JFJ joins calls for government to repeal sodomy law

• JFJ joins calls for government to repeal sodomy law

Another group is calling for the government to repeal the country's sodomy law.
    At a press conference on Friday morning, local human rights lobby group, Jamaicans for Justice (JFJ) made public the findings of a United Nations Human Rights Committee.
    In the report, the committee made several recommendations for Jamaica on its implementation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.
    The Committee says the country's current buggery law criminalises sexual acts between consenting adults of the same sex.
    It now wants this to be decriminalised with urgency.
    Meanwhile, the committee lamented the number of extra-judicial killings by the police.
    The committee recommends that the state take action to ensure that the perpetrators are brought to justice.
    Jamaicans for Justice says it has one year to report to the committee on the actions taken by the government to implement these measures.

What is a "Human Right"? You do not have the right to do anything you please with your body. If I want to pay a woman to have sex with me it is illegal...if I want to put ganja smoke in my body it is illegal...

lol..

any argument yuh can bring dem si ahready.. and the Highest Courts in di Land in our former (and current) owners have voted.. di Republican Right and di Christian Wing fight dat bakkle and lose innah Babylon.. yuh more dan dem ?

bettah yuh juss seh boom bye bye and dun... there is no basis in reason for you 'arguments'.. this is 2011... from the 18th Century di foundation lay.. "We hold these truths to be self-evident..."

Wow. Bricktop we await your volley. Nice smokescreen Ben.

What argument? I made a factual statement. Human rights do not mean you have the right to do anything you would like with your body. What Boom Bye Bye haffi do with this? It is not a gay issue

Dem really nuh ave nuttin fo do, before dem tek up di OCG call of more powers,certain constitutional,political change fi represent poor people human rights ....dem tek up dat ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Very good point. But my view is that prostitution should be legal. There is no victim so why is it illegal?

Hard drug use is a bit different as there are often consequences that affect other people. Nonetheless ganja use should be legal with limitations.
              Last edited by Islandman; November 4, 2011, 04:15 PM.

a which member of the FORUM this(pan d stage)?

Right!!

si di bredda on di extreme left tek time a raise him finga an' a watch ef any a 'im bredrin dem a look ......

A hope not

Irony is di slave mastah dem introduce homophobia tuh di slave dem..

Slave dem get 'big' now and tink seh dem have more 'morals'.. not realizing they are just perpetually behind.. (white man use di colonies dem as an outlet fi dem phobias, introduct law dem coulda nevah pass innah dem owna land)

lol !.. what a comedy..

Ignorance is a terrible thing...

BIG MAN TALK :Ghana’s President Mills Says Nation Will Never Legalize Homosexuality

You may also like-

Ghana Member of Parliament Blames Tourism For Homosexuality In That Nation
                          Right now, it is a race to the bottom of the barrel between Ghana and Kenya with regards to human rights, specifically the rights ...
                          Close
                          Written by: Bridgette P. LaVictoire on November 2, 2011.

President of Ghana John Atta Mills stated that his government would never legalize homosexuality even as Prime Minister David Cameron of the United Kingdom has stated that he will push to cut the aid going into the nation. President Mills is pushing back against PM Cameron’s threat.

Homosexuality is illegal in 37 African countries, and gays are often the target of violent hate campaigns. Mills stated that Ghana is committed to upholding human rights as provided by the nation’s constitution but “I as president of this nation, will never initiate or support any attempts to legalise homosexuality in Ghana.” Ghana is seen as one of Africa’s most stable and successful democracies.

With regards to the push to further criminalize homosexuality in Africa, often in brutal ways, Britain has warned that it will review aid to any nations that persecute homosexuals. Britain has already suspended some £19m in aid to Malawi because of their treatment of gays, and the warning was sounded by Cameron about Ghana and Uganda’s intention to further criminalize homosexuality.

Ghana, which is a former British colony, recieves some £90m a year from Britain’s development agency DFID. Mills stated that “Britain made these statements that reflect [its] societal norms and ideals but [it] does not have the right to direct other sovereign nations as to what they should do, especially where their societal norms and ideals are different from those which exist in Prime Minister Cameron’s society.”

This threat has come as Ghana’s minister for the Western region called, this past July, for the arrest of anyone found practicing gay sex following local media reports that there was an increase in homosexuality in the region.

Still, Mills understands that Ghana gets a lot of money from donors, but he refuses to take the money with strings attached. The thing is, it is up to Britain to decide if they can afford to give that money. Either it is time to play nice or to give up the money.

Via InDepthAfrica

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LOL, me did miss dat.

"We hold these truths to be self-evident.."

Greatest nation the world has seen.. foundation propah !