Dr. Percy Julian, pioneer in soybean research

• Dr. Percy Julian, pioneer in soybean research

<DIV>Thank God we have been spared that Black History Month habit of informing us of great African-American or black inventors. I don't want to be reminded of who invented the automatic mop wringer or some other crap like that. I think those who like to tell us of these "great" inventions are really trying to keep us down, because there are really great black inventors out there. One such is Percy Julian, whose life has been featured on PBS since Feb. 6. His research in soybeans has led to major discoveries. What was stressed about his life is his drive to make scientific discoveries available for the "common"people. No use in having drugs that only a few people could afford.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I do hope that Jawge, TK, Sensi, HL and others saw the PBS feature. PBS, as usual, did a thorough job. Indeed, it is my wish that the Nobel Foundation will make posthumous awards, as it seems rather obvious that if it weren't for racism, Percy Julian would have been a Nobel Laureate.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Enjoy this article and try to catch the PBS feature if you can.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Percy Julian: The man who overcame unbeatable odds
    <TABLE width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width=50></TD><TD>Sandra Johnson

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P align=left>Dr. Percy Lavon Julian (1899-1975) was the grandson of Alabama ex-slaves. His prominence and fame developed from his discoveries in chemistry. Early in his discoveries he produced physostigmine, a drug made from Calabar beans that is used to treat glaucoma. While working on the West Side of Chicago for the Glidden Paint Company, he worked in soybean research where he developed foam that put out oil and gas fires. The Navy in World War II saved many lives by using a foam fire extinguisher.<P align=left>Later, he produced two synthetic hormones, testosterone and progesterone from soybean oil. Testosterone is used in medicine for treatment of testosterone deficiency and certain cancers, while progesterone helps prevent spontaneous abortion in pregnant women. Also he created a drug from the soybean oil that could substitute for the natural cortisone in our bodies. Synthetic cortisone was used to ease the pain of arthritis sufferers. By producing such life-saving products and synthetics, Julian made a number of medical treatments affordable to all people.<P align=left>Percy Julian was fiercely dedicated, believed in himself, and was determined to succeed. He became an American research chemist of international renown, but his achievement didn't come easily. He fought racism in his academic, civic and private life. <P align=left>He fought racism in his academic life by always being at the top or among the top students in his graduating class. First, in 1920, he received a bachelor's degree from DePauw University in Indiana at the head of his class, honored as Phi Beta Kappa orator and valedictorian. In 1923, he earned his master's degree from Harvard University, again in the top group of his class. According to Paul de Knuif in a 1946 article in Reader's Digest, "Julian waited on tables, took care of the furnaces, and made chemistry experiments far into the night." In 1929, Julian was accepted into the doctoral program at the University of Vienna against stiff international competition for one of the few openings available. In 1931, he was awarded a Ph.D. in organic chemistry at the University of Vienna in Austria. <P align=left>In his civic life he fought racial injustice. In 1956, he became at the national level the first black layman to head the Council for Social Action of th

RE: Dr. Percy Julian, pioneer in soybean research

Mo didn't you see when I posted that NOVA was

showing the documentary? Yuh juss getting it? Neva too late. Dr.Julian Percy was a first class chemist. It also show the odds that are stacked against blacks when they enter the field of science. What I notice is that when I post these things it's being ignored and easily brushed aside. My mother once told me that it was said " anytime yuh waan hide sinting fram black people, yuh put it inna book" I cracked up but never forgot it. :P

<DIV>Jawge, yuh have to mek sure the subject heading gets one's attention. I just did a search and saw that you did post it, but the subject linewas kinda boring! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Anyway, this is not in a book, so hopefully black people will watch and be inspired.</DIV>

Yep but I'm not good at sensationalism. At times

I like to give the hard facts. If I posted like some suss or scandal :P well yuh done know. You are right it' s not a book so maybe. I talk to my son about reading and whenever I use the superman and kryptonite anology, he burst out laughing. I am dead serious though (i use the book one too) When I was a kid my grandma always send me to bed and told to pray for wisdom knowledge and understanding (Read samuel) now that I'm grown , I'm learning from my dad that he was told to do the same as a small boy. My dad said he would just ask God for wisdom, the other two he humbly ask the Father to keep. Me, I wanted all three :P (I never ask God fi money an dem tings deh) :P

<DIV>Oh, so my heading was sensational?! Wow, you're easily excited, huh? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Jawge, your post would not have done it for me. You said the documentary was "interesting" and spoke about his house being burned down. There was a lot more happening than that!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And Jawge, I don't read every post, so if your subject heading doesn't invite me, I'm not going to go knocking.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>