• Patrick Powell granted bail

Barbara Gayle, Staff Reporter

Supreme Court Judge Carol Beswick has granted bail to 50-year-old Patrick Powell, the businessman accused of murdering 17-year-old Khajeel Mais.

Powell was granted bail a short while ago in the amount of $10 million with one or two sureties.

However the Crown said it will appeal the bail offer.

Justice Beswick granted bail after reviewing forensic evidence presented in court yesterday.

What was revealed:
    Powell's Lawyers Claim Mais Fired Gun

The forensic report in the murder case was disclosed yesterday.

Powell’s attorney at law, Patrick Atkinson, said the report indicated that traces of gunpowder residue were found on the back of Mais’ right hand.

However, Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Caroline Hay argued that the trace of gunpowder residue could have been transferred while Mais was being taken to hospital.

barbara.gayle@gleanerjm.com

huh? Justice Beswick granted bail after reviewing forensic evidence presented in court yesterday. he is no longer a flight risk? inneresting!

The crap continues.

just plain wrong... suddenly he is no longer a flight risk... btw, did present his gun for inspection... i dont know about these jamaican judges... antagonists in the crime fighting efforts...

yuh nuh hear seh di man drive X6.. ??

not even gwine talk bout him plane..

so the defence talk bout gunpowder on the victim's hands and all of a sudden...sigh!

Jamaica's finest and their superb crime scene investigative skills have contributed to swinging the case in the defense's favour.

“We serve, we protect, we reassure with courtesy, integrity and proper respect for the rights of all’

i need to be rich in jamaica. holness, please make me rich, please. quickly!

...and trying them best to sully the victim's character! I'm telling you no justice for the poor and downtrodden!