Classism in JLP Portia attack reprises GOP racial coding

• Classism in JLP Portia attack reprises GOP racial coding

It is one thing to say Portia is inadequate as a leader or is an old line tribalist who should retire asap (opinions I agree with) ...but quite another to demean the woman with class-based attacks on her supposed "low class" behaviour or speech.

As usual many JLP elements (ie the backward latte-sippin' cohort) are quite comfortable with this type of class prejudice.... and as usual if they over-reach with it... it will come back to bite them in the ass at the polls....since most Jamaicans have a similar background to Portia's and some will take offense.

They just don't get it....similar to the DayWalker with his "Black Scandal Bag" idiocy

US Right Wing racial code words used to undermine Blacks.. including Obama:

Arrogant (uppity)
    Mainstream
    Middle America
    Well spoken (a reverse insult)
    American as apple pie
    Guy/Girl next door
    Those/These people

Those are pretty tame in comparison with the words and imagery (see Clovis) used by JLP elements to attack Portia Simpson:

Leggo Beast
    Virago
    Dancehall/Ghetto Queen
    Doesn't speak properly

Regardless of whether people are fans of hers or not (I am clearly not) this type of class prejudice should be exposed and the perpetrators held accountable....perhaps they will be at the polls.

After political tribalism, it is the Brown Man Time Class System that is the greatest impediment to Jamaica's development...so the argument against that class nonsense is way beyond personal pique.

Selah

LOL .... another pathetic attempt to try and make Portia out to be like Obama.

Let me get some popcorn and watch the poppyshow pantomime.

LOL .... another pathetic attempt to try and make Portia out to be like Obama.

Let me get some popcorn and watch the poppyshow pantomime.
      If that's what you got from what I wrote you are an unrepentant ignoramus...with little possibility for remediation

Yes..I know...yuh back broad an yuh juss keeping it real

True and to add insult to injury it's being done in the info age. Dem tink peeple cyaan log on an know tings. Is who dem ah try fool say dem ah smaddy?

LOL whoeee. no unnuh stop.

If that's what you got from what I wrote you are an unrepentant fool...with little possibility for remediation

... if yuh sey suh .... but then a PNP lackey wanting to elevate a Portia as PM is inn no position to call anyone a fool.

Leggo Beast is a class distinction ?

wuss ah di majority dat ?

say it ain't so !

Yuh on to something because the feds say an idividual could be a "leggo beast" in the criminal under world.

Sinting can go so Ben?

Which other female politician is called that publicly...by no less than a minister?

Word usage & class impact is all about context

Yes mi seh suh...yuh ah one real goon...strait

if di cap fit...

at least dem nuh call her one whore..

lol !

Dem all a call SHW whore now, or yuh figget.

Who else in either the PNP pr JLP jump up and down pon stage suh? And if they do, they will get the leggo beast tikle. Just like Holness get the loader man tikle. Shyte talk is part of this game.

Quite frankly, none of that is important. Courage, determination, dedication, intelligence, wisdom and vision is what we should care about.

Mi nah go lose offa nuh lazy politician again. Portia is lazy and fraid ah uptown, like she put SOCIETY pon a pedestal. I dont get the feeling she has a vision and a plan, she just like the accolades. Still, even that she cant handle as she bristles against criticism and that is part and parcel..

Missing the point.

I haven't seen any politician calling Hay-Webster a whore..have you? If they do it's not based on her social status..but whatever else people want to focus on.

All of this is contextual...the context and nature of the descriptor determines the meaning...a white guy calling a Black man a nigg@ is radically different from a Black person doing the same..

It's obvious that sections of Jamaica have a problem with PSM's class background... and the JLP with their obvious political interest is the focal point of that class driven attack...Clovis is also clear with that mission.

What you are doing is justifying that virulent class prejudice by saying in effect.."ah nuh nutten" ...that's wrong.

Given the overwhelmingly negative impact of the Brown Man Time Class System on Jamaica no way should this issue be minimized and swept under the rug... unless you don't see this tremendously negative impact I speak of.

Class prejudice to Jamaica is what racial prejudice is to the USA...something to be exposed and curbed...not apologized for or minimized

Don't get your panties in a bunch...if Portia wants to bring the gutter to Vale Royal she will do so with a fight...