A crisis is upon us

• A crisis is upon us

JAMAICA is teetering at a crisis over its debt, similar to what brought Greece to the brink of collapse and is now threatening Italy.
    In the cases of those countries, their partners in the common currency, the euro, forced them to acknowledge the truth and the actions necessary to save themselves. In Jamaica, neither of the political parties seems either willing or ready to face the reality of the depth of our problem and what will be required to fix it.

Jamaica's debt at the end of August was over $1.6 trillion which, shared among all 2.7 million of us who live here, amounts to nearly $600,000 apiece. Indeed, in the first seven months of this year, the debt rose by $86.55 billion, or more than $408 million per day.
    Even with last year's Jamaica Debt Exchange (JDX), after the Government serviced its debt, what was left over from all revenue, as well as gifts from foreign governments and agencies, could pay less than two-thirds of the public-sector wage bill.

In the current fiscal year, even as it underspent in critical areas, the Government's obligations have grown, but revenue has not kept pace. The inevitable upshot: rising debt.

Unsustainable
    The situation is unsustainable. If we do nothing, the economy will collapse. So, spending has to be brought closer in line with income, even as the Government increases its revenue.
    The reality is that the public sector has to be reformed and rationalised. The system to fund civil-service pension has to be overhauled so that employees contribute to their future benefit. The reorganisation of the tax system, so that more people pay, or pay their fair share, can no longer be delayed.

But, for this to happen, the political parties first have to acknowledge the crisis and resolve to tell Jamaicans the truth. This will require aware and strong leadership capable first of building internal consensus.
    To paraphrase Greece's outgoing prime minister, George Papandreou, a failure to act would be "historically irresponsible".

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead2.html

Only a matter of time. Jamaica's demise will be worse than Greece's and we will be heading towards a catastrophe soon. Don't be fooled by the shiny BMWs, macmansions, fusion restaurants etc etc, the country produces very little, its tourism product is mediocre, it doesnt have an adequate educational system to attract industries involved in things intellectual etc etc. It is all a farce. It is all about trying to be cardboard Europeans. It cant last. Haiti, in its prime was ahead of Jamaica. Look where they are now. You have been warned.

No it will not!

You are being too negative on Jamaica.

Unno look pon Greece and spain superficially. They are in deeper dung than we are. We are small and easy to bail out, they are NOT. Besides, we can more easily be coerced to reform. Our chests are less "high".

When was Haiti's prime and why did they fall?

Methinks this is a poor analogy.

What Jam needs is a bit more cohesion and less political drama. For one its irresponsible to have an opposition that refuses to engage dabate on policy. They need to be forced to the table with a willing GOJ and representatives of civil society to hash out a Kontrak. It will happen, no matter who wins the next elections. Reality will demand it.

The good thing is that we have hustle and know how to "suffer". We just need focussed "medicine" a common goal and roadmap and we will survie and indeed even prosper (relatively).

I have more fear for the Western World. one big solar flare in the next year or so can like out electrical transmission for months and then we would have BANGARANG! Winter, no electricity nor running water for 3 months and it will be laike armageddon in the big cities in the North. The Western lifestyle is way more fragile than people think. Look at that Michigan town pulling dung street lights alrady, cause dem caaan pay light bill! Anodda one declare bankruptcy (Alabama).

Nuh worry bout Jam. 3 months without light is common assault after hurricane. As fi water ....

Easily bailed out ?thats the solution willi ?...wow

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Its not a solution...worse case scenario.

Indeed, when I say bail out, I mean restructed debt so that we can continue to pay while we try to advance.

We used to dat long time.

How many investors lined up to enter Greece or Spain now????

Is some serious adjustments going to tek place in the West over the next decade. Nuff a dem a live like a rich kid who nuh realise say Daddy company bruk and still a spend like the good times never ended.

You are being too negative on Jamaica.
                  is REGGAEDOC...is suh him see Jamaica. Nothing good comes from Yard, since him lef...him was the last good thing...

Suggest he change to jamaican born USADOC..

Dat is what the wiseacres here dont realize.

I have been issuing warnings for years! Things are no longer the way they used to be.

Greece have more pools than Germany and their Govt workers can retire early with pension equal to 95% of last salary. They are lazy, sloppy and have no hustle and Germany reluctant to bail dem. Germany a get plan B ready, dem a print D-Marks!

Tek sleep and mark death!