• PM: Stigma of perception hurting West Kingston residents

PM: Stigma of perception hurting West Kingston residents
    Friday, October 07, 2011

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding says that part of the burden that the people of his constituency of West Kingston carry is the stigma of perception.
    Golding made the comment Wednesday as he officially opened the Victims Support Unit West Kingston Satellite Counselling Centre in the community to help victims of crime.

"I have learnt that reality can say one thing but it can be overwhelmed and defeated by perception. There is a perception that this (West Kingston) is a dangerous place; this is a place where you are not safe to walk on the streets when the reality is the opposite. I have stopped quoting figures provided by the Area 4 Headquarters which demonstrate that West Kingston has one of the lowest crime rates in the entire Corporate Area because no one listens or believes," Golding stressed.

He said that he hopes the centre will not only address the needs of victims of crime, but will be used to transform lives and the perception that has hindered West Kingston residents.

According to Golding, the centre -- which is located at the Open Bible Church on Spanish Town Road -- was not solely necessitated by the activities of May 10 that saw a bloody stand-off between members of the security forces and gunmen in Tivoli Gardens as the lawmen attempted to capture confessed gangster Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, who was then wanted by United States authorities to face drug and gunrunning charges.

He said other experiences, such as family disputes, need the kind of services that will be offered at
    the centre.

"I am going to urge the counsellors that are here not to treat that as your mandate but recognise that like in every inner-city community there are tensions and there are stresses and there are so many things that can be averted if facilities like this are available," the prime minister noted.

The Victims Support Unit Programme is operated by the Ministry of Justice and assists persons against whom certain offences have been committed. The West Kingston Centre will provide counselling, psychological assessment and testing and emotional support to victims of criminal offences.

Golding said while the centre will provide a means of helping people to deal with certain experiences, the much bigger job which needs to be done is the repackaging and re-presenting of the communities of West Kingston. He said there are lawbreakers in West Kingston as in any other community but the people of Western Kingston need assistance to demonstrate and present themselves as creative individuals who are longing to command the respect they deserve.

According to the prime minister, there has to be a deliberate effort to engage the communities when these facilities are being developed and their services rolled out so that the purpose of serving the community is not defeated. He added that a programme of sensitisation needs to be undertaken so that all the support is garnered and the centre becomes a part of the broader game plan of transformation of the communities.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1a5Xv3JF8

Why can't this friggin fool just pack his bags, go and shut the hell up!?!?

I have stopped quoting figures provided by the Area 4 Headquarters which demonstrate that West Kingston has one of the lowest crime rates in the entire Corporate Area because no one listens or believes," Golding stressed.
    Tell me, Liad Bruce, have the crime stats of West Kingston, no matter how low they have been, ever mentioned victims of mad men wielding chainsaws or crocodiles?!? Everybody knows that no one dared tried to glean crime stats in West Kingston pre your shining legacy moment. Go get the stats now, bitch! If they are even that low, no one can really say anything, but we know the place is overrun by police now so they should be low. Maybe that should give you a hint - more police, less crime? Perhaps?!?

What an ass!!!

And if the crimes stats in West Kingston are so low, why are we bothering with a victims support unit here?!? Kinda ironic, huh? Does Peter Phillips' constituency already have one?!?

Who next for MP for West Kingston after Golding departs?

Why can't this friggin fool just pack his bags, go and shut the hell up!?!?

Tell me, Liad Bruce, have the crime stats of West Kingston, no matter how low they have been, ever mentioned victims of mad men wielding chainsaws or crocodiles?!? Everybody knows that no one dared tried to glean crime stats in West Kingston pre your shining legacy moment. Go get the stats now, bitch! If they are even that low, no one can really say anything, but we know the place is overrun by police now so they should be low. Maybe that should give you a hint - more police, less crime? Perhaps?!?

What an ass!!!

And if the crimes stats in West Kingston are so low, why are we bothering with a victims support unit here?!? Kinda ironic, huh? Does Peter Phillips' constituency already have one?!?

You have a pick-up? Why yuh don't go help MOVE the household items

tavares-finson i am inclined to think...

not babsy??? seems like a better choice to me if they wanted to change Perception!!

Perception you say?

Cops to quiz Grange again
              published: Sunday | October 9, 2005

Controversial Central St. Catherine Member of Parliament Olivia 'Babsy' Grange is again to be questioned by the police. This time, the lawmen will collect statements in relation to an incident in which a car in which Ms. Grange was travelling on Thursday evening, was shot up by gunmen.

Ms. Grange is expected to answer questions regarding men who were travelling in her party. One man was killed during the incident.

The dead man has been identified as Omar Campbell, alias 'Tickerus', who was under police investigation in connection with several shooting incidents in the Spanish Town area.

Sunday Gleaner sources say that he was a major player in the 'One Order' gang that has been terrorising the Old Capital along with its competing counterpart 'Clansman'.

"Up to the time when he (Campbell) was killed, he was being investigated in connection with criminal activities," said Assistant Commissioner of Police Glenmore Hinds, head of Operation Kingfish.

"His name has been called in several shooting cases," added Acting Deputy Superintendent Meveral Smith, the crime officer for the St. Catherine North Police Division.

grange was not the target

Police intelligence has also revealed that in Thursday evening's shooting incident, Ms. Grange was not the target. The bullets were intended for Mr. Campbell.

Fifteen months ago, Ms. Grange was also questioned by the police in connection with a car that was found in the possession of another person of questionable background.

Documents found in the car in which the notorious One Order gang leader Oliver 'Bubba' Smith was killed, indicated that Ms. Grange was co-owner of the vehicle.

Ms. Grange and other MPs were signatories of the Political Code of Conduct which states that politicians will not knowingly associate with criminal elements.

I notice that there is no mention of kingfish anymore. I guess that unit was dismantled because of the serious drop in crime. Moving in the right direction Ja.

update yourself.. NIB ah carry di swing.. real deal dat.. 40% drop in crime is not a coincidence.. intelligence data properly collected (SOE after extradition ordered) and used (crime intelligence management system) is quite effective.

Thatnks for the update. What does NIB mean, pray tell?

Yes, our politicians are in bed with the gunmen. Only that we were not to take it literal! and like it or not, one more than the other, it seems to me!