• One Turd to star in CSI: FineAnts

Shaw Promises Tax Reduction
    Published:Friday September 30, 2011 | 7:32 am0 Comments

Edmond Campbell, Staff Reporter

Finance Minister, Audley Shaw, has promised reduced tax rates for Jamaicans as he pledged to use forensic science to ferret out tax evaders.

At a customs seminar Thursday, Shaw said a recent study by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has shown that if the government was able to collect all the money lost through tax evasion, the country would not have a fiscal deficit.

He said that the findings of the IMF mission, which was handed over to him by the technical team, has confirmed his suspicion of the level of tax evasion in Jamaica.

Shaw has promised to make the findings of the report public, but he did not give a date for releasing the information.

He said the Commissioner General of Tax Administration will be using forensic science to determine the persons who are escaping the payment of General Consumption Tax.

Shaw said the IMF report will be used as a benchmark in expediting the reform of tax administration to capture billions of dollars in revenue which now escape the tax net.

Heh heh! I guess we are supposed to be thankful!

I have not forgotten how he has taxed us to death.

Bounty Killer and Elephant down. Mosiah next.

huh?!?!

You better make sure you nuh leave you car carless. Otherwise Audley ganna get yah.

i don't doubt yah!

This JLP gov't feel say is only certain man fi drive Escalade. Dem better watch demself Bount Killa and Elephant Man is one thing but when dem start mess with certain man......