To the Jokers and Inflation being down ?

• To the Jokers and Inflation being down ?

U.S. Tipping Into Recession, Achuthan Says
    Q
    By Liz Capo McCormick - Sep 30, 2011 9:17 AM ET

inShare
    More Print Email
    The world’s largest economy is showing signs of slumping, said the Economic Cycle Research Institute’s Lakshman Achuthan, citing leading indicators.
    “The U.S. economy is tipping into a new recession,” Achuthan, the group’s chief operations officer in New York, said in a radio interview today on “Bloomberg Surveillance” with Tom Keene and Ken Prewitt. “You have wildfire among the leading indicators across the board. Non-financial services plunging, manufacturing plunging, exports plunging. That is such a deadly combination.”
    The Federal Reserve’s efforts to support the economy, including holding its benchmark rate at virtually zero since December 2008 and expanding its balance sheet to a record $2.88 trillion -- have done little to reduce unemployment that has hovered around 9 percent since April 2009 or to revive the housing market.
    The U.S. economy grew at a 1.3 percent pace in the second quarter after a 0.4 percent expansion in the first three months of the year, the Commerce Department reported yesterday. It earlier estimated that gross domestic product grew 1 percent from April through June.
    Purchases of new houses fell in August to a six-month low as the biggest drop in prices in two years failed to lure buyers away from even less expensive distressed properties. Sales dropped 2.3 percent to a 295,000 annual pace, figures from the Commerce Department showed earlier this week.
    “We at least have a couple of quarters of worsening economy in front of us,” Achuthan said. “So if you think this is a bad economy, you haven’t seen anything yet.”

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How does inflation being down and low interest rates help a population with an astronomical unemployment rate ?

Which gov in its right mind want to take credit for half of the pie being baked ? What happend to the other unbaked part can you sell the whole pie?

Only in politricks.

Over to you Ben.
    Last edited by Sir X; September 30, 2011, 09:57 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Prediction another 15 % drop in housing prices in the north east for the winter season to carry over to summer 2013.

Maybe One Turd should go lecture them on how to get out of this mess!

Explain BEN , now apply it to Jamaica ... “We at least have a couple of quarters of worsening economy in front of us,” Achuthan said. “So if you think this is a bad economy, you haven’t seen anything yet.”

Thats with an interest rate bench mark at close to 0% at the Fed reserve and low inflation.

Man a puppa lick like fool....wooii interest rate and inflation low.

Comical.

This notion that Shaw did something spectacular has me shocked was Omar that bad ?

If thats the case then I can understand but come on , if the finance minister couldnt make the most out of low interest rate in the international arena he would be a fool.

Unemployment being high, means the cost of services will go down for people to compete in this global market.Jamaica would be no exception , the question is , Is Jamaicas inflation lower than its competitors or higher?

come on now mannn, low interest rate an dollah stabilize how yuh check dat inna macro economy terms, HUGE mi seh. Yuh haffi gi di finance minister him credit. Ahright den suppose di dollah di devalue at it's previous frequency an interest rate did furdah increase who wouldah get di blame. Omar jus was a badddd finance minister, nuh mattah how yuh cut it . Plus dere was no recession in sight through all dem years.
              Last edited by myYout; September 30, 2011, 12:10 PM.

Are you saying that you cannot have a slow economy PLUS high inflation PLUS high interest rates?

You ever hear the term stagflation?

him too used to Omar.. mek dem gwaan.. dem memory short..

is just now yuh asking that question ?

low inflation, low interest rates, stable dollar...

spin that however you want.. historic..

Y not?

Long time mi tell unno seh America and EU ah basket cases.

I understand the logic, it was all about Omars (PNP) , nothing spectacular on Shaws part...lol...

Screw the job market , low interest rates and inflation a di in thing.Thing is people wouldnt mind high inflation and interest rates as long as they have a job.

Not saying I condone it , but its the reality.

Go read bout Greece. Them have rising interest rate and inflation and check how much job them have to lay off.

The choice was low interest rate and low inflation and keep your job or take the pay out and have no job. I would have hate to see the PNP inna power over the last three years. the dollar would reach 200-1 by now without the IMF support.

Anybody can tell you constant movement in the dollar and inflation don't allow people to plan properly. What many people not talking about is how they refinance their home mortgage and car loan and is actually carrying home more real income. Any country can sustain a low interest rate if ran properly while none can sustain a high interest rate and inflation over long period without economic collapse and we were almost there.

more man have cyar, gyal and cellphone !!

Raayyy !!

I went to a good school.. sorry if I was not able to join the celebration..