• I Did Not Write This!

Source of Quotes:
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...waltz-_9908776

Please note that the quoted passages below are from Louis Moyston’s column, “The Last Waltz?” which was published in today’s Jamaica Observer newspaper. Comments outside the quotes are written, of course, by me (Historian).

Why am I making this post? The answer is simple. Whenever Historian or Reggaedoc comments on the alarming -- in fact, dangerous -- state of Jamaica’s current popular music and attitudes arising from this music, there is usually a bevy of angry and/or critical replies on this forum. However, Historian and Reggaedoc are not alone with this concern, as evidenced by Mr. Moyston’s comments in his article.

Commenting on how music was used to enhance the political message during the 1970s, Mr. Moyston writes:
    Originally posted by Louis Moyston
    During the 1970s, the music bandwagon that accompanied the Michael Manley-led campaign was steeped in nationalistic consciousness that called for unity among the black masses of this country.

Now, look at the comparison between the popular, more conscious music of the past with what transpired a few days ago. Clearly our music today, along with the attitudes and practices intertwined with this popular culture, is a major hindrance to Jamaica’s orderly social development!
    Originally posted by Louis Moyston
    The PNP, the oldest political party in the country, should have seized the opportunity to advance the idea of national unity over party tribalism as an essential thinking and activity leading up to the 50th anniversary of Independence. Instead, the selections by Lover's Choice sound system were excessively pushing rabid party tribalism. Should the DJ alone be blamed? Did the political leaders have no "ears" for the type of music that was advanced by Lovers' Choice?
    The general theme of the musical presentation, which relied on popular artistes and was not the best in terms of quality. The event was a party conference, not a dance in which violence and bleaching would be lionised. There were good selections and good times too.
    I noticed the traditional selector for the conference used "oldies" to introduce the elder statesmen to the crowd. The DJ's voice weaved into "rebuke dem, dem nuh like wi, an' wi nuh like dem", the tribal voice as he evoked like response from the audience. Another, "wi nuh fraid a nobody...all wen yuh roll with the army... mi nuh lef mi maingy dog a yaad", this is not a "peace, love and unity" theme.
    In the song "I love my life... the voice weaved in "an wi nuh like Labourites", this is when I think that this musical interlude that introduced the general secretary should have been stopped. The message of rabid tribalism at this time is very dangerous. It has the potential to trigger serious repercussions. People are hungry and suffering. Triggers of those sorts can inspire unfavourable consequences.
    Last edited by Historian; October 15, 2011, 08:40 AM.

So who to blame??? The Party, or the DJ?

I am sure them coulda play some etana, some Tarus Riley, Duane Stephenson and some positive dancehall song.

Did Moyston go to some of the conferences runing up to the 80 election where some not so nice music was played as well?

I Cannot Answer Those Questions

So who to blame??? The Party, or the DJ?

I am sure them coulda play some etana, some Tarus Riley, Duane Stephenson and some positive dancehall song.

Did Moyston go to some of the conferences runing up to the 80 election where some not so nice music was played as well?
      I leave other posters here to cast blame on specific persons or groups!

But yes, they most certainly could have played some Etana, etc. There is no question that I fully agree with you on this. However, my central point here is that the prevailing social attitudes have changed (and the changes no doubt started long before this). What the DJ played is no doubt what was expected, and enjoyed!

In any case, which types of dancehall music draw bigger crowds and get more hype?

You have two kind of djs, the hype ones and the one who can lead a crowd. In my opinion a you have a good DJ who can play even the spinners and the Chilites in the dancehall and get major response. I think the DJs now have to take more blame for the state of our music than the artists and others. Now you have djs only playing GAZA, or Gully tunes, I wonder how they manage that.

the fact is tune a tune and if a good tune you rinse it or you shelf life will be short. By the way do you remember Socialist Roots who had to change their name to Black Hormony to remain a top sound? They had the first dancehall special "black harmony Killer".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNH7otRF2JA
        Last edited by Assasin; October 15, 2011, 09:08 AM.

Agree 100%!
          We need uplifting songs! ...now more than ever!

Hundreds of uplifting songs recorded in Jamaica everyday...i seem to be missing the point...

them nuh buy it but talk bout them want it. You know how many good artists stop recording and just live off European tours? Becuase them nah get nuh sales.