Anyone with any ino on Baugh? He seems to be one of the cleanest veterans in the party
Ken Baugh in the race for PM
Originally posted by Plush View PostAnyone with any ino on Baugh? He seems to be one of the cleanest veterans in the party
"Anyone with any ino on Baugh?" LOL .... wha kinda info yuh seeking Plush? Unuh nuh easy at all. At 70, Dr. Baugh needs to retire ... just like Samuda, Charles and Henry."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
The 70-year-old told The Gleaner/Power106 news centre this morning that he feels young enough and has enough experience to take on such an arduous position.
Dr. Baugh said he is confident that he has the support of other party members.
And here comes yet another T-Rex:
Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) Chairman Lester 'Mike' Henry yesterday told constituents from his Central Clarendon bastion who want him to enter the party's leadership race that he is listening.
Hours after party General Secretary Aundré Franklin announced nominations open for a new leader to replace Prime Minister Bruce Golding, residents of the constituency he has represented since October 30, 1980, called for him to throw his hat in the ring.
"I will certainly be listening to their voices. I don't think I have disappointed them during the period I have represented them, and I have always engaged them, and will continue to do so," the 76-year-old Henry said when contacted yesterday.
The current transport and works minister, Henry is leading the Government's big-ticket multibillion-dollar road-improvement programme, the Jamaica Development Infrastructure Programme.
He did not say if he would enter the race, but said he would engage in consultations.
He said that as chairman, he must make sure that the constitutional processes within the party maintain their integrity.
It was during constituency-wide meetings yesterday that his supporters urged him to enter the race.
Gary Douglas, councillor/candidate for the May Pen East division, said Henry has an excellent grasp of what it takes to run the country.
"It takes someone with the experience and expertise of Mike Henry to steady the JLP ship at this time. He is the current chairman, and that means that the party itself is comfortable knowing that its future is in his hand," Douglas told The Gleaner.
Constituency secretary Sharon Morgan said his loyalty is unquestioned.
"He can be the mediator the party needs at this time. He is a performer, and now is the best time for him. He is committed and Jamaica needs a real leader at this time," she said.
Miriam Reid, a member of the JLP's Women's Freedom Movement, said Henry's commitment was unparalleled.
"He is a no-nonsense person, a disciplinarian, and you cannot push things down his throat," she said.
Henry's support in the constituency is not only among delegates, but also within the business community. May Pen businessman Everton McKenley said, "Mike Henry is a leader, not a follower."
"Most of the ideas that Audley (Shaw) now running with are Henry's ideas. So he is showing real leadership and showing he is a thinker," McKenley said.
Councillor/candidate for the Canaan Heights division, Nadine Outar, said Henry's experience is badly needed at this time.
"There is no question about his experience and loyalty. He is loyal to his people and the country must know he will always put Jamaica first," she said."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
ongle pearnel leff to throw in his mantle now ..... why oh why dem cannot know when to GRACEFULLY exit stage left? other than PJ is ongle death, scandal or health!!!!
BMT to di max!
Henry, Shaw, Tufton, Holness, Tavares-Finson and Baugh.
If people want Tufton and Holness to run because of how they handled their ministerial positions, then what about Bartlett? Him too black? Oh, him too ole!
But Bobby Montague not suh ole. Why fi him name nah call?
What is glaring about the JLP (and not being disussed on this site) is that the party lacks diversity (which is a main theme in contemporary times).
The JLP appears to be this "old firm" in NY and DC. They seem to be set in their ways and not open to new and creative ideas. If I was member of the JLP I would say now is the time for a revolution; I'm tired of the same old, same old. I want to see leadership from the women.
I would look at Paula Kerr -Jarrett, Mafoote (sp) et al. The partty seem to lack any form of respect for womaen. The attitude portrayed is that they are good for functions, mingling and picture taking. They should be seen and not heard. Iam sure the party has many well educated women (even more than men). The PNP on the other hand is obviously more diverse and with the times.
Originally posted by Jawge View PostWhat is glaring about the JLP (and not being disussed on this site) is that the party lacks diversity (which is a main theme in contemporary times).
The JLP appears to be this "old firm" in NY and DC. They seem to be set in their ways and not open to new and creative ideas. If I was member of the JLP I would say now is the time for a revolution; I'm tired of the same old, same old. I want to see leadership from the women.
I would look at Paula Kerr -Jarrett, Mafoote (sp) et al. The partty seem to lack any form of respect for womaen. The attitude portrayed is that they are good for functions, mingling and picture taking. They should be seen and not heard. Iam sure the party has many well educated women (even more than men). The PNP on the other hand is obviously more diverse and with the times."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)