My Unfortunate Slant, Gamma

Curious why historian would even choose that heading instead of "soul train's demise"! maybe it is a budget thing with soul train
    Gamma, I chose that headline simply because the decision to change the name from a name that included the word “reggae” to the more region-friendly “Best Caribbean Performance” did not seem to imply anything about Soul Train’s death (pardon the choice of metaphor here). What the move suggested to me was a need for Soul Train to maximize something (maybe audience), and so the organizers probably no longer saw reggae as being powerful enough to do so.

You have to realize, though, that reggae was NEVER popular in the USA to begin with. Also, to date, we have had less than ten Jamaican number one hits on Billboard’s Top Twenty charts from the 1960s until now. I once posted a complete list of Jamaican artists who had number one hits on Billboard’s chart.

My statement that reggae has never been very popular with African Americans is grounded in fact. Trust me, I know about the history of the music of my country! Caucasians in North America accepted reggae more than blacks did! Dancehall (with touches of hip-hop), in fact, has been MORE popular among African Americans than reggae has ever been! This is a fact, my friend.

exactly! So knowing that it was never popular with african americans that makes me scratch my head even more. How could a non factor become a factor by becoming more of a non factor?

Dont be so thin skinned and myopic ! THINK !

Does it mean I am going to dismiss it as not having relevance to some, or not point out its short comings to others.

Dancehall has serious issues that it has to deal with internally and externally.Its comfortable with its niche

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No Need To Scratch Your Head!

exactly! So knowing that it was never popular with african americans that makes me scratch my head even more. How could a non factor become a factor by becoming more of a non factor?
          Gamma, you miss the point. Although reggae was never widely accepted by African Americans for whatever reason, at least the name “Reggae” was included in the Soul Train Awards! In other words, despite the slight popularity of reggae in the USA when compared with Europe and Africa and even parts of Asia and Latin America, the name “reggae” was nevertheless included in those Soul Train awards.

Today, the word “reggae” has been removed and replaced by the words “Caribbean Performance.” There is no need to scratch your head, as my conclusion when I wrote the thread started was/is clearly a logical assumption!

At the risk of sounding illogical I will say that is is not "clearly a logical assumption". I agree though that it is clearly an assumption on your part.

a nuh dancehall have the issue, a Jamaica.

again another.

.. and the award goes to .... Vybz Kartel. Summertime is a much better tune than Delilah.

Yu a year late!

Also soul train itself is dying. Reggae isn't dying. Word is Justin Beaver is doing some reggae on his next album. Have to watch a lot of children show start and many of them have a reggae theme. This includes Authur, Nick Jr have a lot of reggae songs including Bob's "Three little birds" and others. The biggest Child musican Dan Zanes new Album is entitled "Little Nut Tree" as he redid the Jamaican classic.

I am saying this because a lot of young kids are growing up on Reggae in the States and UK and Reggae demise is far from truth.
                      Who is Justin Beaver?? A cartoon character like Smokey the Bear??

.. kartel got the award? didn't hear the result.