I See....

First off, STGC now has an integrated 6th form.

Secondly, there are way more all-girls than all-boys high schools in Jamaica and THAT is part of the male underachievement syndrome in Jamaica!
    Willi, my friend, this comment of yours is disappointing, and not only because you chose to focus primarily on my sarcastic, tongue in cheek remark and so completely missed the essence of what I was implying!

In fact, the crux of the issue should include a serious consideration of Jawge’s very relevant question above!!

Secondly, whenever you get an opportunity, please show reasons why you think that having less boys’ schools is a “part of the male underachievement syndrome in Jamaica” today!!

Finally, I can assure you that I do NOT have the high opinion that you seem to have of schools like St Georges’!! Simply stated, the absence of more gender-segregated schools in favor of males is NOT among the most important issues in Jamaica’s male underachievement problem!

While I share your view (did I say that?) we have strayed from the focus of the discussion(courtesy Willi) that there is a unhealthy unexplained absence of women vying for leadership in the political directorate of the JLP. The high school argument is just another distraction - not that I thought for one minute you bit the bait.

A whole heap a distraction ah gwaan. Machinery working at full throttle.

Is only one woman onnu have, so wah kinda statement dat, what are you implying?

Unnu? As usual we can't have a discussion without feeble attempts to label others. Try yu best nuh. Re-read the post and try again.

Huh?
              These things go thruy cytcles.

Mavis Gilmore, Enid Bennett, Babsy, Rose (was in both parties), etc come to mind.

On the PNP side, Portia andthe former education Minister are the only promiment PNP female ministers that come to mind. Not much difference betweeen the parties except that Portia is on top.

This year in Switz, the Cabinet is majority woman and the Parliament has the highest number ever. However, do to upcoming elections and the retirement of couple cabinet Ministers, the numbers WILL fall dramatically.. Cyclical stuff.

The nature of Jakan politics does NOT attract women. How many women are willing to "fight" politics??? How many willing to deal with gunmen and enforcers? Do you see a similarity with babsy and Portia????

The likes of Lisa Hanna need to be placed in a coccoon, as I cant see her running in a garrison area at all. Dame for Dalrymple-Smith. Lightborne never even ran.

In any case, both parties are male dominated and its a moot point.

YOU SAID:
                Maybe some of our women need to start attending one or two of our much-talked-about-on-this-forum boys' school?

What? You did not want an answer?

I already dealt with the male underachievement in several past threads. It is essentially a NUMBERS game. There are far less high school places for boys than for girls in Jamaica.

Let us look at Catholic Schools in Kingston and Span Town:
                StGC, Campion, St. Catherine High, Alpha, Holy Childhood and ICHS.

NONE are exclusively Boys only anymore, as STGC has a co-ed 6th form. St Catherine was originally all-girls that went fully co-ed. Alpha/ICHS/HC are still all female. Campion (a Jesuit offshoot of StGC)was orginally all-boys and went co-ed in the 1970s.

Even looking islandwide, there are Mt Alvernia and St Mary's High that are still all-girls and I think there may be another all-girls Catholic school in the Mandeville area. There are NO all boys Catholic schools left in Jamaica. You would think that, based on numbers only, it would have been the all-girls schools that were faster to integrate. Its a math thing to me, numbers game.

The same people clamouring to say age should not be the overarching criterion, now want to bring up gender???

I dont give a dyam who wins the next election in Jamaica (I dont see any immediate bright prospects), but cant take the intellectual distortions. Ex-Portia, PNP never had nor is likely in the near future to have a female aspirant for the top job. Portia got there by charisma, but also by employing Gunnarks, Seaga-style. Let us stop ignoring the elephant in the room.

How many women likely to go that undesirable path?
                Last edited by Willi; October 5, 2011, 04:35 AM.

I am not the one who brought up high scchool...check again!

Nuh you put up America as the paradigm to copy for everything?

How yuh a back weh now? LoL

Palin was NEVER the Prezi nominee (nor Hilary). get yuh facts right!!

This women leadership thing is a red herring of the higghest order. Jamaica needs GOOD leadership...man or woman.

Some ah unno would want a BAD woman leader as opposed to any male leader by how unno write!

Dat is the LEAAAAASSSSTTT of our problems and you KNOW it.

Priorities man.

THIS gender argument is the distraction. There are no real (firm) barriers for women to achieve anything in Jamaica.

EXACTLY,

One swallow does not a Summer make.

People here act as if the PNP is a bastion of promoting female leadership? Nuhg the same Portia draw fi gender card when she was battling Phillips for the top PNP spot?

Portia is the exception not the rule.

Seaga wanted her as his successor too!

Hush, mi soft pon de comprehension side.

BTW How many women post on this Forum.

BTW, Muadib can answer on his own, yuh nuh think suh?

Will, this was not a JLP vs. PNP argument but I see you have been caught in the MATRIX as well. Never used to be so....so defensive....

Better response....should they have to "fight"? Maybe the garrison thing is the problem.