• What is Jean problem? She nuh hear di public satisfied with

healthcare in Jamaica?!

Non-Functional Medical Equipment Crippling Health Sector
    Published: Wednesday | October 12, 20113 Comments

Dixon
    Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health, Dr Jean Dixon, has admitted that a critical component of the public-health sector is in tatters, with more than 800 pieces of medical equipment in half of the country's health facilities in a state of disrepair.

Dixon yesterday told Parliament's Public Accounts Committee (PAC) that an assessment of about 50 per cent of the total public-health institutions had shown that a significant number of medical equipment was non-functional.

Describing the findings as "alarming", Dixon argued that there has been a serious breach in the maintenance schedule for these pieces of equipment.

"Every time a machine breaks down the response is not to buy a new machine. The response is we really have to get our act together to ensure that we have robust maintenance schedules and that people are held accountable for the equipment that they have access to," Dixon declared.

In another surprising revelation, the permanent secretary conceded that the hospitals do not currently maintain an inventory of orthopaedic supplies and other "appliances".

"I know that the health facilities maintenance unit of the ministry has developed a list of items that are most frequently used, and this is the list that we are attempting to get the prices on," she said.

Painful observation

"I don't think that we are suggesting that everything is perfect ... and the observation that the member made is really a painful (one) for us, and that is the length of time that a patient occupies a bed, but I think as we move through we are trying to remedy some of these issues," Dixon pointed out.

Committee member Dr Morais Guy had raised concern that patients sometimes stayed in hospitals for weeks awaiting orthopaedic supplies that were not available in the facility.

Responding to the concern, Dixon said the ministry was aware of "these challenges" and had made a list of the items that were used most frequently and was seeking to purchase supplies from the Cuban government under a technical cooperation agreement.

So, with all the Universities there, can't they train people who will be able to function and maintain the machines. Just asking