• I notice to the agents of doom didn't bother with this

Golding updates on IMF, Jamaica's economy

In statement, released today by the Office of the Prime Minister, Bruce Golding goes over some IMF agreement points, and Jamaica's economic recovery.

Golding: The Government continues to hold discussions with our multilateral partners regarding the actions necessary to consolidate the gains made in fiscal management and ensure the success of Jamaica’s economic programme as embodied in the Standby Arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

While the performance for this fiscal year is broadly on track, there are challenges that must be addressed in order to achieve our medium term targets through to 2015/2016.

Principal among these is the provision that must be made for payment of the seven per cent increase granted to public sector workers inclusive of the arrears covering the period 2009 – 2011.

Update on public sector wage payment:
    Gov't, unions meet to discuss public sector wage

Provision also has to be made for legacy payments resulting from arbitration or judicial awards relating to Cricket World Cup, the construction of the North Coast Highway and the revocation of the JUTC bus franchise.

Fulfilment of our programme commitments also requires agreement with public sector unions to ensure that future wage adjustments do not breach the annual targets designed to reduce the wage-to-GDP ratio to 9 per cent by 2015/16.

This is the subject of intense discussions between the Government and the public sector unions through the Public Sector Monitoring Committee.

Certain policy initiatives are also crucial to the success of the programme. These include tax reform aimed at widening the tax base and eliminating anomalies in the tax system.

Consultations with key stakeholders are well advanced and the deliberations of the Special Select Committee of Parliament are expected to be concluded in time to allow for implementation commencing January, 2012.

An essential component of the tax reform programme is the reduction of discretionary waivers which deprive the government of revenue vitally needed to contain and eliminate the fiscal deficit.

Another significant requirement of the programme is the completion of the divestment of Government’s shares in Clarendon Alumina Production. In this regard, negotiations are in their final stage and the negotiating team is expected to return to the island this weekend with a draft agreement.

The Government recognizes the need for strong and urgent action to ensure the fulfilment of our obligations under the Standby Agreement including the adjustments that are required as a result of unplanned expenditure.

In the absence of the Minister of Finance who had to rush his infant daughter for specialist treatment abroad, I held discussions yesterday with the technical officers and, based on the directions given, they are to report back to me, Minister Shaw and Minister Holness on Monday (Oct 10).

In the meanwhile, it is to be noted that the process of economic recovery is continuing as evidenced by data, released by STATIN yesterday, which shows that the economy grew by 2.1 per cent in the second quarter of this year which is above the Government’s projection of 1.5 per cent.

editorial@gleanerjm.com

"Principal among these is the provision that must be made for payment of the seven per cent increase granted to public sector workers inclusive of the arrears covering the period 2009 – 2011. "

If unuh never blink it wouldn't be an issue. Unuh deserve all the critcism for this irresponsible move.

Watch how them leave this alone now. Them only want to follow suss. It was so obvious what is happening with the IMF as I posted earlier today. CAP which Omar forward sell the bauxite and is now killing us and the 2 billion payout is costing the dearly.

No comment on those.

"also has to be made for legacy payments resulting from arbitration or judicial awards relating to Cricket World Cup"

World Cup cricket still a burden to we! What a shame.

A wha happen? Light tun on .... suh di roach dem gone?

Is like yuh nuh realize seh Brown Man Time Govament haffi wuk twice as hard as Black Man Govament before dem get a bligh...

Penance fi di wrongs of slavery etc.. suh it guh..

It says "Golding". No one listens to Liad Bruce anymore.

Cricket World Cup is the other surprise bill, huh?

LOL!

Bruce nuh gone yet? Soon ask Audley fi step too as soon as we confirm what is really happening with this economy. Stay deh!

It says "Golding". No one listens to Liad Bruce anymore.

thats one thing I respected bout Golding. As PM he was aware of what was happening in the various ministries. If a minister is away and the termites act up inna Parliament the PM would stand up and silence dem. Now imagine the immediate former PM who had to be bailed out time and again by Omar.

As fi the Drunkard Peter .... from the courts say Millwood must be paid 2b plus interest him crawl under a rock. As soon as word come dat Shaw affi fly out ... him reappear. Only clueless comrades can take this fool seriously.

amazing stuff

thats one thing I respected bout Golding. .
                      Good that you found at least one thing

...whatever...

'Drunkard Peter' see what i mean...I am sure NONE of the JLP MPs even have a beer after a long hard day...lemonade maybe not even Mike's hard Lemonade even

Lazie is dedicated to slinging mud, I am still waiting for him to announce his candidacy for political power.

Poised for take off!
                              ...but I have never agreed with divesting "national assets".

...and I shall use a real estate example of my thoughts -
                              My father started buying real estate in my village when an acre was being sold for 6 pence...the value of that 1 acre is now millions.

...so let us look at our "national assets" make them revenue generating assets...but keep them.

...and back to the silly wholesale laying off of public sector workers?

Given the realities of population growth, limitations on pace of maximizing efficiency and increased production of/from our people: If the aim is increased efficiency and production...is not making each work more efficient and productive the best option can you starve, for example, our health services of adequate funding?

...and on and on....

How then starving our schools of more and better teachers - the right thing to do?

How then putting more of our fellow citizens on the unemployment lines - the right thing to do?

If economic growth is our aim - how then is suppressing employment figures and therefore removing appreciable spending ability from the economy?

If economic growth is our aim - how then can it be slowing demand and noise on and about expanding businesses and increasing start-ups be in the same sentence?