Link between Phychosis and marijuana and alchol use

You seem to be blinded by some facts , you visited , i work in , if you watched the documentary it clearly states that these youths are given the option of jail or treatment centers , which one do you think their parents will opt into ?

2) Did you see the financial cost associated with housing them ?

3)Ganja in its purest form cannot be compared with a laced drug /ganja/coke/heroin or whatever.

4)In all this history of ganja why is it that since it has been declared illegal, we have this slowly building history of psychosis and laziness that it has never been associated with ?

Institutionalising individuals doesnt mean that you are solving a problem.

The irony is you would dismiss my personal accounts with a weed head MD but your personal observation of kids who have an option of jail over so called treament should be looked at as a fact, when learned professionals (mayor of vancouver, police chief, mds etc ) has dismissed it as business.

Watch the documentary and ask what does a mayor, police chief and Mds have to gain by being on your oppositie side?
    Last edited by Sir X; October 28, 2011, 10:14 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

One more for you O.J from the Police Chief ,Mayor,Professors & Md etc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqTgs...eature=related

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"Penalties against drug use should not be more damaging to an individual than the use of the drug itself. Nowhere is this more clear than in the laws against the possession of marijuana in private for personal use."

Could it be a mix with other drugs or chemicals? Maybe a synergistic effect?

Thats why I said ganja in its purest form not mixed or season with ..coke herion , tobacco etc .Is harmless when compared to the others.

That said the option of kids to be criminally institutionalised and mentally institutionalised is the leading cause of this misperception of ganja making one a criminal and insane.

The studies have conclusive concluded it doesnt lead to criminal behaviour , the studies on mental health are mostly in the affirmative that it has no psychological damaging mental affects, withdrawls etc , it is an hallucegenic.It does not lead to psychosis.hallucination is a symptom of psychosis not the disease itself.Those in the mental health field that say its causes mental health illness have concluded its inconslusive , again after how many years of study ?

Kissteeth

"Penalties against possession of a drug should not be more damaging to an individual than the use of the drug itself; and where they are, they should be changed. Nowhere is this more clear than in the laws against possession of marihuana in private for personal use... Therefore, I support legislation amending Federal law to eliminate all Federal criminal penalties for the possession of up to one ounce of marihuana."
            - Jimmy Carter, U.S. President quote on Marijuana

Unto Reagan where he said I quote "it is the most dangerous drug " launching his war on drugs which as you now is a multibillion dollar industry byitself , hooray for the military and the pharmaceticulas and prison system.
            Last edited by Sir X; October 29, 2011, 11:30 AM.

You know Xile I am here thinking about Vbyz and his J$500 ganja charge ,which came out to a $5.88 us to institutionalise this youth.I am thinkig of the cost on this Jamaican war on drugs.
              [COLOR="Blue"]

]

Arrest the man $
              Lock him up in a Jail cell X days $
              Feed this man while in custudy$
              Bring him to court transportation $
              His lawyer Fees if he used a public defender$
              Prosecution lawyer fees $

Fine the man $6 us dollars?

A waste of precious resource that could be used in education and health care.

How many entertainers have a documented case of going crazy/addiction because of alleged ganja use ?

How many entertainers have documented case of going crazy because of proven ganja use ?

How many entertainers have documented cases of going crazy/addiction over alleged hard drug abuse and that includes alcohol.

How many entertainers have documented cases of going crazy/addiction over proven hard drug abuse and that includes alcohol.

Jamaica has more documentaed cases of hard drugs desytroying our entertainers(athletes to singers ) than ganja.

Now that is a link, and Jamaica has more cases of wasting precious resources over a drug that it cannot justify economically and socially for locking up these youths,Wi BRUK!

On the contray some of these entertainers will tell you they have stopped using ganja through no pressure and no withdrawl symptoms, dem just stop.
              Last edited by Sir X; October 29, 2011, 03:48 PM.

Thc is thc... thc is a trigger for psychosis in some people.... simple as that..

correct yourself ...trigger for psychotic symptoms....like alcohol abuse is, can lead to hallucegenic effects...doesnt mean that you will become psychotic ,that is the debate,inconclusive.
                  Last edited by Sir X; October 29, 2011, 07:58 PM.

Makes a lot of sense to me. Most of us growing up in JA knew the occasional persons who could not handle smoking herb and who start acting crazy when they used it.

Getting high on any substance on a regular basis is not a good road to take and there is an increased probability it will lead to big problems. Doesn't matter if its wine, weed, cough syrup or the harder ones.

x give up... I was hoping you would have taken this seriously.

I agree...Richard Branson had such a promising future...then he started smoking Ganja and look what became of him...

paul mccartney too ... his lowest ebb was marrying a one foot woman....

Because I dont subscribe to your point of view ,I am not serious.On the contray all what I am hearing are reasons that support my thesis.Ganja psychosis is down to genetics .

It is an herb with hallucegenic effects ,doesnt mean it leads to psychosis.

1) You gave personal account of seeing kids being institutionalised because of alleged hypersensitivity to ganja.Ask yourself the holistic question , if given the option of jail or drug treatment which one will you choose for your child ?

Being institutionalised in a jail does not mean you are guilty , the same with these treatment centers and mental institutions.

2)Besides personal anectodotes the paper you gave of reference is so weak ,I believe it supported my claim. out of 8 subjects , 2 had psychotic symptoms?

a)So what level THC was used , was it an average amount or excessive?

b)Were these subjects under any mental stressors before they conducted the study or any history of psychosis ?

c)Do these subjects have a familial history of psychosis ?

I say this in reference to my own personal interaction with ganja/drug users.

I know 1 person from school , that has a population of estimated 200 on my morning shift that ganja could have had an affect on , 1 .This youth came to class every morning with blood shot eyes from ganja , to make it to and from school was a struggle by 3 rd form he was out of school.I know of many more social users that finished school , and went onto to be learned professionals (police ,accountants,civil service workers etc).Most if not all have stopped smoking the weed and function quite well.

So where is the allergic reaction, the withdrwals etc .

Is the hallucegenic affect supposed to be the allergic reaction ? The indian and rasta man would tell you thats the affect it should have "mek yuh high""meditate"Talk wid dem fore fathers etc "

I know of two youths where hard drugsliterally took thier lives in high school in Jamaica, back then coke was an uptown drug hard to get for the poor masses comapred to the endemic herb.

That said , the documentary means nothing to you from learned College and governmental professionals with various interaction with ganja,its all down to an ignorant belief that it drives us crazy? and it is now addictive based on you seeing them locked up ?You dont look at the social holistic enviroment or genetic?

The science doesnt support your point of view, the propoganda does.

It is my theory Jamaicas psychosis is more enviromental where unemployment is the main link,I have been unemployed as a youth for an extended period of time where it led me to depression and feeling worthless, if I was a weed smoker , I suspect the ganja would have gotten the blame.

You say I am not serious ?Ganja is a convient scapegoat for our social ills.
                            Last edited by Sir X; October 31, 2011, 12:18 PM.

Agreed.

Thanks OJ. It is time we intensify the fight against marijuana usage worldwide in general, and Jamaica in particular. We have lost countless youths, and are still losing youths to this garbage drug(yes I did say that and its not a typo).