Danville’s JLP billboard damaged

can you limit it if it is on private property and not blocking anything?

I know you can limit it if is in public space or blocking others.

I know people go a court fi them things inna the US.

aks desmond! nuh him waan tek off advertisements off private cars!

He can't do that unless what is advertise is not for public display.

Why shouldn't they be? Dem nah pay for it?

Before you can erect a billboard structure, you have to receive Parish Council approval and pay the fee...what exactly is the problem here? Too much green?

even on private property?

you betcha!

Money is your god? Once you can buy it, it's ok? The the question of campaign funding will come up....who can pay for the biggest billboard...

Too confrontational....have you heard a single issue being raised by either on behalf of the consituents??

Dave Lindo, Gleaner Writer
                    MANDEVILLE, Manchester
                    Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) caretaker for Central Manchester Danville Walker declared yesterday that People's National Party (PNP) General Secretary Peter Bunting should take some of the responsibility for the defacing of a political billboard recently erected in the constituency.
                    Addressing a press conference at the site of the billboard touting him as a 'proven performer' on Caledonia Road in Mandeville, Walker said, "It is very unfortunate that after four years in the constituency, those who support him (Bunting) would feel that this is the best way to show their support. I expect that a general secretary of a major political party would have the influence in this constituency to send a strong message to the supporters that he would not condone this type of behaviour."
                    Walker added: "I think that the principled thing for him is to accept some of the responsibility and to replace the sign."
                    The sign was erected on Saturday at the property of Trevor Parsons, who operates Pneumatron Ltd.
                    "An advertisement company rent the space from me," Parsons explained. "A Claro sign was there before. On Saturday they (advertisement company) put up the Danville Walker sign. Yesterday (Monday) morning I came to work and I saw red paint on the body of Walker on the billboard and this morning I saw his picture torn off."
                    Bunting's Camp felt threatened
                    Walker said it was evident that Bunting's camp felt threatened by him.
                    "It's a sign of the legitimacy of our likelihood of winning this constituency," he said. "If you are so confident that you are going to win, you don't need to resort to such tactics like this. I believe this will just strengthen us and cause us to work harder PD (polling division) by PD and bring home the victory."
                    Walker has been erecting other banners across his constituency and has disclosed that he will be putting up others shortly.
                    Meanwhile, Bunting has condemned the damage done to the billboard.
                    In a statement yesterday, Bunting said while it was not clear who was responsible for the damage done to the billboard, he was nevertheless urging the supporters of both parties to conduct a clean campaign for the upcoming election.
                    "I well remember the horrifying incident the weekend before the 2007 general election when one of my campaign vehicles was riddled with AK 47 bullets from a drive-by shooting, which left four innocent supporters dead, including a PNP indoor agent," said Bunting.
                    "The country and the constituency must never again allow the political temperature to be elevated to such insane levels," the Central Manchester member of parliament added.
                    Bunting continued: "In this regard, I'm calling on the JLP to cease placing their sound vehicles blaring political [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]music[/COLOR][/COLOR] in front of the office of the member of parliament."
                    rural@gleanerjm.com

Showing 7 comments

Sort by Popular now Best rating Newest first Oldest first Subscribe by email Subscribe by RSS

• Ceo 4 hours ago

Look how this big man who was respected by everyone has fallen in the estimation of everyone...
                        Crowd a people unoo tek heed.
                        And who have childen warn them
                        Dont be Ananvil
                        Even mi shame

Flag
                        39 people liked this. Like ReplyReply

• Ceo 4 hours ago

I thought he said he wanted to change politics.

What a loofish thing to even allege
                        Bunting is a savvy business man,
                        You were a soldier, we hoped a good one

Boss go and look for the stone that some one moved.

Flag
                        35 people liked this. Like ReplyReply

• Authnelreid 4 hours ago

Utterances from Denville Walker do not help to preserve the peace in the Central Manchester Constituency. And has the potential to brew into a powder keg for political violence. (1) Walker:”I expect that a general secretary of a major political party would have the influence in this constituency to send a strong message to the supporters that he would not condone this type of behaviour." Note: Didn’t Mr. Bunting Condemn this action by those (not proven but suspected to be) PNP supporters?(2) Walker: "I think that the principled thing for him is to accept some of the responsibility and to replace the sign." Walker said it was evident that Bunting's camp felt threatened by him”. Note: There is no proven evidence that Mr. Bunting’s team of supporters carried out those acts “where is the beef” (evidence) Mr. Walker a responsible citizen who has such evidence would give it to the police. (3) Walker:"It's a sign of the legitimacy of our likelihood of winning this constituency," he said. "If you are so confident that you are going to win, you don't need to resort to such tactics like this. I believe this will just strengthen us and cause us to work harder PD (polling division) by PD and bring home the victor Note: Mr. Walker is blaming his opponent Bunting personally for damage to his bill board. Not surprising (after what happen at customs not respecting our rules and laws) but how low can he go. Bunting: in a statement yesterday, said while it was not clear who was responsible for the damage done to the billboard, he was nevertheless urging the supporters of both parties to conduct a clean campaign for the upcoming election. Note : reasonable response
                        (1) Bunting:"In this regard, I'm calling on the JLP to cease placing their sound vehicles blaring political music in front of the office of the Member of Parliament.” Note: That can be considered to be provocation and if Walker want peace why would he allow his supporters to resort to that tactic. This act must be addressed by Mr. Walker if not the police.
                        Note: What we are seeing now is from the hand book of how to win election by intimidation and violence. (1): Damage to the bill boards: could be act of those who does not welcome the oversize bill board in the constituency. (2) Agitators who want to stir up upheaval (3) PNP or even JLP supporters to blame the other side a kind of Psychological warfare. Note: It would it be a good sign if both men meet and together ask their supporters to conduct themselves in ways that is expect and not to resort into act that will result In violence.
                        (2) The Police must call on Bunting and Walker (especially) to tone down their inflammatory rhetoric and refrain from acts such as the blaring of music in front of the opponent office. As it stands now Central Manchester it not looking pretty. It is funny that as Manchester burns these outsiders will pack their bags a leave until the next election cycle.

Flag
                        25 people liked this. Like ReplyReply

• Jawatchdog 6 hours ago

Now you tell me why dose he have a sign as big as Jamaica with is name on it? In a civilised country you don't see that kind of thing, so why people why? take it down!.

Flag
                        15 people liked this. Like ReplyReply

• noshel 4 hours ago

Its a shame that we still have to have such ignorance in political campaign in Jamaica. we need to grow up , and the voters should use the ballot box to express their displeasure at any one they feel don't deserve their support, not violence or intimidation!.

Flag
                        7 people liked this. Like ReplyReply

• James_Campbell 6 minutes ago

Well lets look at the facts. Mr Walker, has been in the news now a long time. Director of Election, people said many things of him which I won't repeat. The JLp won and he went to be Commissioner of Customs. People said things about that too which I won't repeat. Then the scrap metal issue, people tongues are now wagging, which i won,t repeat. He is now being investigated by the Contractor General. Mr Walker you are what some people say a headliner. Now you want to run for Member of Parliament. With the investigation going on how comes the media is not in Manchester interviewing the constituents. I would like to know what they are thinking. Do they have a voice.As usual Mr Holness just sits and watch. Is this another Bruce Golding. Mr Holness be warned headliners such as these people can be bad for you and the party. Mr Holness do you really have control or are you just another figure head. Beware !! Your name is already in history only you can make your own headline.

Flag
                        Like ReplyReply

• Guest 1 hour ago

Ok, I'm not green nor orange. I want JAMAICA to win. But who is sober, decent and making sense here? Peter Bunting, or Danville Walker?

interesting how you have meandered from the main theme... the victim now becomes the target.. kinda like attacking the 'virtue' of a rape victim.. why she was wearing a short skirt... etc...

Dirty tactics !

mi si dem and KNOW dem...

Who is a victim here, pray tell?? Give a $%#^@& chance. Nobody was raped here. There are no facts to discuss except that a vulgar billboard was damged and accusations start to fly. It is an OPPORTUNITY for discussion of how Jamaicans campaign, the dirty politics, campaign funding etc. It doesn't matter who the players are.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Who is a victim here, pray tell?? Give a $%#^@& chance. Nobody was raped here. There are no facts to discuss except that a vulgar billboard was damged and accusations start to fly. It is an OPPORTUNITY for discussion of how Jamaicans campaign, the dirty politics, campaign funding etc. It doesn't matter who the players are.
                            Exile ... stop. What is vulgar about the billboard? Because its green? As an environmentalist you should be wanting to see Jamaica go green. The way you ppl twist things is amusing.

you people? exile? naw sah, couldn't be!

Why not? Last night when I saw the post I thought he was joking ... mbut its obvious he is serious. What is vulgar about the billboard?