Education: Forward With Patois!

So we are incapable is what you are saying? I tend to agree...

You're going to speak for me now? If you're going to do that, beg yuh do it inna patois!

We had this debate years ago and as I stated back them it comes down to literacy !

Being able to understand and communicate a language both writtten and orally.If one cannot read or write english they have a hard time reading or writing patwa.

Speaking it is a nonissue, Jamaica has a literacy problem that we have to deal with.Both languages need to be embraced and taught, they both are not going anywhere as a spoken tongue and from the looks of it so is our literacy problem.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

who says anything about teaching chemistry in patois?

I agree with MdMeX observation that the same Patois did not save him. Irony indeed!!

It is standard operational procedure for an interpreter to be called in any court case....

Talking 'bout court and lawyer. Maybe a Jamaican lawyr should spear-'ead an effort to translate the Jamaican law into patois.

Any volunteer(s)?

So why haven't we been able to grasp the English language? In your own words...

sekkle yoiurself ... don't see the need for a lawyer but i get your narrowmindedness..... never fear though ... all things in time ...

My theory? Nuh unnuh waan translate bible and textbooks into patois so the children are not taught in a farrin language?

....that also includes widening the vocabulary so that expletives are not overused. Otherwise known as intellectual sloth.

Awright class, memba mi tole yu, salt is a hianic sumppn...d sodium pasitive an chloride a minus.

I could refer you to some papers on the subject if you are truly interested.

i'm interested. refer mi nuh, please

There are...there must be a mighty few Jamaicans who believe what you think has been put forward by some here.

English mi seh ...but nuh dis patois.

In all seriousness, I think you overstate the case when you suggest the voices are many or even appreciable number of members of the forum family through your statement -

Others, like HL and Reggaedoc, have added sensible voices, providing reasons why patois cannot be a logical first choice for our developing country! However, as usual, the “grassroots” throng of voices has saturated such threads with all kinds of excuses!
                            If that was not the impression you wished to convey, please accept my apology.

Dis bredda ave a serious credibility issue a nuh di 1st time , im disingenious and a nuh di 1st time im get exposed, I expect more of it in the future.

Stay far from im post dem , not much substance beside the editing to present it as a formal document.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Here is one...

The right to linguistic non-discrimination and Creole language situations The case of Jamaica

Author: Brown-Blake, Celia
                                Source: Journal of Pidgin and Creole Languages, Volume 23, Number 1, 2008 , pp. 32-74(43)
                                Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing Company

Abstract:
                                There has been a proposal to include language as a basis upon which discrimination should be proscribed in the Constitution of Jamaica. The proposal was considered in 2001 by a parliamentary committee which articulated certain concerns largely about the legal ramifications of a right not to be discriminated against on the ground of language. Central to the committee's concerns are the nature and extent of the legal obligations that may arise for the state in a situation in which English is the de facto official language but in which Jamaican Creole, a largely oral, low status vernacular, not highly mutually intelligible with English, is the dominant language for a majority of Jamaicans. This article explores the concerns of the parliamentary committee. It draws upon legal decisions and principles from other jurisdictions in the area of discrimination involving language and attempts an assessment of the applicability of such principles to the Jamaican language situation and Creole language situations in general.

Keywords: LANGUAGE RIGHT; LANGUAGE NON-DISCRIMINATION; CONSTITUTION OF JAMAICA; JAMAICAN CREOLE; MINORITY LANGUAGE