Unnu 'ear whe Oleness sey? Dawg nyam yu suppa.....

Art vs Business...comprehend?

You and Exile really a go at it nuh matter the topic. Anti-Portia vs Pro-PNP LOL

PM, yuh tep pan man corn. Ah weh yuh did ben deh seh

a wha? mi a try understand di process .... maybe mi a look likkle consulting work a wha duh yuh ?!

Mi nuh know wha do him...di man is a PNP supporter but him doh support what them stand for...no wonder why him in exile...

What a rhatid.

For the record let me hear what the 2 parties stand for and the differences.

Yu gwan support almshouse....

The art of drug business, the art of gun business, the business of murder and mahem, the business of political porn. The of art of deception. The art of oppression....comprehend very well.

How about standard American English, Mr. Holness. That is the language of global communication. Not Queens English. Revamp the old system of teaching English.

Perfect example of this foolishness at my workplace...you have Alu-Steel & Hollow Steel...we ordered $500,000 worth of 'ollow Steel but received Alu-Steel instead...LEARN TO SPEAK ENGLISH PROPERLY...stop adding H's where there are none and talking off H's from words when you shouldn't be...
                        where there IS none

It's singular

So Incomparable Enterprises still ah bubble? Nice!!

Actually Business English is like a mixture of American and UK English.

He is essentially correct.

The Swiss have Switzer Deutsch, but they learn Hoch Deutsch in school but speak SD colloquially.... plus they all have to learn the other 2 National languages in school.

Patois is our cultural language, but cant be more important than International English for us as a bruk pocket nation trying to find our way in the world. We also should adopt Spanish as a second language and push Cantonese/Mandarin as well.

Willi, Andy is talking nonsense.

"It is not one or the other, we must be able to speak English."

He said that there needs to be greater respect for the English language in the face of overwhelming use of the local dialect in day-to-day communication.
                              His pronouncement is not based on any scholarship or even common sense. Whoever said it should be one or the other?!? Greater respect for English?!? We need to have greater respect for ourselves, including our mother tongue, patois!

"I have a problem with how the radio and television stations in Jamaica operate, that they just merge the two (dialect and English). Students get very confused. You have to make a distinction that on the formal stage, the language is English," he insisted.
                              What's he talking about?!? Our media persons know exactly when to use the two, as they should. Is he calling for Marie Garth to replace Miss Kitty?!?!

I hope he leaves this one alone for his own sake.

I am not dealing with those parts. i am dealing with the crux of the matter.

I agree that the media thing is outside of his purview anyway. Its not about repect, its about self-interest. Time we feather our own nest.

I think the MOE should have more focus on language instruction. We are behind the curve already, we have to get ahead. We must master English, get proficient in Spanish and start attacking Mandarin.