MO Holness father is a PNP & Munro man
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
PM's dad: I've never voted JLP, but now...
Morris Holness says Michael Manley was ‘a great guy’
BY GARFIELD MYERS Editor-at-Large South/Central Bureau myersg@jamaicaobserver.com
Sunday, October 30, 2011
SANTA CRUZ, St Elizabeth — He is the prime minister's father, but Morris Holness has no difficulties whatsoever discussing his own political leanings or the fact that he has never ever voted for his son's party, the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).
In fact, Michael Manley, the now late iconic leader of the People's National Party (PNP) in the 1970s, was greatly admired by the elder Holness, which is how his son Andrew Michael Holness — born in 1972 the year Manley came to political power with the message 'Better must come' — got his middle name.
Morris Holness, father of Prime Minister Andrew Holness, on his farm in St Elizabeth with his dogs. The elder Holness says animals gravitate toward him. (Photo: Gregory Bennett)
The elder Holness says that on every occasion in the past when he has voted he has put his X beside the PNP's Head, apart from those occasions including 2007 "when I don't vote because I don't like how PNP getting on..."
But with parliamentary elections now in the air with his son as prime minister and at the helm of JLP, Morris Holness says he is getting ready to support his boy "100 per cent", though he insists that he is "not a Labourite, not a PNP either..."
Holness, who describes his own political philosophy as that of a Christian Social Democrat, says he will vote in support of his son because he is confident the 39-year-old will lead Jamaica in the right direction.
Morris Holness says that in principle he is supportive of "any party that I see is moving in the direction of caring about the people, narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor. People must be fed, people must have work, people must have good health care...
'It can't be about a few people up the top calling themselves the government, it is government by the people, of the people, and this is what I am looking forward to now," he said.
"There should be participation of the people in the government, not a few people making decisions on behalf of the people. Listen to what the people have to say, get them to move with you, unite the people and this is the only way we can go forward as a nation, no party business, but unite the people and I personally believe Andrew is in a position to do this job," says Holness.
He candidly recalls how he first became supportive of democratic socialism which Manley — whom he describes as "a great guy, great man" -- fervently advocated in the 1970s.
Holness says that he actually became a convert to democratic socialism in the late 1960s, long before Manley publicly embraced the philosophy with much fanfare in 1974.
He remembers that the "bauxite company" requested of his school Munro for a student who specialised in agriculture to oversee the company's dairy farm at Pepper. Munro did not, at the time, offer a formal programme in agricultural science, but the young Morris Holness had completed such a stint a few years earlier at Clarendon College. He was recommended and accepted by the bauxite company.
"I had to supervise workers there and we worked so hard with the little bit of pay... I started to watch the system from that time. I had a book on the 'isms' and I read up and I went through and came up on democratic socialism and read through it, compared it with areas in the Bible and said this system should serve the people better...," he says.
He regrets that Manley's democratic socialism did not work because of what he felt was the strong "freeness mentality" among the Jamaican people and the reality that the "system was not favoured by our powerful neighbours..."
"The system was under pressure all along," he says.
Born April 30, 1946, Morris Odean Delano Holness, the son of a farmer and a teacher, grew up in the South East St Elizabeth community of Myersville before moving a couple of miles north to Goshen because of bauxite mining operations.
His high school education came at Clarendon College and Munro College before moving on to the University of the West Indies St Augustine campus in Trinidad & Tobago where he studied Agricultural Science. Holness says he was unable to complete the course because of ill-health and returned home after two years.
He would return to university subsequently, but switched from the natural sciences to the social sciences, eventually completing a degree in Management Studies.
He laughingly says the degree has never been properly utilised by him since he was never able to tear himself away from agriculture and farming, which he has loved since childhood.
"I always knew I would be a farmer, my father was a farmer," he says.
It was while managing a farm in St Catherine belonging to the former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ripton Macpherson, that he first met and developed a romantic relationship with Andrew's mother, Sonia Harvey.
"She was my first real girlfriend," says a smiling Holness. "We were to have got married but it didn't come through in the end (but) we always get on well, mi good friend, we get on well...," he adds.
He credits Harvey for the work she did in raising their son. "I did my best, but his mother did most because he lived with her, she was the one," he says.
Much of his input came during the holidays when Andrew would come to St Elizabeth to spend time.
Morris Holness says his son showed an affinity for the hard work on 25 acres of farm lands at Goshen and Pepper.
The farm included livestock — cattle, goats, pigs and poultry — as well as mixed crops such as pumpkins, corn, cassava, scotch bonnet peppers and sorrel for Christmas.
The elder Holness recalls that his son "didn't do well with the pigs... not everyone can manage pigs" so he assigned him to other tasks, including crop spraying.
He also found that the boy was "good with his hands" so he assigned him to tasks such as carpentry to repair farm buildings.
A soft-spoken man with a sense of humour, Holness, a divorcee with six children, strikes a consistent note of moderation.
He is a "strong believer in God" but "not much of a church man" though he "walks" with the church in his "heart".
He enjoys "a drink now and again", though not as much as he used to because of a stomach ailment.
Long ago, he says, he discovered the medicinal qualities of Jamaican rum. Sick with flu and in danger of not being able to complete his exams, the school nurse provided a dosage of "the devil's soup" mixed with syrup.
That experience had taught him to "always keep a bottle of white rum handy because it's medicine".
Asked about his tail-wagging dogs which constantly swarm around him licking at his hands, Holness attributes it to his proximity to nature.
"I am a nature person, all living things — plants and animals — I seem to have a knack with," he explains.
"Animals gravitate to me, somebody else's dog will get sick and walk into my yard for assistance. I have seen it over and over and that is the way it has been for a long time. I am a nature person. I have a management degree but I haven't used it, I have stayed on the farm, number one I am claustrophobic, so I can't stay lock up in a building for a whole day, I stay out on the farm," he says.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1cH26zGhsTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Andrew was always headed for great things, says father
BY GARFIELD MYERS Editor-at-Large South/Central Bureau myersg@jamaicaobserver.com
Sunday, October 30, 2011
SANTA CRUZ, St Elizabeth — If 20 years ago you had asked Morris Holness which profession he thought his son Andrew would choose, he probably would have said law.
"One can never tell for sure about these things for God has a plan for all of us, but he was such a talker and with such a sharp mind that I would have predicted law," Holness told the Sunday Observer on Friday.
Morris Holness (5th left) with members of the Holness family, including Andrew’s mom Carol Harvey Richards (left) and sister Sydjea Anderson (2nd left) at the young prime minister’s swearing-in ceremony at King’s House on October 23.
Now that his 39-year-old son is Jamaica's ninth prime minister, Morris Holness said he may not have correctly read all the signs but he always knew Andrew Michael Holness was headed for great things.
Flanked by a few of his numerous dogs on the verandah of his home in Goshen, four miles east of Santa Cruz, Holness, a 65-year-old farmer with a Bachelor's degree in Management, told several anecdotes, which he claimed captured the "trends" and signalled the path his boy would take.
To begin with, said the senior Holness, Andrew, his first child, was always his own man, highly protective of his identity.
"I remember once when I went to look for him in St Catherine where he lived with his mother... he was about two years of age," said a reflective Holness.
"I drove into the yard, he came on to the verandah and was looking at me. I said 'who are you?' and I was expecting him to say something like 'I am your son', but instead he said "mi self is mi self', I never forgot what he said to me that day.
"It kinda cut me down to size at the time, but until now that's him. He has his own identity, so he is not anybody else but Andrew, he will pick the best from anybody else but 'mi self is mi self, that's him'," said a chuckling Holness.
He claimed his son — who spent most holidays with him — was always a "positive person" with a calm spirit. He told of an occasion in the late 1970s, when the child was six or seven years old, to underline Andrew's "positivity".
It was a time of great political turbulence as the Cold War division in the wider world manifested itself in Jamaica through the struggle between the left-leaning ruling People's National Party (PNP) and the then Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) to the right.
Such was the level of tension that businesses, including gas stations, were closing their doors by dusk right across the country.
Morris Holness, who was taking his son to spend time with him in Goshen, had made the mistake of not "topping up" enough on gasoline. He found the gas stations closed as he headed back home.
As he climbed Melrose Hill in Manchester, Holness started to worry as the gas gauge dipped towards E (empty). "I said 'Andrew bwoy, it look like we might not even make it home', and he said 'Daddy, we'll make it, don't worry about it, we'll make it...'"
"That, for me, told the story of the positivity of the young man... we'll make it," said Holness.
As the boy grew, the elder Holness found him to be exceptionally careful and thoughtful about the consequences of his actions. Morris Holness recalled how he had assigned his son the job of spraying pumpkins on the farm.
"I had to leave him, so I told him: 'when you are finished, hide the spray pump', ... when I looked I saw him coming with the spray pump on his back. I said 'why you didn't do as I said?' and he said 'I am not leaving the spray pump Daddy, the pump is safer here, I will carry the pump', so you could pick up the traits very early — careful, positive and always with his own identity," said Holness.
Just as important, he said, his son was a "seeker after knowledge" always yearning for education and an achiever.
"As he comes to the house... he grabs a book, he is a seeker of knowledge, if you want to hide anything from him don't put in a book, he will find it," he said.
Holness told another anecdote of how his son had met a slight bump, having been unsuccessful in an 'A' level subject.
"He was sick and he came down to look for me, he was a slim guy and when he came down he was 'mawga', worrying," said Holness with a chuckle.
"I said, 'man, give the books a rest, relax'!! ... many years later after he finished university and was working he told me he had something against me because I had told him to leave off the books. I said 'no man, that wasn't the case (but) you can't kill yourself in the process of seeking an education, take a rest and come again," said Holness.
"But that tells you that he was always focused on getting an education, which is manifesting itself right now," he added.
The senior Holness claimed his son's calm spirit and ability to absorb criticism without rancour make him ideal for politics.
"He has never exchanged a hard word with me, very thick-skinned... criticisms will just roll off him like water on a well-polished car, very thick-skinned," he said.
However, "I have pointed out to him that where he is heading thick skin alone won't do it; he will need to put on the Armour of God, but I am not worried (because) I said it to him... I said I don't know, even remember, where in the Bible that is: and he said 'Daddy, it is in Ephesians', so he knew it... so I am sure he has it (God's armour) on now.
"I tell him to pray, whatever occasion you going out on, pray before, sometime I see him in a difficult position and I call him, he is trying to explain to me why he is taking this action and I said 'I don't agree with you, but I am sure you have prayed' and he said 'yes Daddy, I have prayed'. He knows he is not going by himself; he believes in the guidance of God almighty..."
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1cH2JxIV2THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Yuh know mi affi draw yuh out..lolTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
suh im an Duke ah fambily?
Suh yuh ave Prince Andrew now...
Look lika Royalty ah dweetTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE