• music lovers

of

isaac hayes
    barry white
    curis mayfield
    and prince rogers-nelson

who do you rate as the best singer/songwriter/composer/producer and why?

also name your 3 favourite songs from your pick.

Damn gamma - that is hard. I love them all. Let me start with these 2 - random order

Barry White
    You're the First, Last, My Everything
    Can't Get enough of your love
    Never gonna give you up
    I'm gonna love you just a little bit more

Isaac (listening to him now)
    Precious Precious
    The look of love
    do your thing
    By the time I get to Phoenix/Walk on by (medley w/ Dionne Warwick)
    I stand accused

Mayfield
    People get ready
    the one about darker than blue
    It's alrigh

and the vote....goes to.

Singer song writer you have to add George Michael to that group, he is a great singer song writer

Mr. Nelson for me. His music makes up for the other elements.

... ehhh .... Kenneth Edmonds.

You is di kinda person who would go inna di polling booth and vote fi Bruce, even when him nuh deh pon nuh ballot.

Cho!

You is di kinda person who would go inna di polling booth and vote fi Bruce, even when him nuh deh pon nuh ballot.

Cho!
                LOL ... Gamma mek a mistake. Compare the catalog of those listed to the name I mentioned.

It is very close but I give Barry White the edge for his long career. Sorry Curtis had health problems.

I think Steve Wonder is one of the greatest there is although since the mid 90s he has gotten lazie and keep on using similar sound on most of his tracks.

mi Sickko throw een a name deh!

For me Curtis Mayfield not even close and I rate everyone on the list but Mr. Mayfield was the bomb from the days of the Impressions.

Have you ever heard Prince's 'The Cross'? Check it out on U-Chube, wicked.

stay on point. of those mentioned ...

Curtis Mayfield.

Mayfields' influence on many major artists (Bob Marley incl.) is well documented.

Putting aside Mayfields' classicals from the Impression group days; his 'more recent CD are absolutely great. I recall his CD New World Order and taking it to the street.....which I played as anthem during the 90's.

Curtis Mayfield TOPS the list!!

Oh yes ...a song called Dirty Laundry was a song I played over and over and over......
                            Last edited by HL; October 19, 2011, 03:22 PM.

Chart hits by other artists written by Mayfield
                              Mayfield was a prolific composer. In addition to writing or co-writing almost all of the hit singles he had as a member of The Impressions and as a solo artist, Mayfield also wrote (and sometimes produced) numerous hits for other artists. The following is a list of chart hits, arranged chronologically, that were written (or co-written) by Curtis Mayfield and performed by artists other than Mayfield and/or The Impressions:
                              "He Will Break Your Heart"
                              Jerry Butler
                              "Find Another Girl"
                              Jerry Butler
                              "I'm A-Telling You"
                              Jerry Butler
                              "Mama Didn't Lie"
                              Jan Bradley
                              "Mama Didn't Lie"
                              The Fascinations
                              "The Monkey Time"
                              Major Lance
                              "Hey Little Girl"
                              Major Lance
                              "Rainbow"
                              Gene Chandler
                              "Found True Love"
                              Billy Butler & The Four Enchanters
                              "Man's Temptation"
                              Gene Chandler
                              "Think Nothing About It"
                              Gene Chandler
                              28*
                              "Um, Um, Um, Um, Um, Um"
                              Major Lance
                              1*
                              "Just Be True"
                              Gene Chandler
                              4*
                              "Gotta Get Away"
                              Billy Butler & The Enchanters
                              38*
                              "It Ain't No Use"
                              Major Lance
                              33*
                              "Girls"
                              Major Lance
                              25*
                              "It's Too Late"
                              Walter Jackson
                              10*
                              "Nevertheless"
                              Billy Butler & The Chanters
                              "Need To Belong"
                              Jerry Butler
                              2*
                              "Bless Our Love"
                              Gene Chandler
                              4*
                              "Rhythm"
                              Major Lance
                              3*
                              "Rainbow '65 (Part I)"
                              Gene Chandler
                              "Sometimes I Wonder"
                              Major Lance
                              "I Can't Work No Longer"
                              Billy Butler & The Chanters
                              "Come See"
                              Major Lance
                              "What Now"
                              Gene Chandler