• No one else is tired of the LIES?!!?

DPP's Request In Hibbert Case Never Sent To UK
    Published: Friday | October 28, 20110 Comments

Llewellyn
    Livern Barrett, Gleaner Writer

Nearly four months after claiming Jamaica had asked law-enforcement officials in the United Kingdom (UK) for evidence that could bolster the corruption probe against parliamentarian Joseph Hibbert, Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Paula Llewellyn has now admitted that the request never left her office.

However, Llewellyn blamed police investigators for the delay, claiming that for months they have failed to provide her office with "certain things" needed to "lay the basis in law" to support the request that is expected to be made under the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty (MLAT).

"We have been trying to get certain things out of the police and we have a long line of correspondence ... . So the mutual legal assistance request cannot be completed because the outstanding materials have not been furnished by the police," she told The Gleaner.

"The people that you are requesting the information from demand certain things. If it's not up to scratch, you can't get it," added Llewellyn, who said she has requested a full report on the issue from the MLAT unit in her office.

Little info

Deputy Commissioner of Police Glenmore Hinds declined to comment when contacted, saying he did not have all the details about the case.

Several attempts to get a response from other police officials were unsuccessful.

In a Gleaner interview in July, Llewellyn said the MLAT request had been dispatched to UK authorities.

"It is a process, and certain things are being done, but that's all I am at liberty to say," Llewellyn said at the time, noting that MLAT matters were highly confidential.

Case on for two years

The investigation against Hibbert, the member of parliament for East Rural St Andrew and a former junior minister in the Ministry of Transport and Works, has dragged on for nearly two years.

The probe was triggered by allegations raised by UK-based bridge-building firm, Mabey & Johnson, that he accepted payments totalling £100,000 to help them win government contracts valued at millions of dollars.

For more than a year, local investigators have been trying to get important evidence gathered by UK authorities that was to be used in Mabey & Johnson's corruption trial.

Before the trial started in 2009, the firm pleaded guilty to bribing officials in several countries, including Jamaica, in order to win government contracts.

Following the guilty plea, Britain's Serious Fraud Office alleged that over an eight-year period, the firm paid out close to £100,000 "to buy the favours" of Hibbert - the chief technical director in the Ministry of Transport and Works at the time - to win several contracts, one of which was worth £14 million.

Hibbert has denied the allegations.

Last year the Jamaican police indicated that officials at Mabey & Johnson were cooperating with their probe and that several witnesses who gave evidence against the company were prepared to testify in Jamaica.

livern.barrett@gleanerjm.com

I guess she'll tender her resignation now....

Tek it to parliament demonstrate for an Independent OCG ,if yuh expect good people to do the right thing,leave it alone.

Xile to be replaced by another one /tribalist or termite.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why should she? Up to now Bruce has not resigned for the Dudus/Manatt mess!

I thought I couldn't be surprised but they did it.

I always had questions/doubts about her conduct. I have no confidence in the DPP given what I've seen over the last few years. Her run ins with the OCG and handling of the Janice Allen case made be a bit suspect..I hope she gets replaced after this blatant lie..But maybe not, she doesn't answer to anyone...wasn't that what she said after she was called to a meeting for review of her office.

For me, this is the last straw with this incompetent. She needs to pack her bags and go!

I have said many times that Jamaica truly needs an independent prosecutor that is not beholden to the party in power. Some US States have great examples of models that we should seek to emulate.

that is what INDECOM was trying to do and the DPP get bringle!!

They certainly have done a lot to investigate the tragic circumstances regarding the death of DJ Kentucky Kid.

He identifies his killers from the grave
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IME7xMtJ0_o

His killing is featured on Al Jazerra English
                    http://english.aljazeera.net/program...334575952.html

when we have the former prime blatantly lying to parliament and the people of jamaica, why should we be surprised with the lies and incompetence of the dpp... that woman should be asked to vacate her position... the question is, who in the jlp has the moral authority to make such a request when they are all tainted by their support of the former prime minister's corrupt conduct...

She is totally incompetent. This might not be her fault though, as she is probably well meaning. I think she just had mediocre training. I have always said that she needs to do a fellowship/externship in the US DOJ, or even with a local prosecutor in Miami, or New York.
                        Mediocrity in Jamaica is a national phenomenon.

and people want me to support Andy?!?

Dont't generalize. I am sure there are 20 competent people in Ja to do the same job.