• The last 'decent' JLP Prime Minister?

'Forgotten' former prime minister remembered

Published: Thursday | November 3, 2011 1 Comment

THE BIOGRAPHY of former prime minister of Jamaica Sir Donald Sangster, authored by former press secretary Hartley Neita, is to be launched soon.
    Sangster, Jamaica's second prime minister, would have been 100 years old on October 26.
    Neita, tells why Sangster is perhaps the least well-known prime minister. In doing so, he paints the true picture of a man of stature and integrity who served his country and the Commonwealth with distinction, earning the respect and admiration of all during his lifetime.
    In The Forgotten Prime Minister: Donald Sangster, Neita chronicled Sangster's early character-shaping years, through his sojourn in public life to acting prime minister, and then his brief period at the helm, noting how he quietly carried out his role as leader of government business in statesman-like fashion and without fanfare. He got the job done.
    "As we approach Jamaica's 50th Independence celebrations, Sir Donald must be recognised as one who has contributed tremendously in the shaping of our new nation," said Michelle Neita, editor of the book. "This is a story that must be told for future generations, a story of a man whose light shone brightly, was snuffed out quickly, yet left a shining legacy."
    The biography is being published posthumously by MinnaPress, with cover design by Michelle Welsh.
    For more information on the book's launch date, please contact Michelle Neita at michelleneita@gmail.com or visit www.hartleyneitabooks.com.

Or last "decent" PM?

..because he died b4 the PNP could demonize him.

You should know when to leave certain things alone. His actual cause of death is still shrouded in mystery especially amongst members of your party. At least he didn't meet an untimely demise via sleepwalking. He wouldn't have been demonized by the PNP if for no other reason there were enough demons within the JLP who couldnt deal with his ascension.
        Next time you see the JLP politician who never fails to come and TV and say he was demonized ask him bout it.

ahh.. the good old days.. before Joshua lead us into the gutter..

Haitian poison dem sey...cause brain hemorragggggggggge

I believe he went to a good school.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                ... he quietly carried out his role as leader of government business in statesman-like fashion and without fanfare. He got the job done.
                Reminds me of the current Director of Elections, Orrette Fisher. Contrast with his predecessor.

Oh, Mr. Fisher also went to a good school.

LOL... yuh brain addled fi reel

His old consituency North Central Clarendon is in a mess, despite having a Minister of Government...

Kiss Bunting goodbye...

are you better now ?

Huh? Please explain.

LoL

Yuh neva like Shearer?

Comment on the Sleep Walking and "His actual cause of death is still shrouded in mystery especially amongst members of your party"?

Don't hide behind the ". before Joshua lead us into the gutter.." I dare you.