Ernie Fumes At Holness' Critics

• Ernie Fumes At Holness' Critics

Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) parliamentarian Ernest Smith yesterday blasted the People's National Party's (PNP) St Catherine North East caretaker/candidate Abe Dabdoub for last week labelling prime minister in waiting Andrew Holness a "loader man".

Smith, in a broadside against Holness' critics, who he said were trying to find fault where there was none, said the Caucasian Dabdoub "would not have called Holness a loader man if Holness was a white man".

Smith, who certified Holness as being "fit and proper" to lead the JLP, said he was disappointed with Dabdoub for disrespecting his soon-to-be leader.

According to Smith, Holness was one of the few JLP members of parliament who encouraged him to fight for Dabdoub in the disputed 1997 election petition against the PNP's Phyllis Mitchell.

Ruled for dabdoub

In 2001, the Supreme Court ruled in Dabdoub's favour.

"I remember when my two daughters and myself were fighting that case against Phyllis Mitchell for Dabdoub to become a member of parliament. It was Andrew Holness who used to encourage me and my two daughters, so that we had the vigour and the wisdom in law, to win that case. And I live to see the day when Abe Dabdoub come and call my prime minister-designate 'loader bwoy', and him refuse to apologise ... .," Smith charged, scoffing at PNP President Portia Simpson Miller for remaining silent on Dabdoub's refusal to say 'sorry'.

Smith then turned his attention to PNP candidate-columnist Lloyd B. Smith, who he accused of trying to demonise his leader.

"You see Lloyd B. Smith, he ran for the Labour Party one time in Montego Bay, you know," Smith said. "And within a month after he lost, he quit active politics. He has joined the PNP. I don't blame the PNP for accepting him. There are more persons like him in the PNP. So now he has found a resting place. So all of those persons of the PNP out there, hoping that they can find something to demonise my leader, I have news for them, they are gonna have to deal with a man called Ernest Augustus Smith."

erica.virtue@gleanerjm.com

Wha does dis uptown brown man? Just true Dabdoub a black man him a diss him in di papers...these upper crust "brown man time" fellows make me sick...

Ernest is being petty. Leave the bitching to the PNP, they have nothing of substance to say so of course they love it that unuh focused on this foolishness.

Ernie Smith is another IDIOT. Labelling Andy a loader man is one thing. Using an analogy with him as the loader man is quite another.

I am tired of the DUNCES we have in this country. And he is a lawyer! One would expect some amount of intelligence from people like him!
        Maybe if we promoted patois it would help, because to me, it can't get any worse. Wi too DUNCE and CHUPID!

exactly ... LIKE portia na dthe "leggo beast" comment, nuh true?

Ok, suh maybe I have overrated lawyers for far too long!

hehehee...

When I was a whippersnapper (growing up in Jamaica)...we called loader man...side-bwoy. This was in retrospect derogatory.

Yaard-bwoy was another pejorative term.

I am embarrassed by how unstatemanlike the Jamaican leadership has become.

There is no way they can expect better from the masses.

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post

Smith, in a broadside against Holness' critics, who he said were trying to find fault where there was none, said the Caucasian Dabdoub "would not have called Holness a loader man if Holness was a white man".

erica.virtue@gleanerjm.com
                Gotta love it! Nutten sweet like Brown Man Time to ********!!... Bayh Joke

Race to the bottom. Let's see who wins.

Muadib wudda know dat...

Nat inna fi mi Cabinet... ar Household!!

A wha kina man dat 'loader man' di analogy yah fly gaan pass mi

HL, yuh nuh have a clue what a loadah man is.

thought that was the same as i described...I guess not.

No. Side man operate on the vehicle. Loader men don't. They load the vehicles.

unable to escape the cesspool of your mind..

have you tried therapy ?