"JLP residents have urged Mr. Kern Spencer to switch sides"

• "JLP residents have urged Mr. Kern Spencer to switch sides"

A day after Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters demonstrated against a parliamentarian, supporters in another constituency are protesting against the selection of a prospective candidate.

In this latest protest, the residents say their representative is ineffective.

Residents in North East St. Elizabeth on Tuesday morning demonstrated in front of the party's constituency office in Santa Cruz to call for the removal of caretaker Corris Samuels.

Mr. Samuels ran on the JLP's ticket in the 2007 General Election but lost to the People’s National Party's Kern Spencer.

The residents say Mr. Samuels has been ineffective in the constituency and should be replaced.

“He's not doing what he is supposed to be doing. When he passes through the area the phone is always at his ears, I don’t understand how his phone is engaged all the time, he doesn’t want to see anybody and he is hiding from people…it is unfair, we don’t want him,” said a constituent in North East St. Elizabeth.

Some residents have also urged Mr. Spencer to switch sides claiming they would vote for him if he represented the JLP.

At the same time some party workers and supporters are calling for Mr. Samuels to be replaced by sitting Councillor for the Santa Cruz Division Stalin Brown or attorney Lorna Bennett.

Mr. Brown was been a Councillor since 1998 while Ms Bennett's law practice is based in Santa Cruz.

On Monday constituents in Eastern St. Andrew demonstrated at the JLP's Belmont Road Headquarters insisting that MP Dr. St. Aubyn Bartlett be replaced as they claimed he was ineffective.

RJR News has also learnt that there are rumblings of disapproval over the continued representation by South East St. Mary MP Tarn Peralto and St. Catherine North East incumbent Gregory Mair.

Meanwhile Mr. Samuels has downplayed the effects of the demonstration saying it was led by someone wanting to stir up trouble.

“I met with the people from the area last night who said they were having demonstrations. I met with them, the major people and try to find the concerns but the concerns were unfounded, they were not getting anything from me, I don’t come to see them when they are keeping functions. But it’s only one person that is making the problem,”

“I have the full support of the constituency executive, the full support of the councillor and the councillor/caretaker, all of them in full support of my candidacy,” Mr. Samuels said.
    http://rjrnewsonline.com/news/politi...t-st-elizabeth

i would endorse that.

LOL

i would endorse that.

Please take him...sure he would be right at home among the others there...

Danhai Williams still on the NEC ?

You tell me...me nuh have your links and close ties

that's a rhetorical question..

Kern Spencer to decide whether to run as an independent cand

Member of Parliament for North East St. Elizabeth, Kern Spencer, says he will respond in a matter of days to calls for him to run as an independent candidate in the General Election.

Mr. Spencer says he has been approached by persons in the constituency urging him to vie for the seat.

Mr. Spencer, who defeated the Jamaica Labour Party's Coris Samuels in the 2007 General Election, has not offered himself to run on the People's National Party ticket.

But speaking with RJR News on Tuesday night, Mr. Spencer said he will consider the suggestion that he remain in representational politics.

The MP said he will decide on the way forward by next week.

“It is something I will have to give great thought in terms of running as an independent candidate. I live in the constituency, so whenever I step out of my door I interact with voters but as I said it is something I have not thought about, to be honest, because I took a decision sometime ago last year that I would take a break but the calls have been intensifying and I am going to have to think about it,” Mr. Spencer said.

On Tuesday JLP supporters in the constituency protested calling for the removal of Mr. Samuels as the party's candidate/caretaker.

Mr. Samuels later claimed that the protest was organized by persons who wanted to stir up trouble.