• IMF Bandwagon And JEEP

read more @ http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus1.html

And while JEEP has been the subject of much ridicule, misunderstanding and baseless propaganda, its concept is highly defensible. How it would be funded and implemented are details the PNP must provide, but philosophically it is in the right direction. Where has this propaganda come from that it is a crash programme, a means of giving people handouts? That can only be attributed to our aversion to reading, and political mischief.

Creating wealth

The PNP president said clearly in her speech (the text is available): "At the core of JEEP is the plan to teach someone to fish, rather than giving them a fish. Through JEEP we will move the Jamaican people from welfare to well-being and from well-being to wealth-creation." Does that sound like a crash programme and wild redistributionism? It sounds like a strategy to deal with our failure to create jobs - a worldwide problem now (See especially the Economist front-page special, 'The Quest for Jobs: America, Europe and a Lost Generation', September 10-16 issue).

Mrs Simpson Miller went on to say, "A job can be one of the best forms of family planning. This is why we are proposing a comprehensive emergency employment programme ... ."

Interestingly enough, I have a copy of Hansard where Andrew Holness was debating the motion by Gregory Mair to have a family-life policy. Holness, who has always been very enlightened on the importance of a sound family structure, said: "The Jamaican State, Madam Speaker, does not have a comprehensive and broad social safety net ... . There is a large group in this society, Madam Speaker, those who have just left school not in a job, no prospects of a job, and will probably be that way for another 20 years, that are able-bodied, but they cannot earn any income and there is no social safety net for them. But yet that is your age, where you have the highest birth rate, between 16 and 24. But there is no support especially for males ... ."

So perhaps if Andrew and Portia can coalesce on that, we can start the climb to national consensus.

Ian Boyne is a veteran journalist. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com and ianboyne1@yahoo.com.

if unuh wah someone to argue wid bout this

pls Email to ianboyne1@yahoo.com.

@LAZIE

you always ask about the JEEP

well........... you can email IAN BOYNE and mek him explain it fi u

Weak .... I notice when a question is asked of comrade SkengD him hide ...

FACT ... Boyne cited what Portia said on the stage at the clownrade covention. What did Bobby said the Monday morning about JEEP? What did Mark Golding say on Impact about JEEP?

Ian is trying to be objective I have no problem with him .... is ppl that walk like a comrade, talk like a comrade and try to convince others he isn't a comrade that affi get call out.

yuh email Ian Boyne yet?

Weak .... I notice when a question is asked of comrade SkengD him hide ...

FACT ... Boyne cited what Portia said on the stage at the clownrade covention. What did Bobby said the Monday morning about JEEP? What did Mark Golding say on Impact about JEEP?

Ian is trying to be objective I have no problem with him .... is ppl that walk like a comrade, talk like a comrade and try to convince others he isn't a comrade that affi get call out.
            aww bwaay

FYI.......I care less for the PNP

MI NUH INTERESTED IN THEM OR THE JLP PROPASALz

CUZ MI QUITE CRISS INNA MY PERSONAL LIFE

is u WHO always a ask mi bout the JEEP

well........see a man who willing fi explain it to u DEH

email him and ask him bout it!!!

chuh....

So its all about you and your personal comfort?

The world can be going to hell in a handbasket, but as long as yuh alright...

So its all about you and your personal comfort?

The world can be going to hell in a handbasket, but as long as yuh alright...
                mi nuh know bout u but the JLP/PNP

2 A DEM BASICALLY THE SAME TO ME

MI NAH KILL UP MISELF OVER THEM

therein lies our undoing

"2 A DEM BASICALLY THE SAME TO ME"

It would be hard to find a more disingenuous statement.. in light of the policy decisions made by governments since 1972..

Convenient but disingenuous.. and the root of our problem.. cayliss attitude..
                  Last edited by Muadib; October 18, 2011, 08:10 AM.

theiren lies our undoing

"2 A DEM BASICALLY THE SAME TO ME"

It would be hard to find a more disingenuous statement.. in light of the policy decisions made by governments since 1972..

Convenient but disingenuous.. and the root of our problem.. cayliss attitude..

what you gonna do to convince me and the other 6O % OF JAMAICANS who think the same

most dont vote FYI