Casino for grand Palladium at Point, Lucea.

• Casino for grand Palladium at Point, Lucea.

Grand Palladium gets casino nod - Groundbreaking next year

Published: Sunday | October 30, 2011 0 Comments

Hotel manager Dimitri Kosvogiannis (centre) having a good time with models from Harmony Models Management who were among the party guests at the Bleu party during Heroes' weekend celebrations. From left: Regina Harding, Jamela Geddes, Ava Campbell, Vanessa Evans, Renee Parchment and Roxanne Lewis.- Contributed

STILL BASKING in its exciting Bleu party [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]weekend[/COLOR][/COLOR] recently, the fabulous four-star Grand [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Palladium[/COLOR][/COLOR] Suites & Spa Hotel and its sister [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]resort[/COLOR][/COLOR] Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton, located at Point in Lucea, is set to break ground for the island's biggest casino - Las Vegas style, according to hotel manager Dimitri Kosvogiannis."Plans are well in advance for this full-scale casino right here on property. I am presently in discussion with a major US entity to partner with us in this venture," Kosvogiannis told The Sunday Gleaner.
    Ground will be broken early next year, revealed the hotel's general manager, who is also presently in negotiations with Denis Lalor, chairman of the Betting Gaming and Lotteries Commission, Dr Christopher Tufton, minister of industry, investment and commerce, and JAMPRO.
    In 2010, following a legislative process, the Casino legislation was passed in Parliament and Edmund Bartlett, minister of tourism, indicated that the Government was expected to award the first casino licence that year, and that construction on Jamaica's first casino was expected to commence by that yearend as well.
    first licence
    Plans seem to be well advanced for The Fiesta Group of Hotels to be awarded the first licence.
    Casino gambling in [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] remains a divided issue. A Don Anderson poll in 2010 on gambling found that Jamaicans are sharply divided on this controversial issue, with the majority of persons surveyed not in favour of it.
    However, Kosvogiannis cites many benefits of this venture, both for the local economy and for the hotel.
    The idea to set up a full-fledged casino is in keeping with the Fiesta Group of Hotels' philosophy of diversifying its product offerings.
    "At Grand Palladium, you have the choice to disconnect, mingle, party, stay on the quiet side or simply do nothing.
    "Also, think about the many more persons we will be hiring as we diversify and expand?" he added.
    Fitzroy Lyons, head chef at the resort, has his hands full almost all year round as the hotel enjoys exceptional occupancy levels.
    "Right now, the hotel is enjoying one hundred per cent occupancy" and about 70 per cent are local guests, he said commenting on the hotel's just-concluded special weekend rates for Jamaicans.
    "I am leaving now, but wish I could stay, but I have to go to work," said Marva Robinson while checking out.
    She is among the hundreds of guests who partied for an entire weekend at what was dubbed "the first hotel party" by Bleu party organiser Phillip Palmer.
    "It was awesome. Next year, it will be bigger and better," he said.
    The all-inclusive Grand Palladium Suites boasts 444 air-conditioned guestrooms, and features private [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]beaches[/COLOR][/COLOR], 11 restaurants, a swim-up bar, a poolside bar, and a host of recreational amenities.
    Commenting on the size of the sprawling hotel, the biggest in Jamaica, the general manager said it is all part of Fiesta's going large philosophy.
    "It boils down to economics and tradition. A property this size can easily reap economies of scale, the operational cost is less than a hotel half this size so the return on investment is exponential. Traditionally, the Fiesta Group builds big resorts," the GM said, adding that Grand Palladium Suites & Spa Hotel Jamaica is doing very well.
    "Jamaica is a primary destination in the Caribbean. It provides the airlift, infrastructure and it is English-speaking," said Kosvogiannis.

I hear they have open a Job Skill training bank in Lucea. The people of Lucea realise that they have to prepare themselves to get some job.

Did you hear anything about this? What government or none profit help are they seeking?

I read it yesterday, while I was there, I never heard a peeps, but I know one of the playa. One would think that the Reporter would ask for more details, such as where to register, Mentors, where are these jobs coming from...

As you said more question need to be asked but people of Lucea are uniquely placed between Mobay and Negril to take advantage of any job prospect in those neighbourhoods.

The Parish Council is a big stumbling block to Lucea people.

BTW What is a town Planers job?

wow... i was there just two weeks ago... spoke to many people there and never heard nything about this casino... all i heard was they were going to add more rooms on another side that was to be more upscale and which would bring it to approx 1050...

"Right now, the hotel is enjoying one hundred per cent occupancy" and about 70 per cent are local guests, he said commenting on the hotel's just-concluded special weekend rates for Jamaicans.

i have a hard time believing that... what i saw was 95% tourists... the guest relations staff told me only a few locals came there because it was too expensive... it was about $30 us for a day pass and that did not include room...

beautiful hotel though... and the staff were excellent and well trained... from what i heard they got paid very little $50 to $75 us per week...

Them fix it up? When I was there a year ago it was amazing to see the amount of cracks in the structure for a new hotel.

This Casino has been on the card for at least 6 months when they said they were going to add rooms to get a license.

"cracks in the structure" The construction workers were not certified, not even rated as an apprentice.

I heard that the hotel does not want Cruise shipping to take place at the harbor, I heard it's in the contract, I just can't see how that would affect them, Ochi and Mo Bay have cruise shipping.

"Jamaica is a primary destination in the Caribbean. It provides the airlift, infrastructure and it is English-speaking," said Kosvogiannis.
                    Gwaan Bartlett!!

Tenk yuh fi dat

didnt notice any 'cracks' of significance, not that i was looking for them... what was noticable was the service and attitude of the staff... 12 of us went and we had one complaint... i even heard a foreigner shared the same complaint... there wasn't a wide enough variety of jamaican food... people come to jamaica and EXPECT to get jamaican food...

Trust me, a year ago the main Lobby was leaking, one of the column was wasn't straight. Some of the tiles from the main lobby go all the way down to the Thearte had some one inch deep holes in them. A worker told me they had to redo the main swimming pool as the bottom wasn't done properly. These were just a few of the things I noticed. There was water coming in some of the rooms when it rained as well.

They must have fixed them.

The thing with that hotels is that it is a chain brand and I guess they keep their food similar in most location. There was however a nice Jamaican resturant on the top floor and a Jerk spot down on the beach.

The staff for me was good for most part, but the children staff were kids and not very well trained and entertainment could have been a little more diversified.

Bartlett?!? Ok, if yuh seh suh!

i think they fixed most of those structural issues... the jamaican restaurant up top is still good... the jamaican food is not authentic jamaican food... the wait staff was apologizing to my party before we even ate but it was still good...

yes, the kids entertainment could be improved from what i heard... one disappointment with the entertainment... heard a complaint and i had to agree... the show could do without the sexual suggestions... there were kids at the nightly shows and it made for some awkward moments...

"the jamaican food is not authentic jamaican food." What is that?

Authentic cooking, is that done with 3 stones and wood fire?