Dunn's River Falls in St Ann.
    However, yesterday he issued a news release saying that Dunn's River Falls was not among the attractions up for divestment.

"The UDC attractions slated for privatisation by way of concession agreement, that is, contracting-out the management and development of the assets, are as follows:
    * Reach Falls
    * Green Grotto Caves
    * Two Sisters Cave
    * Laughing Waters Restaurant and Beach Club
    * Turtle River Park
    * Top Forte/Belmont/Roaring River/Malvern Park," the news release said.

But last night, a strident Simpson Miller reiterated that the PNP will not allow the Government to divest other "important properties and heritage sites belonging to the Jamaican people".
    "The PNP will be defending the natural resources and heritage of the Jamaican people and will not allow them to be sold," Simpson Miller said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1dOpTPQYP

... finally ... a policy position.

Simpson Miller said although the Government was denying that Dunn's River Falls was among a number of local attractions being divested, this does not seem true, since it has been rumoured since last year.
      "Since we never see smoke without fire, we asking you to be careful," she said.

The other contract, Williams said, has been awarded to Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited in the amount of $29.3 million for the privatisation of local attractions presently being run by UDC

Initially, Williams had said that the attractions included Reach Falls in Portland, Two Sisters Cave in St Catherine and Dunn's River Falls in St Ann.
      However, yesterday he issued a news release saying that Dunn's River Falls was not among the attractions up for divestment.

But last night, a strident Simpson Miller reiterated that the PNP will not allow the Government to divest other "important properties and heritage sites belonging to the Jamaican people".
      "The PNP will be defending the natural resources and heritage of the Jamaican people and will not allow them to be sold," Simpson Miller said.

While I agree in principle with this position, it strikes me as convenient, given how the last Govt sell off the Bernard lodge and other sugar lands cheap, cheap to dem fren like Garnet Roper, etc.

So yes, I agree to be vigilant, but I dont give any of them credit. Mi nuh truss none a dem to safeguard any national asset whey dem can sell dem fren.

For these kinds of assets, I prefer to see long term leases put in effect, say 20-50 years.

While I agree in principle with this position, it strikes me as convenient, given how the last Govt sell off the Bernard lodge and other sugar lands cheap, cheap to dem fren like Garnet Roper, etc.

So yes, I agree to be vigilant, but I dont give any of them credit. Mi nuh truss none a dem to safeguard any national asset whey dem can sell dem fren.

For these kinds of assets, I prefer to see long term leases put in effect, say 20-50 years.
          I AGREE WITH THAT

This is one of the few sensible things I have heard from her in a long time. I would urge her to not honor any of them.

I have known Wayne(Chen) and he remains a lifelong friend, but these decisions have got to be the worst I have seen made by any Jamaica official.

unnuh can read ?

gwaan mek di serpents dem lead yuh astray... the PNP HAVE NO PRINCIPLE !

God give unnuh a Brain... is not Danville ongly.. I hope:

"The UDC attractions slated for privatisation by way of concession agreement, that is, contracting-out the management and development of the assets, are as follows:
              * Reach Falls
              * Green Grotto Caves
              * Two Sisters Cave
              * Laughing Waters Restaurant and Beach Club
              * Turtle River Park
              * Top Forte/Belmont/Roaring River/Malvern Park," the news release said.

Google "concession" if unnuh still confused..

Damn...

and then people wonder why Jamaica fvck up..

Jamaicans get the Jamaica they deserve...

Mi know is likkle Good School deh bout but... damn.....

Why was UDC created ?

How/Why are these assets under their 'Management' ?

Wi run Vin Lawrence (God 1) and PJ fvckry long time...

Is FINSAC why wi even having this stupid discussion.

Govt can run business ?

Ah wheh di ...

Unnuh fi stap chat fvckery pon di site !