Tom Eyes PM's Seat

Thank yuh!

One manage a likkle better, the other one finesses a likkle better, but neither seems capable of that liftoff we need and indeed they add to the mounting problems.

They just not good enuff, yet still we fighting over them.

Willi you have tyo resist tthe opld tired style of argument. We are discussing Tavares -Finson and TG, not the PNP and their garrisons. Too often forumites make the mistake of trying to diverge from the topic, that is an old style of argument. It is a Jesse Jackson 80s style, and nobody takes that style seriously. Now if you want to discuss PNP and garrisons, then that is quite a legitimate topic, but right now it is totally irrelevant to this current discussion.

Read the whole thread and see what I have to say.

Also, the old style of compartmentalizing to make it seem like an exclusive problem IS THE PROBLEM.

Cleaning up one side only does NOT solve anything. Also, harping on he 73 in Tivoli while ignoring the THOUSANDS killed in internecine violence is disingenuous! Houston, we have a real problem, not just a flavour of the day.. But carry on, it doesnt affect you so...

How do you compare internecine violence to 73 people killed by the state, especially when things could have been very different had the PM not dither around like the fool he is?!?

Tom Eyes PM's Seat
            Published: Thursday | September 29, 20110 Comments

Tavares-Finson
            Tavares-Finson declares interest in representing West Kingston
            Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

However, Tavares-Finson, who yesterday confirmed that he has an interest in representing the constituency if Golding steps down, has scoffed at the claims.

"I have been involved in West Kingston since 1979 in every aspects of the community," said Tavares-Finson. "I worked with Mr (Edward) Seaga there and it is no secret that I was one of those who helped to swing it that Mr Golding became the member of parliament there," added the government senator.

Tavares-Finson's admission came as West Kingston constituents quietly observed the developments unfolding in the JLP since Golding announced on Sunday that he would be stepping down as prime minister and party leader at the JLP's annual conference in November.

The JLP has not lost the Western Kingston seat since former prime minister and leader of the JLP Edward Seaga won it in 1962.

Prior to that, between 1944 and 1962, representation of the seat had alternated between the JLP and the People's National Party.

But Tavares-Finson, a JLP member of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica, has not been so fortunate in representational politics as he has failed to secure a place in the House of Representatives after numerous attempts.

"I have never ceased to represent the people of West Kingston in various capacities, particularly as an attorney," he stressed. "I have always been there for them and I think that they have recognised it."

"Through the good times and the bad, they recognise that I am someone who they can rely on."

Tavares-Finson was one of the attorneys who represented Tivoli Gardens most prominent figure up to a year ago, Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, in the extradition case against him.

Earlier this month, he represented the JLP at the funeral for Coke's mother.

However, Tavares-Finson maintained that he has been there for the ordinary residents as well.

Born and bred in the bosom of the JLP, Western Kingston is the seat with which Tavares-Finson, by his own pronouncements, is most intimate.

He told The Gleaner that he entered politics in 1978, but said that because of his closeness to the people of the constituency, he continued to work with them, not necessarily to gain personal political mileage.

His uncle, who was the member of parliament for the neighbouring South West St Andrew, was a close confidant of Seaga who took the younger Tavares-Finson under his wings when he returned to Jamaica from England.

He said he has always been attracted to the people of West Kingston as being resilient and dynamic.

"I don't think that any other communities exist like West Kingston anywhere in the world.

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com
            Well! Well!
            I would not want this person to represent any constituency in Jamaica.

Imagine - he has been involved in every facit of Tivoli's being...and has only been there for the good people too

Easy. The State ignored the internecine violence for decades even when it was their own party people dying. If a Govt does not care even for its own supporters, ...you can finish the rest.

You should be in panic, as there is no good alternative to the soiled Greens. Jamaica fenneh!

Many like him already in Gordon House.

I agree he is dreggsy, but we not short of that now are we?

mek mi tink fi ah minit... will research di archives

Wait... Peter R ah di bigga man..im mighta know
                  ...Ask Peter, ask Paul, ask Mary - but WORD is that he went to a school on Old Hope Road (the dark blue boys); oh can you say JC

Easy. The State ignored the internecine violence for decades even when it was their own party people dying. If a Govt does not care even for its own supporters, ...you can finish the rest.

You should be in panic, as there is no good alternative to the soiled Greens. Jamaica fenneh!
                    Enter Peter Phillips! Thank God for him!

We shall see.

I feel you are in for a grand disappointment, but I truly hope I am wrong.

wi nuh perfek... wi mek nuff mistake tuh

Wrang Blue again??? LoL

In any decent country, Peter Phillips would be seen as a hero. Not here. This "informah fi dead" culture will hurt him, even when he was only trying to save the same wretched people from this internecine violence.

I may be disappointed abut something else, but for what Peter Phillips did, I am eternally grateful! Nobel Peace Prize mi seh!

aaaahhh bwoy... mi shoudda let shudda let sleeping reprobates lie

wi nuh perfek... wi mek nuff mistake tuh

Golding, Tavares