• Danville offered expert advice, says ECJ

Danville offered expert advice, says ECJ
    Thursday, November 03, 2011

THE Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ) has responded to concerns that director of Customs and prospective Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) candidate for Central Manchester, Danville Walker was engaged in discussions with the commission on electoral matters, prior to him announcing his intention to enter representational politics.

Since news broke last week that Walker was being courted by the JLP, there have been concerns that he was providing advice to the ECJ.

WALKER… likely to represent ruling JLP in Central Manchester
    1/1

In a release issued yesterday, the commission explained that Walker, a former director of elections was invited to a meeting with the selected commissioners to examine the possibility of holding both the general elections and the local government elections on the same day.

"Mr Walker is recognised as a leading expert on electoral matters in the Commonwealth and the Caribbean and has advised Electoral Commissions in countries where multiple elections are held on the same day," the ECJ's release said.

The commission said it had no idea that Walker had an interest in representational politics.

Said the ECJ: "It is not unusual for the selected commissioners to seek the opinions and views of persons of known and unknown political allegiance within society who have proven expertise and solid experience that could be of assistance in their deliberations on particular issues. Be it noted that at the time of this meeting the selected commissioners were not aware that Mr Walker was being considered to be the candidate for the Jamaica Labour Party in the Central Manchester constituency and only learned of this at the commission's meeting on October 26, 2011."

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1cfLdLyS3

nuhbody nuh have no principle again?!?

.... no wonder we get the bottom of the barrel like Portia as the leader of a political party. As anyone who has a record of being effective comes forward ... the knives come out.

A party was caught taking bribes and unuh a talk bout principle? WTF?

i dont see the conflict here.. so what... how does that give him an unfair advantage.

fodder

are members/workers of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ) allowed to vote?

You don't see the conflict? If Danville was considering representing the JLP at the time, do you think his advice to the ECJ could have been tainted?!? Think about it for a brief second, OJ.

...Walker, a former director of elections was invited to a meeting with the selected commissioners to examine the possibility of holding both the general elections and the local government elections on the same day.
              Do you see possible conflict? I see corruption!

i dont understand so please tell me what harm is done.

Yuh saw my post above?

dem call it SHORT-sightedness...

LOL