Leave them alone!
JAMAICA Labour Party's Member of Parliament for South West St Catherine Everald Warmington has chastised the People's National Party for what he says are attempts to 'scrap' the character of new JLP contenders Danville Walker and Sharon Hay Webster.
Hay Webster, the former People's National Party representative for South Central St Catherine, has come under fire since she decided to switch allegiance to the ruling Jamaica Labour Party last week. Walker, who resigned as commissioner of Customs in the same week to contest the Central Manchester seat now held by the PNP's Peter Bunting, has also been under the Opposition's whip and was nicknamed "Scrappy" by Bunting in reference to a decision taken which contravened the Cabinet-imposed ban on the scrap metal trade.
According to Warmington, the PNP's actions towards the two amount to character assassination.
"I am amazed that all of a sudden you guys have some names to call this gentleman, yet when he was there working in 1997, 2002 and 2007 you didn't know to call him names you hypocrites!" Warmington said in response to comments on Walker who was director of elections for several years before taking up the position as Customs commissioner.
"All you know to do is destroy people's character. Sharon was the closest thing to all of you and now all of a sudden she's the worst. You are nothing but a bunch of hypocrites, cut it out," Warmington said. The JLP MP was responding to jabs from the PNP's Noel Arscott during the meeting of the Constituency Development Fund Committee which he chairs. Arscott who had been mischievously asking about "Scrappy" got more than he bargained for.
According to Warmington, Arscott, who is in danger of losing his South West Clarendon seat had his own fate to worry about.
"Yuh soon know what is 'Scrappy' yuh have a new candidate running against yuh, yuh soon have fire in yuh muss muss tail yuh tink a cool breeze, yuh soon si what happen to yuh down there," the decidedly feisty MP warned.
In the meantime, the JLP's St Andrew West Rural Andrew Gallimore said Bunting was running scared judging from his attack on the party's newcomer.
"I am sure Bunting not sleeping well at nights", Gallimore said, noting that the JLP was going after the seats held by the PNP's much older slate of candidates. "Wi going to close down Jurassic Park," he said to which Warmington gamely quipped "with the dinosaurs".
In responding to Arscott's taunt that he was in danger of losing his seat in the next elections a confident Warmington said "if you carry Michael Manley a beat him (win the seat), if you carry my cousin (Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller) a beat her out there. If you cut my seat to one vote majority a beat you by three. I bet yuh I don't come out under three thousand, the minimum I can win is 2,800".
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1dDekI6YO
Hay Webster, the former People's National Party representative for South Central St Catherine, has come under fire since she decided to switch allegiance to the ruling Jamaica Labour Party last week. Walker, who resigned as commissioner of Customs in the same week to contest the Central Manchester seat now held by the PNP's Peter Bunting, has also been under the Opposition's whip and was nicknamed "Scrappy" by Bunting in reference to a decision taken which contravened the Cabinet-imposed ban on the scrap metal trade.
According to Warmington, the PNP's actions towards the two amount to character assassination.
"I am amazed that all of a sudden you guys have some names to call this gentleman, yet when he was there working in 1997, 2002 and 2007 you didn't know to call him names you hypocrites!" Warmington said in response to comments on Walker who was director of elections for several years before taking up the position as Customs commissioner.
"All you know to do is destroy people's character. Sharon was the closest thing to all of you and now all of a sudden she's the worst. You are nothing but a bunch of hypocrites, cut it out," Warmington said. The JLP MP was responding to jabs from the PNP's Noel Arscott during the meeting of the Constituency Development Fund Committee which he chairs. Arscott who had been mischievously asking about "Scrappy" got more than he bargained for.
According to Warmington, Arscott, who is in danger of losing his South West Clarendon seat had his own fate to worry about.
"Yuh soon know what is 'Scrappy' yuh have a new candidate running against yuh, yuh soon have fire in yuh muss muss tail yuh tink a cool breeze, yuh soon si what happen to yuh down there," the decidedly feisty MP warned.
In the meantime, the JLP's St Andrew West Rural Andrew Gallimore said Bunting was running scared judging from his attack on the party's newcomer.
"I am sure Bunting not sleeping well at nights", Gallimore said, noting that the JLP was going after the seats held by the PNP's much older slate of candidates. "Wi going to close down Jurassic Park," he said to which Warmington gamely quipped "with the dinosaurs".
In responding to Arscott's taunt that he was in danger of losing his seat in the next elections a confident Warmington said "if you carry Michael Manley a beat him (win the seat), if you carry my cousin (Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller) a beat her out there. If you cut my seat to one vote majority a beat you by three. I bet yuh I don't come out under three thousand, the minimum I can win is 2,800".
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1dDekI6YO