Wonderful Entertainment News!

Once again showing that you need your Europeans to approve. Bout Grammy's. LOL

No one is placing dancehall on any pedestal, you are the one who has taken the decision to attack it because it is popular but doesn't conform to your musical standards.

Is the people all over the world comment bothering. Or are you upset that it is used because he is not big in China? because not every individual in every single country across the world knows him? LOL
    There is a reason why he can go on tour in Europe, Africa, Japan, the US, Canada, Central America. There is a demand for him and his music. Whether or not you like it. You can keep hoping they ban him and dancehall from all the Caribbean countries. It is too late, the people already like the music.

Me nuh really get the Grammy argument either. So based on that measurement hip-hop music has reached Historians lofty standard but dancehall has not?

The Grammy Awards is 90% about record sales and record labels and 10% about the music.

What would one call Damien Marley's music. Is that reggae? Hip hop? I dare say dancehall has already received Grammys! And many nominations. But try nuh tell Historian!

Careful careful. he purposely put "on-stage" grammy presentation hoping that you miss that part and then he can give a two paragraph explanation on where dancehall can't reach.

Well said Historian. It would be great if Movado leaves today, like Rita.

Can a tiger change its stripes?

true. he'll move that bar when dancehall does make it that far.

who really cares about what Grammy thinks is good music, anyway? many reggae nominations have been quite crappy!

Mavado Wants To Live In Africa

Internationally acclaimed singjay, David “Mavado” Brooks may soon be setting up shop in the continent of Africa ahead of an upcoming performance there.

Reports out of the West African nation of Ghana suggest that Mavado expressed his interest in migrating there to local journalists at a pre-concert press conference in Accra last weekend. The concert was hosting by Ghanaian Reggae artiste, Samini, who discussed the possibility of featuring the Alliance singjay on his show two years ago while visiting Jamaica

Now, the “Gully God” has intimated that he’d love to move to Ghana in the near future as soon as he acquires land there; claiming that “Ghana reminds me of home.” Additionally, Mavado said that Ghana feels like home given that he’s an African due to ancestry & is very excited about the prospects of living in the Motherland.

The concert featuring Mavado will take place at the Accra Sports Stadium; home of the Ghanaian national football team. Reportedly, Mavado has been overwhelmed by the experience & expects great things from his upcoming performance.

Meanwhile, Mavado also expressed his feelings regarding his current standing in Dancehall. When asked by Ghanaian website, myjoyonline.com about his competition in the Dancehall fraternity, Mavado insisted he doesn’t have one, but should one emerge, he’ll be ready for the challenge.

Mavado isn’t the first Dancehall/Reggae act to signal his intentions to migrate to Ghana. Rita Marley, widow of legendary Reggae singer, Bob Marley, currently resides at Konkonuru near Aburi in the eastern region of the country. Additionally, Reggae superstar, Sizzla Kalonji has made his presence felt in Africa; owning acres of land in Zimbabwe and doing charitable works within the country.

SOURCE http://www.examiner.com/